We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I don't even like shrimp & grits, but this was to die for.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cork Neighborhood Bistro - CLOSED

Cork Neighborhood Bistro
1067 East Montague Avenue, North Charleston, SC 29405
+1 843-225-2675
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Colie Morse Ln.
Transit: Hotel drop offs/pick-ups from the Tanger Outlet Area available at restaurant depending on hotel. Bus stops for the Montague Ave. bus within walking distance of the restaurant.
Description: Cork Neighborhood Bistro is a quaint Bistro set in the Historic Downtown North Charleston. It offers outdoor dining, happy hour and an amazing menu featuring from scratch and locally sourced items. Open Tuesday - Thursday 11am - 10pm & Friday & Saturday from 11am - 11PM. CLOSED Sunday & Monday. We offer full service catering & event planning.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“I don't even like shrimp & grits, but this was to die for.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Staying overnight in Charleston on a Friday night the hotel suggested Cork and called for a reservation. The restaurant texted us when our reservation was ready. Bartender was helpful in selecting a beer on tap, giving us a sample to try first.

My daughter ordered the shrimp & grits and when it came and she was oohing and ahhing over it (and she lives outside NYC and eats there often) I had to try it. Oh my. Normally that would be my last choice on the menu, but these were so wonderful I think I could eat them every day, they were that good. My pork chop with the goat chees sweet potatoes was quite good and my husband enjoyed his seafood pasta. Quite honestly, everything was good and the service was very attentive. Next time - it's shrimp & grits.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jedm49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Love Cork for Brunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Cork is a great Go-To Restaurant in Park Circle but I especially love their Brunch! Excellent Shrimp & Grits with a pretty darn good Bloody Mary!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ESP8_CHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Flavor wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I had the maple/whiskey glazed salmon - outstanding! My husband ordered the pork chop, which he enjoyed quite a lot. Atmosphere was quiet and comfortable (a weeknight) though I imagine it could be pretty tight on a weekend. We are only in town for the week and we're going to try to go back a second time. YUM

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MegKnows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Inconsistency!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Although most of the food we ordered was very good, our overall experience was average. Vegetable Lasagna and Short Rib dishes were very good and plentiful. Crab cake was not lump crab and fried a bit much for me, very dry. Caesar salad was large but could have used more dressing. Vegetables accompanying the Short Ribs were fresh and tasty. Bread dishes were on the table but we never received any bread, not even with the Lasagna. Nor were we offered any cheese to top off the Lasagna. Atmosphere is typical pub style with large bar and table settings along the wall. It was a cold night so the first few tables close to the door withstood the cold breezes whenever the door opened. 18% added gratuity was a bit much to charge for the service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Gave it another shot and still dissapointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

The food itself is pretty good but the service is just so awful that I can't make myself go there again. Our entire meal took over 2 hours. We didn't order any appetizers and we had to ask for drinks on several occasions. If we were lucky, we had two drinks over two hours. We weren't told about the specials. People that came in long after us left and paid their bill while we were still waiting for dinner. I was so irritated that we had to pay the server 20% because he was awful. The final straw was not being able to split our check with our group of 10 and not use our groupon. Our server claims there's no way to do that in their system. Of course none of us had enough cash on hand to pay so our friend had to put the entire bill on her card. This isn't exactly a cheap place to eat. Our bill for 2 people was 80.00 and I would expect a lot more for a nice dinner. This place won't last unless they get their service side of the house in order. My other friends that have gone have had similar experiences and won't go either.

    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kld03c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cork Neighborhood Bistro also viewed

North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing