We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay! Marriott does not disappoint!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/University Area
Ranked #19 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Stay! Marriott does not disappoint!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We are frequent Marriott Rewards Members but not wedded to the company. This time we needed a location close to a funeral for a very close family member. We traveled by car from NYC and weren't in the mood for surprises. This Fairfield Inn fit the bill! The front desk was amazing particularly Susan from Ohio who checked us in. The hotel was clean, rooms appointed nicely and conveniently located to a variety of places to eat. After a long trip a priority is a comfortable bed and this location provided one. we only stayed one night but if I were planning a longer to visit the area under happier circumstances and I would easily consider staying here again. I highly recommend this affordable lodging.

Room Tip: King Suite is a bit small but quite functional
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBHarri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/University Area, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share such a kind review. Please accept our deepest apologies for the loss of your loved one. Our thoughts are with you and your family at this time. I will make sure to pass on your kind comments to our staff. Thanks for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to welcome you back next time you are in the Charleston area.


Yours in hospitality,

Katie Register
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    56
    26
    4
    5
See reviews for
55
58
12
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We chose this hotel because of the location (right beside tanger outlets, restaurants, and stores) After staying the previous night at a local motel, this fairfield was heaven. Staff was very friendly, beds were perfect, the rooms were very clean and the breakfast was better than most other hotels I have stayed at. I will definitely come back here again. The management is doing a superb job of keeping everything order.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rummyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/University Area, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in the Charleston area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

I really like this hotel. I stayed here twice both times for a funeral. The hotel is nicely decorated and very clean, which is extremely important to me. The staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast is pretty good too. I will always stay here when in the Charleston area and will definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank watermelon44044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/University Area, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words. We are so sorry to hear of your losses. Our thoughts are with you and your family. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in the Charleston area. Thanks for choosing the Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott.


Yours in hospitality,

Katie Register
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONWAY
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel by default because we could not get accomodations at our usual hotel close to our son's university, but what a surprise. this hotel is neat and smells very clean. The beds and rooms were large and could accomodate everyone in our party. We were quite pleased and even though we had booked at a higher rate online, when we checked in and told them we were staying there to attend a football game at Charleston Southern University, the nice young lady at the front desk canceled the higher price and gave us the University associated rate which was $20 cheaper. They also have a pretty good breakfast buffet and all the staff we encountered were very nice. We definitely will stay there again.

Room Tip: There's a hamburger restaurant right in front of hotel, so if you don't want to smell food o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheree N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/University Area, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Our close proximity to Charleston Southern University makes it a great stay for families visiting their loved ones at the college. Thanks for choosing to stay with us, and we look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

The one and only thing we did not care for was the overwhelming perfumed smell inside the hotel. If you have odor sensitivity you may want to avoid this fine establishment. Although it was very clean, updated and hospitable, upon entering our room we were overwhelmed with a too-strong soap smell which did not dissipate over the course of our 3-night stay. We got accustomed to it,

Cannot say enough about the friendly, helpful staff. From the housekeepers to the manager, all were excellent hosts.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C-T C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/University Area, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thanks so much for the terrific review! We are so pleased to hear you that you enjoyed your stay. Please do not hesitate next time to let the staff know if you are uncomfortable with something. We would have been happy to move you to a different room! Thanks for staying with us, and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

nothing to complain about. the hotel is 10 years old, but renovated 3 years ago. very well maintained. only thing is, its about 12 / 15 mile drive to downtown. but worth the drive. we had a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: take the king suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pearl d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/University Area, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for all the great pictures! We hope to see you next time you in the Charleston area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Charleston hotels
0.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston Un...
#10 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,505 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston North
Holiday Inn Express Charleston N...
#20 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Charleston-University Blvd
Hampton Inn & Suites North Charl...
#12 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate
SpringHill Suites Charleston Nor...
#15 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston North
Hampton Inn Charleston North
#4 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hyatt Place North Charleston
Hyatt Place North Charleston
#5 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/University Area

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/University Area
Address: 2600 Elms Center Rd, North Charleston, SC 29406-9327
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in North Charleston
#21 Business Hotel in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Charleston North / Elms Center
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North / Elms Hotel North Charleston
Fairfield Inn North Charleston
Fairfield North Charleston
North Charleston Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing