We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hospitality at its Finest!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place North Charleston
Ranked #7 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Pendleton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hospitality at its Finest!”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed one night while traveling. Pictures on trip advisor are accurate, friendly staff, mattress was comfy. The Entire Staff Was PHENOMINAL!! NEAL was very professional and went above and beyond to make our stay rememorable! WE WILL BE BACK!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    164
    49
    21
    8
See reviews for
253
151
32
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia Area
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I was visiting downtown Charleston for a short trip and wanted a good hotel for a nice price. Anything downtown is around two C-notes and up. I normally stay in West Charleston but I found a good price on this hotel via Yahoo. I never stayed at a Hyatt Place before, but, after this experience, I would look for one again.

The lobby is very masculine in dark browns and sandstone with the front desk awkwardly placed off the to side. The front desk is really a kiosk and bar, all in one. There are no vending machines in the hotel but there is a cold case with soda/snacks/brownies for sale at the desk. The front desk clerk doubles as a barista and bartender since beer is also available.

The room was huge, actually it was two rooms. The front room is a sitting area with a wrap around sofa, desk, and dry bar with a refrigerator. The bedroom area had two queen beds, a vanity with overhead light, and a bathroom. One thing to note, the bathroom only contains the toilet and tub. Plus, the bathroom is right next to the beds. The vanity sits outside the bathroom. It was a strange layout but a minor issue when you have so much room.

The rooms are well insulated, you could not hear a peep from the surrounding rooms even though the hotel was packed. The only exception was when someone let their room door slam. They are heavy steel and would shake the wall causing your door to jiggle.

Breakfast is available in a "galley" with seating that wraps around the front desk/kiosk. This chain's specialty seems to be serving baked/nuked breakfast sandwiches on a skillet. Pretty tasty when compared to most hotel's free hot breakfast. Seating was tight at times but there are lots of sitting areas in the lobby that could be used in a pinch.

The front desk help was a bit spotty. The gentlemen in the evening were very accommodating when I asked to extend my one night stay into two. They even agreed to match my previous promotional rate. The only hitch was when they asked me to check back the following morning to see if I needed to change rooms. I explained the situation to the morning desk crew and had to wait awhile before someone could help me and then I had to explain why there could be a problem. Again a minor issue since everything else about the hotel was A+.

One other note, the hotel's location. If you do not have a GPS, good luck finding this place. It is located in a cluster of chain hotels just off a major intersection of a busy highway and an interstate. I missed the road leading to the hotel twice. When I saw the layout of the roads in daylight, without rush hour traffic, I wondered who would design such a mess and expect someone to find it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxhauser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
257 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at this Hyatt Place in the spring. The staff was more attentive last time. They did not have any USA Today papers, which is something I look forward to every day. They had The Wall Street Journal but that is not for everyone. Also no apples at all. The staff was not as friendly. At all of the other Hyatt Places that we frequent, the staff is more accomodating. It is still a good hotel and very clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marieds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quitman, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Only thing to make it better would be to move it downtown and breakfast in bed. Very nice place n staff. Nice, clean and spacious rooms. Very nice selection for breakfast. Easy to get to and not far from downtown.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for two nights. Fantastic people working there. Everyone asked about you every time they saw you. Complimentary breakfast was very good. Fresh fruit, cereals, toast, bagels, eggs and sausage or bacon. Milk, juices and hot coffee. Rooms were very clean. Loved the shower. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CC1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I stayed at the Hyatt Place North Charleston for six nights while traveling on business. Due to the long stay, I was looking for a place that would be a little more comfortable than the typical setup of just a bed, desk, and easy-chair.

The rooms were very comfortable, and include a couch with ottoman and a big-screen high-def TV. They are nicely decorated and spacious. The housekeeping staff did a good job for me.

The guy I was traveling with noticed the airplane noise from the nearby airport, but I didn't hear it at all.

The morning breakfast is very nice - much better than most comparable hotels that include breakfast in the rate. It had a selection of both hot & cold items, and always had a couple of bowls of fresh fruit. The coffee they serve is very good quality, which I appreciated.

The workout room was a bit of a disappointment. I used it twice during my stay. It was small and had only a few machines (stairclimber, treadmill & recumbant bicycle), and some free weights. Also, the pool had no hot tub.

I slept okay, but the bed is more firm than I'm used to. If you like a firm mattress, this could be good.

All the nearby restaurants are chains. There is a cracker barrel within walking distance, and a Ruby Tuesday nearby. Along Rivers Avenue, about a mile away, there are more choices. To get to local restaurants, you need to go four or five miles to Montague avenue, or down into Charleston proper.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My wife and I went to see her best friend in MUSC and stayed 8 nights at the Hyatt. The room was great and the workers were the very best. I wish I could remember all their names. They are fantastic.!!! Great Breakfasts. Great Wednesday night meal. Price was good. Couldn't get the volume to work on the TV but probably my fault. Room had a shower and no tub but that was fine. Probably the best service we have ever had at a motel. Would love to return someday. About 15 miles from the hospital but it was worth the drive. Many restaurants and churches close by. Thanks Hyatt for a home like motel.

Room Tip: The room we had only had a shower so anyone who would like a tub should ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Charleston hotels
5.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center
Hyatt Place Charleston Airport a...
#5 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Charleston - Convention Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North...
#2 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston North
Hampton Inn Charleston North
#6 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston Un...
#11 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Airport
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Air...
#8 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and S...
#9 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place North Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place North Charleston

Property: Hyatt Place North Charleston
Address: 7331 Mazyck Rd, North Charleston, SC 29406-6422
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in North Charleston
#7 Family Hotel in North Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in North Charleston
#14 Business Hotel in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place North Charleston 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hyatt Place North Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place North Charleston Hotel North Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing