We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious sandwiches”
Review of East Bay Deli

East Bay Deli
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Description: East Bay Deli opened on September 11, 2001; a terrible day for America and hard day to start a business. Nonetheless, we’ve continued on; and over the last decade, we’ve become a popular place to eat for Charleston’s locals and tourists alike. East Bay Deli is a New York style deli with a distinctive southern flair that offers traditional deli favorites as well as a variety of salads, healthy sandwiches and wraps. Our food is fresh, deli-cious, affordable, and we’ve got something for every taste.
Restaurant details
Description: East Bay Deli opened on September 11, 2001; a terrible day for America and hard day to start a business. Nonetheless, we’ve continued on; and over the last decade, we’ve become a popular place to eat for Charleston’s locals and tourists alike. East Bay Deli is a New York style deli with a distinctive southern flair that offers traditional deli favorites as well as a variety of salads, healthy sandwiches and wraps. Our food is fresh, deli-cious, affordable, and we’ve got something for every taste.
Saint George, South Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious sandwiches”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We visited East Bay Deli for Sunday lunch and it was quite crowded. The line moved quickly and we ordered a Charleston dip, a Citadel, and 2 drinks. First, let me say, the tea was fresh and sweetened just right for our tastes, which is kind of medium sweet by local standards. Our sandwiches came out quickly. We loved the dip, which was simply well flavored, tender roast beef smothered in provolone on a roll. It came with tasty au jus. The Citadel was good, as well, but the roast beef won us over. Delicious looking desserts in the case, but we didn't try any. Maybe next time, because we'll definitely be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TripGrrl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    36
    15
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Is the Corned Beef Lean?”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We ate at the location on Savannah highway as it was close to the hotel.
Nice place. Average food. Staff friendly, but uninformed - would not even tell me f the corned beef was lean - they got some from the kitchen.
Deli food at a fair price.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomlin2232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sc
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food!!!”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Very good sandwich and the staff were very friendly. I would go back again. I have tried several of these restaurants all good.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank lawsc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Rainy Day Lunch”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

When you disembark at Liberty Square from the Fort Sumter tour, walk a short distance down East Bay Street to East Bay Deli. This is located in a strip mall with other businesses but the food is good. We chose it because we were damp and tired after our tour (rained on us going to Fort Sumter and cloudy/windy on the island) and wanted some soup! The place was packed with locals but the service and chicken noodle soup hit the spot for us. They have other soups and lots of sandwich choices at reasonable prices.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best subs around!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We frequent McAlisters Deli.....East Bay Deli in Charleston area beats McAlisters by a mile. They put a lot of meat on their subs and are VERY tasty! My new fav in Charleston! Try it out!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank 5lovesthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Bay Deli also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to East Bay Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing