We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very modern but getting a little lazy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Home2 Suites Charleston Airport / Convention Center
Ranked #10 of 60 Hotels in North Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I think everything has been said in the previous reviews. It's a great, new and convenient place to stay. Rooms are big and the kitchen is pretty nice; you easily can have dinner at home2, thus no need to drive to any restaurant. The breakfast-area is a little small and very crowed during rush hour.

Is there a downside? Well, parts of our room were a little dusty (next to the couch, on the lamps), and the floor in the gym (which is really nice, but lacks simple mats) definitely hasn't been vacuum-cleaned for days.

Make sure that you guys can keep up with those great reviews; you almost got a 5-star rating from us.

Room Tip: Make sure not to get a room near the elevator/ice machines; they are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank uskern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt B, General Manager at Home2 Suites Charleston Airport / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Thank you for the feedback from your time at our property. We always appreciate hearing from our guests so that we can continue to improve and ensure that we exceed every guest's expectations. We look forward to your next stay and know that it will be a 5-star.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (883)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

846 - 852 of 883 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

Good Value, front desk staff have a very friendly and professional attitude, and are always willing to help out. Housekeeping not bad, but not up to the same standard as other Hilton properties I've stayed at in the past. Convenient location for most things, although it is directly across from the North Charleston Performing Arts Center which means it can get pretty crowded on weekends.

Biggest lesson I learned here is to avoid drinking the water; even using the tap water for coffee caused me stomach problems.

The complimentary wifi internet access is sporadic, dropping signal at least once every hour I tried to use it; not sure about the in-room hardwired connection.

Overall, it was a decent hotel, if you like the relatively recent "green hotel" development, and I'd likely stay here again when in Charleston.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PaulB85635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Very nice and unique hotel. Love the room design and the friendliness of the staff. Stay was comfortable and relaxing. Love it! Will definitely stay here again when in the area. Wish there were more of these in the USA.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AnthonyM338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This was our first experience in a Hilton Home2 property and my wife and I were very impressed. The hotel is less than a year old and has many thoughtful design touches. The staff members are very pleasant and efficient. The breakfast choices were adequate, not the same as you might find in a typical Hampton.

Overall, very nice and we wil definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This new type of homelike hotel was very comfortable and welcoming.
It was like being home!
Wish there were more of these throughout the US.
Spent only one night in the hotel - but would have felt perfectly comfortable staying longer.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank summerisbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Everything about the hotel is great. love the decor, comfortable modern. Just the right size room for a three day stay. Couch is nice to watch TV. breakfast was good. very tasty breakfast sandwich, bacon, egg and cheese. It was nice to have real china plates cups and flatware.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Monfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt B, General Manager at Home2 Suites Charleston Airport / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

We are excited that you enjoyed your stay. Our guest's love our breakfast. Be sure to try a yogurt parfait. They are fun to make and really tasty. Thank you for your positive feedback and for taking the time to post it. We look forward to your next trip to Charleston!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The room was clean. Plenty of room for our family of 5. Full-size refrigerator. Huge TV! The outside of the hotel and location look sketch, but the inside is clean and looks newly painted. Nothing on the inside looked old or worn. The beds were comfortable. Plenty of towels in the bathroom. Dispensers in the shower for shampoo and soap, instead of those little bottles.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Maureen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Charleston hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center
Hyatt Place Charleston Airport a...
#4 of 60 in North Charleston
729 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Charleston - Convention Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North...
#2 of 60 in North Charleston
386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton North Charleston - Airport/Hotel & Convention
Embassy Suites by Hilton North C...
#11 of 60 in North Charleston
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Airport
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Air...
#3 of 60 in North Charleston
986 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Charleston Airport and Convention Center
Holiday Inn Express and Suites C...
#1 of 60 in North Charleston
486 reviews
5 mi away
Hyatt Place North Charleston
Hyatt Place North Charleston
#6 of 60 in North Charleston
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home2 Suites Charleston Airport / Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home2 Suites Charleston Airport / Convention Center

Address: 3401 W Montague Ave, North Charleston, SC 29418-5938
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 60 Hotels in North Charleston
Price Range: $123 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Home2 Suites Charleston Airport / Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home2 Suites by Hilton Charleston Airport/Convention Center, SC is conveniently located minutes from the Charleston International Airport, Boeing, Joint Base Charleston, Tanger Outlet Shopping Center, and the Charleston Area Convention Center. As North Charleston's newest extended stay hotel, we are designed with the long term traveler in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Home2 Suites Charleston Airport / Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing