We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Pet friendly?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate
Ranked #17 of 59 Hotels in North Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Gulf Breeze
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pet friendly?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

The room was nice and clean. Our housekeeper was really friendly. The downside is they are a pet friendly hotel but there wasn't anything friendly about it. Pets aren't allowed in the elevators so we went up and down 3 flights of stairs for 4 days.... The pet area outside was the smallest, most nasty bed of pine straw I have ever seen. Would never allow my dogs in it....

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank webe492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    25
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
48
32
2
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stayed in this hotel when it first opened. It was five stars then for sure. Needs a little TLC to maintain its status. It's still a nice property. It was a pleasant stay. The staff was great. The breakfast was good. No complaints!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripree
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed three nights on Marriott points. I had wanted to stay closer to the historic district, but there are no level 5 properties nearby. This location, however is very close to a Tanger Outlet, Walmart, Sams Club. There are also several restaurants nearby, including a Bonefish Grill next door.

We had a two bedroom unit. Hotel, as others in the area, appears to be quite new. So, my husband was surprised to see the entire side seam of his matress had come undone exposing the foam inside. We didn't notice this until the last morning when the sheets had pulled off the corner.

The hotel has a policy of changing sheets every two days, but I guess since we there for three nights they didn't bother changing them which was fine by me.

Also, while we got clean towels each day , the second bed was never made after our first night. In the maid's defense they appeared to be very busy.

The breakfast has lots of choices which vary slightly from one day to the next. And Monday through Thursday they have beer, cheap wine, soft drinks and enough food to serve as dinner, particularly if you had a big lunch while sight seeing as we did.

All in all, it's a very nice Residence Inn in a good location. Would stay again when in the area.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank tripree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed for a week house hunting with 2 small boys. The 2 bedroom was a good size, the staff attentive and the place was obviously new. The only downside is that it sits on a very crowded major road. Traffic can be a hassle.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charlierok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
187 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We didn't spend alot of time here but the time we spent was very nice. We stayed here with another couple the night before a very early flight to the west coast. We were each upgraded to a 2 BDR suite which we loved because my husband and I could each get ready in a separate bathroom! That's important any time but especially when you are trying to catch the shuttle by 5 a.m.!
What really stood out for me though was that the woman at the front desk (whose name I do not know) knew we would not be there late enough to eat breakfast. She went to the kitchen and got us yogurts and bananas. We were so impressed and grateful and it was perfect to tide us over until we could get something at the airport.
This hotel is conveniently located to downtown -maybe 15 minutes- and of course perfect if you need to get to the airport.
We would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
270 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Leticia was at the front desk and made us feel very welcome when we arrived. In fact, every single hotel employee that we crossed paths with was genuinely nice and helpful. In fact, they went out of their way to make sure we were having a nice stay. I can't say enough nice things about them, evidently. The room was very clean and as expected for a Residence Inn. The free hot breakfast buffet had enough choices - both hot and cold - to cause us to change our mind about leaving the hotel for our traditional Cracker Barrel breakfast. We had tickets to a concert at the Coliseum and this hotel is a great location. It is close enough to walk to the coliseum, or the hotel will provide a free shuttle if you prefer. They will also shuttle you for free to any location within 5 miles of the hotel. The free WiFi was quick and easy to connect. I will definitely return to this hotel if I am in North Charleston again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, SC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is well located, immaculately clean and the staff is exceptional. Rooms were huge, well appointed and very comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and wifi worked well. A perfect hotel close to Charleston, we will stay again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kristi11876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Charleston hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place North Charleston
Hyatt Place North Charleston
#4 of 59 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 505 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and S...
#3 of 59 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 698 reviews
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate
SpringHill Suites Charleston Nor...
#14 of 59 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites North Charleston
Staybridge Suites North Charlest...
#7 of 59 in North Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 246 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlesto...
#19 of 59 in North Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 225 reviews
5.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charleston Airport / Conv. Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charle...
#5 of 59 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate

Property: Residence Inn Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate
Address: 7457 Northside Dr, North Charleston, SC 29420-4209
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 59 Hotels in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing