We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Yum Yum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Billys Burger Joint

Big Billys Burger Joint
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Big Billy's Burger Joint is a locally owned and operated restaurant committed to providing fresh ingredients, great service and delicious food.
Guyton, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yum Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

They have excellent burgers and amazing shakes! Ask for Jonathan! He's awesome! We will come back any time we're in Charleston!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    703
    196
    66
    21
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Fresh, tasty food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Great, great food!! Wonderful service. Ask for Jonathan. He was awesome!! Burgers were amazing and homemade shakes just topped off a great meal.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lowery_walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Customer service!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The customer was amazing, if you go Jonathan is who you ask for. The food is VERY fresh and with a great taste! There was nothing about our visit that we didn't like.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bradensmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Service issues”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

A group of us visiting the Charleston area for work decided to head over to Big Billy's for dinner as it is currently ranked as the #1 place to eat in North Charleston (Starbucks is #7, but let's forget that). Overall the experience was kind of average, which was a little disappointing for the best rated place in town.

I will say that the pimento cheese dip was incredible and if you're visiting I would highly recommend it. We ran out of the accompanying tortilla chips about half way through the dip, but our waitress brought us more upon request.

As for the burgers, there was nothing wrong with them - they were exactly what you might imagine a burger to be. Three of the four of us ordered the breakfast burger that comes with egg, ham, bacon and tater tots, but we all ordered it a little differently and in the end, they got all three wrong. One of us didn't want tots or ham, so none of us got the tots or ham. One person wanted their egg soft, one medium, and one hard and those were all switched around too, on burgers with the incorrect side dishes. For four burgers, it also seemed to take an abnormally long time for our food to come out. I'm guessing maybe 30-35 minutes.

All in all the food wasn't bad, it just wasn't to the level that I expected after seeing its ranking on tripadvisor. If you're going to an event at the nearby Coliseum and you're in the mood for a burger before you go, then this place will do.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTraveler465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This was my second time here, and the experience was great. The first time I sat at the bar killing time before going to the airport and the bartender was friendly and attentive. This time I went with family and friends and our server Greg couldn't have been better! He brought us anything we needed, quickly, and had a great attitude. The food was also good - sweet potato fries were delicious and the mahi taco (more like a burrito) was surprisingly good as well. Think I will try the burger next time I'm over that way.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wakebrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Billys Burger Joint also viewed

North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Big Billys Burger Joint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing