We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay 20 Minutes from Charleston”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place North Charleston
Ranked #6 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Stay 20 Minutes from Charleston”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

A nice, new and clean hotel near I-26 20 minutes from old-town Charleston.

The staff was accommodating and friendly, including front desk and kitchen staff. The rooms are well-equipped, large, have feather pillows, but have limited amount of closet and drawer storage.

The food choices are limited, as is the alcohol selection at the bar. Breakfast is included, and a bit better than what you get for free.

I will stay here again when I come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philipbates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    165
    50
    21
    8
See reviews for
256
153
32
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
165 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Very nice hotel right off the highway. It was easy to get to. The exit had some good restaurants nearby and gas stations. The hotel is probably 30 minutes from Historic Charleston. If you are looking for a cheaper alternative than the high priced hotels in town, this would be a great choice!

We found the entire hotel to be very clean and up to date. Our room was huge with 2 queen beds separated from a living room area with a couch, refrigerator, coffee maker, desk, and large screen TV. We thought the beds were very comfortable with nice pillows and sheets.
The bathroom had a good size sink outside from the toilet and shower area. A good size family could definitely stay here and feel very comfortable with the space provided.

We had the free breakfast in the morning which was excellent. Real eggs and bacon, toast, bagels, cereals, etc. Everything was fresh and they worked hard to keep everything full. They use real plates, silverware, and cups so it felt nice. There was also plenty of seating for the large crowd, both indoors and out.

The friendly and hardworking staff was a bonus. It was a good experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuSanSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Our youth baseball team stayed here to play in the Dixie Youth World Series and though it was an hour away from the complex we stayed in, we chose this Hyatt Place for it's larger rooms, newer facility, great breakfast and proximity to area restaurants, etc. The staff was very friendly. The facility was very clean. The breakfast was great, and the offerings in their cafe were also tasty, according to many folks in our group. Incidentally, while this place isn't in the downtown Charleston area, it was a very short drive to the historic section and Mt. Pleasant, so that was good, too. Thanks, Adrienne, for all your assistance booking the group. We arrived as State Champs and left as World Series champs, so I'd say it was a great trip!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeAnne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
81 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I had to work in Charleston for a week and decided to stay at Hyatt Place. Check in was a breeze, and I was able to check in 2 hours early. When I arrived to my room the first thing I notice is the fact the carpet needs a deep cleaning. My room was attended to daily by housekeeping. Breakfast on the other hand was disappointing, The breakfast sandwiches were just OK pancakes on the other hand were hockey pucks or Frisbees, guess you should not leave pre-made pancakes sitting in an open-air pan with a warmer under it, (breakfast needs work for the room rates charged) The property is beginning to show noticeable maintenance and housekeeping issues. This being my first stay with Hyatt, I would defiantly search another property to stay at the next time I work in Charleston.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buckiguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Last year the experience at this location was great however, not so much this year. If the customer service at the front door is a refection of the company- RUN! Upon entering our room, it was very obvious by the smell that this visit was going to continue to go down hill. We patiently tried to express our concerns and the staff responded with an attitude like we were their 50th complaint today.After being down graded to a smaller room and not getting a room rate adjustment we went to room number 2. The smell was much better, however the bathroom was quite hairy! (So glad I look before I sit because the hairy old gent before us sure left his DNA "behind" -no pun intended) I guess the bright side was an offer of room service dinner was on them... Ahhh no thanks, you guys have a problem with cleanliness I don't want to find out if it includes the kitchen as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Family5535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We just completed our one month vacation. We booked all of our hotels through Hotels.com The best hotel was Hyatt Place North Charleston. The hotel was beautiful, extremely clean and well furnished. Very good hot breakfast included. The staff was so very friendly and helpful, especiall Ayana Crathers. She greeted us each time we entered the lobby and gave us a tour of the amenities. We wish she had bee at each hotel along the way. Hyatt Place would be wise to use her to train their staff, in fact, all hotel staff could learn from Ayana. Thanks to her we had a fantastic time in Charleston. Thank you Hyatt Place and thanks Ayana

Room Tip: No worry here the rooms are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, United States
Level Contributor
538 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is the best of the Hyatt Places I have seen, typical Hyatt Place room layout which is more than spacious and a nice break-down inside. The lobby is very nice and the breakfast was fantastic, rooms were clean the the service was great. This location is a great option for visits to Charleston without paying the fortune to stay down there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Charleston hotels
5.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center
Hyatt Place Charleston Airport a...
#2 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Charleston - Convention Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North...
#7 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston North
Hampton Inn Charleston North
#4 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston Un...
#10 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Airport
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Air...
#8 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and S...
#9 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place North Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place North Charleston

Property: Hyatt Place North Charleston
Address: 7331 Mazyck Rd, North Charleston, SC 29406-6422
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in North Charleston
#7 Family Hotel in North Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in North Charleston
#14 Business Hotel in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place North Charleston 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hyatt Place North Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place North Charleston Hotel North Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing