We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend Get Away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Airport
Ranked #7 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lexington, NC
Level Contributor
123 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Weekend Get Away”
Reviewed September 7, 2009

My husband and I wanted to visit the Charleston area for the weekend. We will be sailing out of Charleston on a cruise in November and we wanted to visit so that we could become familiar with where to go. We stayed in North Charleston due to the higher hotel prices in Charleston and the Mt. Pleasant area. We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn due to its excellent location (Interstate was very close by-getting us to Charleston and Mt. Pleasant within minutes) The hotel was very nice and the rooms were clean and very functional. (I did not like the pillows, but bed were ok) . The staff was very nice and greeted you with a smile. The hotel was very close to restaurants and Tanger Outlet Mall. The hotel does serve breakfast and dinner which is not free-we ate elsewhere so I can not comment or tell you what they serve. They did serve free cookies and coffee in the evenings. We enjoyed our stay in Charleston and we are planning to stay a day before our cruise sets sail to enjoy more sightseeing.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lexington_NCAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    216
    63
    26
    21
See reviews for
197
162
48
373
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, KS
Level Contributor
217 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2009

I just stayed one night while in town on business. The hotel is nicely furnished and seemed pretty new. The room as well as the bathroom was very clean. They were both updated with granite counters and the room even had a flat screen television. I ordered room service and the food was great. The breakfast buffet was great as well. My only complaint, really, was that the room did not cool down as much as I like. But, I like to sleem in a meat locker. Overall, a great stay. I will be staying here again the next time I am in town.

Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank GT6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WF, Texas
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2009

I was very pleased with the hotel and its staff, and I especially liked that several amenities were free. There was free full breakfast (although I'm not sure that comes with every room), free high speed internet and printing, free water in the refrigerator, and fresh-baked cookies every day. The room and hotel were clean and the staff accommodating. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfWF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2009

We had a 2 queen bed suite and got a great rate. It was very spacious for our family and clean. We enjoyed our stay here and the staff was very helpful. There is not much near the hotel in terms of good restaurants. There is a good bit of shopping a ways down. It's a bit of a drive into the historic district of Charleston, but worth it for the price and the space.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RockerMomGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2008

The hotel is new and clean, but if you like to have your rooms cooler than 68 degrees than choose another hotel. Also, there are restaurants and an outlet mall very close, but don't expect shuttle service. I stayed 5 nights and it was overall a good stay (except for being comfortably cool).

  • Liked — Walking distance to convention center
  • Disliked — shuttle service, ability to adjust cooling to my comfort
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Onceinalifteime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2008

I stayed at this hotel for a week on business. My (mini) suite had plenty of room to spread out. The furniture in both the living room and bedroom were very comfortable and in good repair.

The housekeeping service was quite thorough and I loved the fact that the room had a fairly large stall shower instead of a tub/shower combo, which seems to be rare but gaining in popularity.

The lobby area was comfortable with a TV/sitting area that I used a couple times when I returned to my room in the early afternoon a little before housekeeping had a chance to visit. Not an inconvenience at all.

My guess is that the property was probably built during the first round for this chain based on the decor, but is still in decent shape in the common areas and rooms.

The Great American Grill had decent breakfast buffet service the couple times I tried it. The evening room service was quite fast, but the menu could use with just a bit of review for more variety. There are plenty of restaurants near by within a 3-5 minute drive with a couple places (Chili's and Wendy's) within walking distance.

There were a couple bouts of downtime on the internet service, both wired and wireless, but they seemed to be resolved fairly quickly and the staff was apologetic though the issue was obviously out of their direct control.

If you're going to spend all your time near downtown Charleston, you might find this location a bit out of the way. I enjoyed the 10-15 minute drive into the city with little traffic.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank heyhobbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2008

This hotel is connected by Skywalk to the convention center and Embassy Suites...which is where the conference was that I was attending. The Skywalk walk was nice...good exercise and relaxing.

The hotel itself was forgettable and run down. The staff were mediocre. The last night that we were there, the fire alarm went off four different times with little to no apology from the staff. Needless to say, we were extremely tired the next morning and had a huge presentation to give...we were not happy. The hotel told our company that they would reimburse us for the last night of our stay...I can't say if they did or not as I don't handle the travel accomodations or the accounting for our school, but in the hotel's defense, they did offer at the time of check out.

The only surprising thing about this hotel was the awesome breakfast. I read a few other reviews telling that the breakfast was less than good and mediocre and even horrible. I loved it...probably right up there with some of the nicer Embassy Suites' breakfast offerings. The hotel gives you a card and that is your meal ticket...I lost mine, and they did give me a new one. Eggs, bacon, grits, biscuits and gravy, hash, omelets....a southerner's artery clogging delight!!

The pool area was dreary and the hot tub was ok. The business center was usually open and not full. They have about 5 computers available.

The rooms are very forgettable and the beds were not that comfortable. It was also hot in the room...we kept attempting to cool the room and it seemed as if the AC would kick off.

All in all....a forgettable experience but, I didn't have to pay, so who am I to complain??!!

Tip....There is a small bar in the shopping center/outlet across from the hotel called Centre Pointe Bar and Grill. We had a ball there. The band was excellent and they even sang and danced with our group in front of the stage. This is a very diverse bar...very multicultural and no tension...everyone from all types of different backgrounds and different looks were getting along....almost a rarity in a bar scene. There is pool, live music, lots of nice drinks, and friendly people...jazzy hip environment.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — The fire alarm, not that close to the markets, dreary hotel
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nctravelgirl29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Charleston hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Charleston - Convention Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North...
#6 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center
Hyatt Place Charleston Airport a...
#2 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Charleston Airport and Convention Center
Holiday Inn Express and Suites C...
#1 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton North Charleston - Airport/Hotel & Convention
Embassy Suites by Hilton North C...
#14 of 58 in North Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston Airport/Convention Center
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlesto...
#8 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites Charleston Airport / Convention Center
Home2 Suites Charleston Airport ...
#13 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Airport

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Airport
Address: 5265 International Blvd, North Charleston, SC 29418-6920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in North Charleston
#4 Green Hotel in North Charleston
#9 Family Hotel in North Charleston
#14 Romantic Hotel in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Airport Hotel North Charleston
Hilton Garden Inn North Charleston
Hilton North Charleston
North Charleston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing