We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place for Weary Traveler”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2012

The property is well-appointed. The rooms and lobby are modern and well-lighted. The property seems secure. The staff friendly and courteous. Eateries, gas stations, and other services nearby. The only issue I initially had was signage--trouble locating by GPS.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jazzyd13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM7535, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to complete a lovely review of your stay. Your gracious compliments and details of the hotel and staff are greatly appreciated. I will make sure to share your comments with my associates and I hope to welcome you and your family again soon. I do apologize for any difficulty you had locating us by GPS. Our hotel is fairly new and there might be some difficulties locating it on older GPS devices that have not had recent upgrades. I can assure you however that hotel coordinates are up to date and availed to locate on all updated GPS devices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (694)
There are newer reviews for SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

627 - 633 of 695 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2012

This Marriott was well kept, had great amenities and looks very recently built. The rooms are much nicer than other Marriott's I've been to and the service is unbelievable. No complains whatsoever.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM7535, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to complete a lovely review of your stay. Your gracious compliments of the hotel and staff are greatly appreciated. We hope to welcome you and your friends again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions while travelling on business. It is a great hotel, with a most attentive, friendly and competent staff. I will be back over and over again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM7535, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review. Your gracious compliments and excellent details are greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

My 10 days stay was what I needed and wanted. The money I payed was worth it clean fresh and quite. All the staff members was as nice as they could be. Travannis on the other hand was in a class all by himself. He made sure that I was well taking care of when I told him that my room was a little unclean he gave me another room with no problem.Will I come back again? Yes I will!!!! Thanks The Dedrick Family

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louise d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM7535, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review. Your gracious compliments and excellent details are greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We were taking a family trip, to Charleston. Booked Springhill Suites, the room was clean and the staff was great. Nice family atmosphere.

Room Tip: Family Friendly
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msmikieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM7535, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2012

I want to thank you for the very kind words. I will make sure to share your comments with my associates, and I am happy to share with you that it means a lot to them to know that their efforts are recognized.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Our soccer team came to town for a soccer tournament. As customary, I blocked rooms with the team bank card. Called to get information from desk about having parents call to secure rooms with their cc, and was told not to have all the parents call that upon check in each family would be required to present payment. A family checked in late (due to a death) at 1 a.m., and was not required to present payment nor to verify the card on file. I was charged for the room, which was not my only issue with the hotel. I was researching as we were dealing with other issues from the hotel putting a hold on my account for a room that I didn't even know the family. I discovered before the staff could that I had been charged for a family who checked in without validating the card on file. Dealing with GM has not been a pleasant experience, in fact we have made a team decision not to stay at the hotel due to the probelms we encountered administratively. The hotel is nice, but not going to return no matter what the rate. When I asked the General Manager would he cover any insufficient funds due to my being charged for a room that was not my responsibility he replie no. When you block a room you are responsible. I told him I thought it was a fraudulent charge since his staff checked them in and did not validate card on file or ask for payment per the policy state to me over the phone. After several days, I spoke to the family and had them call to charge the room to their cc my charges were reversed. This has been my worst hotel experience in booking soccer tournaments ever. I asked the GM to issue some professional courtesy on another issue, and asked if he wanted return customers. He replies that he could not issue professional courtesy due to the property being off the main road, and that he did want return customers but only on his terms. Shocking. Property is nice, but the worst experience I had in booking hotels for 7 years of soccer. Would not recommend this property.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mustgogogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM7535, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2012

Let me start by thanking you for the kind words regarding the quality of the hotel, which are also reinforced by a separate review from a different group participant, staying on the same occasion (see review Tournament housing for Soccer, October 3, 2011)

With respect to your complain that you have been charged for a room you did not use, with all due respect, but that is usually the case when guaranteed reservations are made and not canceled within the prescribed cancelation deadline.

Let me also point out, that in fact you had no direct dealings with the hotel and although your husband was a guest with us, and very happy with the accommodations, you were never in fact in the hotel. You never negotiate a rate or terms with the hotel directly, nor did you block any rooms directly with the hotel. Your team made reservations through a tournament office, on a group contract negotiated by the tournament office, and they provided the hotel with lists of names and credit card numbers to guarantee the reservations. Said contract had very specific and transparent terms and conditions, including cancelation deadlines and a paragraph placing the burden of transmitting all pertinent terms and conditions on the tournament office not the hotel, since they were the ones dealing with the individual teams, not the hotel.

Regretfully, a number of rooms from your team did not show up on the first night, but came in for the second night, and one room never did show up. No cancelation or changes had been made within the contract terms and the hotel charged as per the terms of the contract.

I see from your other review made for another hotel, at another location, that you value the ability to make guarantee reservations and then be able to cancel past cancelation deadline without penalty. I am very sorry, but it is not what we do it at this hotel, and particularly not with groups. Most hotels of quality have difficulty renting rooms at the last moment, as most guests pre plan their stays, and it is the very reason that we only book groups subject to pre negotiated contracts, with cutoff dates and cancelation deadlines carefully spelled out.

I do understand that you are of the impression that contracts and cancelation deadlines should not apply to you, and I regret to have to disappoint you. Please note however, that you initiated complaints and brought your concerns to the highest levels of the Marriott Customer Care Office, where after careful review, no fault was found in the manner the hotel handled this issue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Had an excellent stay at this hotel. The traffic was a bit heavy coming off the interstate due to the holiday season and its location near the mall, but the hotel itself was tucked back off a side street with very little thru traffic. The rooms were very clean and the bed was awesome! Having a 42 inch flat screen in the room wasn't too shabby either. The breakfast had a variety of choices, but we decided to just eat at the nearby Denny's because the eggs were a little chewy and the bacon overdone. Staff was courteous and overall was very pleased with our stay. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T5Port
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM7535, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2012

I want to thank you for the very kind words. I will make sure to share your comments with my associates, and I am happy to share with you that it means a lot to them to know that their efforts are recognized.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Charleston hotels
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place North Charleston
Hyatt Place North Charleston
#5 of 58 in North Charleston
742 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston North
Hampton Inn Charleston North
#12 of 58 in North Charleston
559 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlesto...
#18 of 58 in North Charleston
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and S...
#7 of 58 in North Charleston
905 reviews
3.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston Un...
#10 of 58 in North Charleston
1,627 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites
Best Western Plus Airport Inn & ...
#26 of 58 in North Charleston
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate

Address: 7535 N Forest Dr, North Charleston, SC 29420-4279
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in North Charleston
#18 Family Hotel in North Charleston
#19 Business Hotel in North Charleston
Price Range: $94 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Charleston North Hotel North Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing