We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place To Stay In The Charleston Area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place North Charleston
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Grayson, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Place To Stay In The Charleston Area”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We planned a vacation last minute during the Christmas holidays, so our choices were very limited as most hotels were filled. So, we had to go farther out to North Charleston, and we stumbled on this new hotel that was only 10 - 15 minutes from downtown Charleston.

We were pleasantly surprised! The place was very clean and the room we selected (2 queen beds) was spacious. There was a little mini service station with refrigerator and granite counter area for prepping. The beds were very comfy, too. I always judge a hotel by the bathroom, and this one was very clean. Of course, the hotel is less than 2 years old, so that helped, too.

The staff at the front desk went out of their way to be friendly. They made us feel very welcome and very comfortable. They went above and beyond. When I asked for a place to eat that evening, they provided us with coupons, recommendations, etc., and I was very impressed with them. I thought, well maybe these particular front desk personnel were friendly. Let's see about tomorrow. No disappointment there. The next set of hotel personnel at the front desk were just as accommodating, friendly and efficient.

For the experience and the price, I will definitely be staying here when I visit Charleston again.

Excellent experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bev N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    174
    53
    22
    8
See reviews for
274
157
32
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

i stayed here because i like hyatt hotels. i had a seminar to go to at the convention center across the street . this hotel has a huge complimentary breakfast each morning, a very clean pool and workout area. free computers in the lobby area to use. a flat screen tv lounge area near the computers. i ordered food in the evening and it was good also. i stayed 4 days. i stayed in a large clean room with a flat screen tv, frig, living room area and all the staff was very nice. complimentary coffee maker which i love. free shuttle to and from the airport until midnight. i arrived after midnight and quickly caught a ride in a van for 9.00 which i was grateful for. i rented a car one day and drove all over,it was beautiful outside .this is where i will stay next visit. loved it

Room Tip: hyatt is always a great choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joyce t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2011

The staff is friendly and the rooms are very nice. The free breakfast is better than most and saves a good amount of money as opposed to eating out. Their pool is good sized and clean with plenty of chairs. All in all this is where we will stay when visiting the Charleston area because it is close to anything we need as far as restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2011

I encountered absolutely no problems while staying at this hotel over the weeked which is all I could've asked for. The room was emaculately cleaned, very comfortable bed. Good stay for te price. Front desk staff was great, shot out to Neil for the upgrade!

Room Tip: I requested the highest floor which was thankfully accomodated by the front desk staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs,Ar
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

The space in the rooms, with a divided area between bed and sofa, is extra nice. This particular hotel seemed older, showing a bit of wear, more than others we've stayed in. Particularly helpful staff; recommended nearby restaurants. It seemed that an airport shuttle would have been good, since they are near the airport. We would have liked to return our car the evening before departure. Good breakfast, and pleasant eating area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fergmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineral, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Our room at this hotel was fine, relatively clean and very roomy. However, my main complaint is that my very expensive diamond earrings were stolen from the room. The hotel did nothing about it other than to check to see if they were found... It was also very noisy. We will not stay here again, and probably not in a Hyatt Place again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSkoler, Manager at Hyatt Place North Charleston, responded to this review, November 5, 2011
Dear Joyce M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property. I understand your frustration and sincerely apologize for the loss of these valuable items. It is very important to us that all possible steps are taken to resolve this issue.

Immediately after upper management was made aware of the situation, standard hotel procedures were set in action to begin a thorough search for the missing earrings. We are currently assisting local authorities in an official police investigation to locate the missing items.

This specific experience does not live up to the high standards that we strive to meet each and every day at the Hyatt Place to ensure a positive guest experience. I sincerely apologize that your stay was less than satisfactory and for any inconvenience that this has caused. Our Management team will continue to stay in touch as we make every possible effort to locate the missing items.

Sincerely,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2011

This was a new, clean hotel with modern decor staffed by a very cordial group of people. They greeted us "home" every time we left or returned. We asked them numerous questions because we had never been to Charleston, and they answered willingly and went the extra mile to find restaurants we might like, mentioning some that they personally had eaten at. We liked being in North Charleston, away from the narrow streets of Old Charleston where there were problems with manuevering our car and finding a place to park. We LOVE the old but appreciated the modern and convenient newer hotel. The room was fantastic, divided into sitting and sleeping areas with a screen. The bed was like sleeping on feathers! I would recommend this hotel to anyone. We had a very pleasant stay there.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Charleston hotels
5.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center
Hyatt Place Charleston Airport a...
#2 of 58 in North Charleston
631 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston North
Hampton Inn Charleston North
#3 of 58 in North Charleston
539 reviews
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Charleston - Convention Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North...
#7 of 58 in North Charleston
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate
SpringHill Suites Charleston Nor...
#14 of 58 in North Charleston
683 reviews
0.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites North Charleston
Staybridge Suites North Charlest...
#13 of 58 in North Charleston
286 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and S...
#8 of 58 in North Charleston
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place North Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place North Charleston

Property: Hyatt Place North Charleston
Address: 7331 Mazyck Rd, North Charleston, SC 29406-6422
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in North Charleston
#7 Family Hotel in North Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in North Charleston
#14 Business Hotel in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place North Charleston 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place North Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place North Charleston Hotel North Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing