We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service, Service, Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate
Ranked #15 of 59 Hotels in North Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I spent 3 days in Charleston and wanted to stay out of town as my interest was in visiting the gardens at the plantation sites along the Ashley River as well as a few business meeting. This hotel seems perfect, situated in the north close to the plantations. It was a nice new hotel; at 1st I was very impressed with the hotel room set up. Nice rooms, couch, desk for working, small kitchen area with a microwave and refrig. The double room is narrow and the placement of the tv strange but ok. It's a very nice hotel and my rating should have been excellent but it's not, and you have to ask why?

Well, it's all about service, management oversight of their staff, and the quality conditions. My first problem was the shower, here I am 6am getting ready for my meeting and I pull the button on the shower to get the water up, and no water... Shower switch broken. So I wash in the sink pull my hair up and tell the front desk (Problems happen but who should have checked that the showers work before a guest checks in??) You think the management would appoligize (Wrong!) nothing from them about the inconvieniece of a broken shower.

Next I come back after a long day, and it was obvious the maid was there (the bed I slept in had the quilt straighten, garbage can emptied, new shampoo), however, there were pillows from the bed on the floor and the pillows on the second bed were not straightened. In addition, the couch pillows were the same way I left them and worse there were the dirty towels in the tub where I left them to be exchanged. Obviously no one looked in the tub or cleaned it or they would of seen the towels. Obviously no one vacuumed the floor or they would of seen the pillow on the floor. Were is the managment oversight of the cleaning staff? Who is doing their quality check??

Another issue I was trying to logon to the internet, the book in the room states "instruction on using this service and connection devices required are located in each room". Well there are NO INSTRUCTIONS in the room. I call the desk and ask if they have any instruction down there, the answer I get is "no we have no instructions"! It turns out they give you a password and sign-in but have an unsecured network that doesn't use that! Not great.

Overall, all I can say is there is a lack of management oversight that leads to poor service quality.

I'm a frequent stayer at Marriott’s so I'll hope this is a random problem and not reflective of the hotel in general. It's a lovely place so I will report this to the management and hopefully you will not experience it as well.

Room Tip: Nice hotel, good rooms, lack of management oversight and questionable maid service quality issues as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM7535, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

I thank you for bringing this incident to my attention and for graciously taking the time to discuss the issue with me on the telephone. The incident was particularly disappointing to us too, because I have noted that you were engaged with our team, communicative, and we are extremely sorry we have dropped the ball. Had you brought to our attention the issue, we could have immediately addressed it as we have housekeeping available late into the night.

Thank you again for your candor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (706)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

538 - 544 of 706 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Springhill Suites by Marriott in North Charleston were impressively furnished and decorated in contemporary motifs that were pleasing to the eye as well as functional. This recent stay of ours lasted a few days and our room was extremely comfortable and clean. The lounging sofa, extra cushions, extra space, bed, bathroom--all decorated in pastel tones and enjoyable to return to after a day of touring. The breakfast was very good; lots of choices and plentiful food. Considering how many people were staying there, obviously tour groups, we were not bothered by crowds, extra noise or lack of space to eat at breakfast because of the spacious layout. We were impressed. The employees were pleasant; the business center was always available and I think the only drawback was the lack of a hot tub in the pool area, which would have been nice. Otherwise, we would definitely stay there again and recommend the place to friends.

Room Tip: We like a king size bed on a side that is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM7535, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Your gracious compliments and excellent details are greatly appreciated, and I will be sure to share them with my associates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed on this property 3 times on business in the past 6 months and every time i've had a very good experience. Nothing to write home about, but I find this property as good value and what you'd expect from a value tier Marriott hotel. No issues.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayMoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM7535, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

I want to thank for taking the time to complete a review on our hotel. We greatly appreciate your impute as we continuously strive to improve our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I thought id take time to write this review because our stay here was great! The hospitality in this hotel should be commended. The breakfast was great. There was an employee (sorry did not hear her name) that came to the dining area and greeted everyone in the morning and asked if anyone needed anything, she was great! Also without question the rest of the staff was very very helpful. Even though i had placed a tag on my door that i did not want housekeeping one of the housekeepers offered clean towels or anything else that i needed. The bed was very comfortable and the room was so dark and quiet i could have slept all day, my husband even overslept and he barely sleeps over 5 hours!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YoSoyMindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM7535, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

I want to thank for taking the time to complete a lovely review on our hotel. Your gracious comments and details are greatly appreciated and I will make sure to share them with Mama, the breakfast associate you describe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for his birthday. The king bed was very comfortable and the room was spacious. The sitting area was comfortable and I liked having the area. The staff was friendly and the room was clean.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank metee007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM7535, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

I want to thank for taking the time to complete a lovely review on our hotel. Your gracious comments and details are greatly appreciated and I will make sure to share them with my associates.

Thank you again, and we all look forward to have you and your husband visit with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The room was very spacious. The hotel was beautiful and perfectly maintained. The bed was very comfortable. The location is excellent. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Charleston!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lhuddl02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM7535, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

I want to thank for taking the time to complete a lovely review on our hotel. Your gracious comments and details are greatly appreciated and I will make sure to share them with my associates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The hotel is only 10 minute drive from downtown and we saved hundred dollar each night by staying 10 minutes from the center of Charleston. The hotel staff very friendly and helpful, breakfast staff go out of their way to assist when something has run out. It is very clean and it looks like they just upgraded the decor.

Only negative- If you enjoy swimming ..there pool is the smallest I have ever seen at a hotel. But if your not planning on swimming, I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoBel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM7535, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

I want to thank for taking the time to complete a lovely review on our hotel. Your gracious comments and details are greatly appreciated and I will make sure to share them with my associates.

I do apologize if our pool disappointed you. Frankly, we had anticipated a strong corporate environment, and given that we are so well received by so many guests traveling for leisure, we do regret that we did not plan for a larger pool.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Charleston hotels
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place North Charleston
Hyatt Place North Charleston
#5 of 59 in North Charleston
767 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlesto...
#18 of 59 in North Charleston
324 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and S...
#6 of 59 in North Charleston
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites
Best Western Plus Airport Inn & ...
#27 of 59 in North Charleston
451 reviews
3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston Un...
#9 of 59 in North Charleston
1,658 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston North
Hampton Inn Charleston North
#12 of 59 in North Charleston
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate

Address: 7535 N Forest Dr, North Charleston, SC 29420-4279
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in North Charleston
#17 Romantic Hotel in North Charleston
#18 Family Hotel in North Charleston
#19 Business Hotel in North Charleston
Price Range: $73 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Charleston North Hotel North Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing