We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for a vacation.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/University Area
Ranked #22 of 59 Hotels in North Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This renovated Fairfield Inn was very nice and I loved the colors they used to decorate the rooms and the lobby. The room was very clean and comfortable. The location was great. Close enough to every place we visited. The hotel was quiet too. The pool was too warm to enjoy, but the weather had a lot to do with that problem. The days were extremely hot, with temperatures reaching in the 100's. We went to Folly beach instead, and even the ocean water temperature was about 86 degrees! I would stay at a Fairfield Inn again without hesitation. Check in and Check out was quick and easy. The rate we paid was GREAT!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are probably quieter since they are in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bengleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/University Area, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words and for sharing your experience with other travelers! We hope to see you again on your next trip to Charleston!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 209 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

Clean updated rooms. Friendly staff. Great breakfast! Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Runningcris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/University Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Thank you very much for the great feedback. We truly hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Newly renovated, this inn was a welcome rest prior to cataract surgery twice in two weeks. The rooms were beautifully appointed, the bathroom spacious and clean, and lots of big, fluffy towels. The manager was cordial, prepared to offer advice on dining locations, and knew her distances for the next day's travel. Very good hot breakfast. Foyer is very attractive, the public rest rooms spotless. Free wi-fi, USA Today. Plenty of free parking. The price was a very good value for money.

About 20-25 minutes to downtown Charleston, 20 minutes to Mt. Pleasant assuming the Interstate doesn't have a problem.

Room Tip: All the rooms should be excellent - we had a very quiet third floor corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rclkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/University Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers. We strive for excellence and guest satisfaction. We hope your surgery went well and hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

When I booked this room, I was not aware of its proximity to many of the Charleston attractions, but none of them were more than 10-15 minutes away :) The rate was GREAT compared to others in that area, and the hotel is practically brand new!!!! Everything was clean, pool area nice, breakfast great!!! If we ever return to Charleston, we will definitely stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loper051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/University Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

We love to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and experience. Our guests are our number on priority.

Thank you for choosing to stay with at the Fairfiled Inn & Suites by Marriott. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

This hotel was very clean and had a great breakfast. It's a little far away from the historic district but saved a lot of money over staying downtown!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bindy5London_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/University Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Thank you for your kind words. We hope to have you stay with us again next time you are in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel because it was much more economical than staying in downtown Charleston. I think if I visit Charleston again, I might pay the extra money to stay closer, as I didn't enjoy making the 20-minute drive back and forth. However, the hotel itself was fairly decent. It was clean, quiet, and the staff was great. The receptionist was especially helpful; she made several good recommendations and she helped us back into our room when we got locked out! (Apparently the "deadbolt" can lock on its own if the door is slammed shut.) The breakfast was nothing special. The French toast was cold and the bacon was rubbery. I wish there could've been some fresh fruit besides apples and oranges. The waffle station was great though, and I appreciate the fact that they had some good quality black tea and not that weak Lipton crap.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LWinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/University Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We value your opinion as our guests are our number one priority. I have passed on your comments to our kitchen manager to ensure we are taking the necessary steps to provide a hot breakfast that everyone enjoys. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel overall and would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

First, I must tell you that I am very particular when it comes to hotels. When on vacation, I like to stay somewhere that gives me the feeling of being at home. I was extremely impressed with the hotel staff, the room and the location. We were there with my family and everyone was equally pleased.

My boyfriend needed to iron and the iron kept leaking water. When I asked the front desk if we could get another one, housekeeping responded in less than five minutes with a brand new iron. When we needed extra towels, they were so friendly and courteous. They really made us feel welcomed.

The front desk staff was ok, not bad, but I expected a little more hospitality. They weren't mean, but just ok.

The breakfast was ok. It wasn't Embassy Suites breakfast, but it held us over until we went out to eat. They had the regular continental breakfast along with waffles that you make yourself, eggs, sausage, and bacon.

I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/University Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay. We stive for total guest satisfaction and your feedback is very important to us.

Just to update you, we continuously train our staff in service excellence. We are happy to report that we are currently rated #9 in Staff Service overall out of 683 Fairfield Inn by Marriott properties across the United States. Furthermore, we are ranked #1 in "Skilled and Well Trained" out of the 683 Fairfield Inn properties.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston North
Holiday Inn Express Charleston N...
#23 of 59 in North Charleston
251 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlesto...
#18 of 59 in North Charleston
324 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston Un...
#9 of 59 in North Charleston
1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Charleston-University Blvd
Hampton Inn & Suites North Charl...
#17 of 59 in North Charleston
538 reviews
2.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate
SpringHill Suites Charleston Nor...
#15 of 59 in North Charleston
706 reviews
2.8 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate
Residence Inn by Marriott Charle...
#19 of 59 in North Charleston
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/University Area

Address: 2600 Elms Center Rd, North Charleston, SC 29406-9327
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in North Charleston
#21 Business Hotel in North Charleston
Price Range: $96 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North / Elms Hotel North Charleston
Fairfield Inn And Suites Charleston North / Elms Center
Fairfield Inn North Charleston
Fairfield North Charleston
North Charleston Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing