We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best meal in Charleston”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nigel's Good Food

Nigel's Good Food
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best meal in Charleston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

When you go to Charleston, you tend to spend a ton on food, and 75% of the time it's worth it. Nigel's was not expensive in the least, and was AMAZING. Best hush puppies and collards I've ever had. You can't really miss with the food, so try it all. They also do live music on Wednesdays (I think).

The best part, the service. All of the wait staff is about as friendly as can be, as is the owner Nigel.

Check this place out, especially if you're doing day trips from Charleston as it's off of a few main highways.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smh33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    89
    24
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clayton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nigel's is a diamond in the rough”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Just returned from a trip to North Charleston. Went to Nigel's based on Trip Advisor reviews. To say that Nigel's exceeded my expectations would be a gross understatement. The atmosphere was warm and friendly. The background music was pleasant and appropriate to the setting. The waitstaff was helpful and recommended the shrimp and crab ravioli as the number one selection on the menu, which I chose. I was not disapointed. The dish was prefectly prepared with a generous portion of succulent shrimp and crabmeat. The sauce was reminiscent of a creamy newburg sauce, only lighter, with the slightest hint of heat, a perfect contrast to the rich sauce. I can't wait to go back to Charleston if only to dine at Nigel's again. Yes the service was a little slow, but the kitchen obviously takes care to prepare food from scratch. I would rather wait for the excellent food while enjoying the atmosphere than have the food served quickly without the care and attention to excellence. One more thing - at $13.95 my dish would have been a bargain at twice the price.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ncarb1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

This was our first visit and will not be or last. Good food. Great service. Excellent selection of food. Great music. This place is a must visit.

Kenneth and Angela Frazier

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnFrazier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great flavor!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

The service is slow ut they can't do drinks filled. All for meals were delicious. Gumbo to ravioli and even the whiteing.
Thanks.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dj4slugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Shrimp and Grits”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Attended a neighborhood Holiday get together. 10 people in all and the service was great and the food fantastic. I personally think I had the BEST Shrimp and grits in the state. Others had the Shrimp and Crab pasta, Jumbalia and my husband had the black and blue burger. They are in the neighborhood ao will be going back soon.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nigel's Good Food also viewed

North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Nigel's Good Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing