We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“watch out for bugs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Hampton, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“watch out for bugs”
Reviewed July 20, 2010

Nice room,great for business, only complaint, large palmetto bugs! Staff very attentive, went to Wal-Mart and brought us our own can of Raid, after they tried to catch one in a jar! Zero tolerance for bugs, no matter what part of the country I am in, so I would not recommend!
KSolomon

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ksolo35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    136
    39
    12
    6
See reviews for
202
135
28
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2010

Our family has stayed in various hotels in the Charleston area and my last review of the Embassy Suites N. Chas. was less than kind (although true). The Hyatt Place in N. Charleston (Convention Center) is an absolute gem in every respect. The hotel is designed with the patron in mind and at every level. To say that the staff is top-notch is an understatement. The rooms are designed well, COMFORTABLE, and if I could find a way to get the bed home, I'd do it. We will return to Charleston more often just knowing this hotel will be waiting for us.

Feel free to bring your gaming systems for the kids (big AND small) because they have easy access/hook up to the large screen television.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ojusto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Stayed 2 nights before we went on our cruise. This hotel was very very nice. The hotel staff were so friendly and helpful, the bed was the most comfortable on I have ever slept on. Very close to shopping and to downtown Charleston. They thought of everything....they even had a book at the front with all the local restaurant menues! Perfect Place!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonesadoption
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, FL
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2010

I've really come to really enjoy staying at the Hyatt Place chain and the Hyatt Place North Charleston Convention Center lived up to my expectations. The hotel rooms are very contemporary and well laid out. It was very clean and the staff extremely friendly and helpful.

I'd contacted the staff ahead of time to advise of my late arrival and they had a crib waiting in the room for my infant son just as I'd requested. I was impressed yet again with the Hyatt Place. A great value overall.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaStateNole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harriman (Orange County) New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2010

Listen... I'm a hotel snob - particularly when I'm visiting a city. Think Fairmont... think Intercontinental. At the other end of the spectrum, my wife and I gravitate towards historic inns and B&B's. Heck... I haven't stayed in a regular Hyatt/Hilton/Sheraton/etc. in years.

That said... this trip was about visiting my brother-in-law and our nephews who recently moved to Charleston (West Ashley) and we knew we'd be spending little time enjoying our accommodations as such, so, what the heck, we expanded our usual lodging search perimeters.

I'm a pool guy. I have to have a pool. Therefore, I only check out properties with pools. The Hyatt Place made the cut because they have a serviceable indoor pool.

I'm not an airport/convention center hotel kinda guys, but... as I noted above... since the Hyatt Place had a pool it came to my attention.

The other thing that caught my eye while narrowing my hotel search... 42-inch flat screen TVs in every room and for all intents and purposes every room appears to be a "mini-suite" with a semi-separate "entertaining/working" space with a large couch.

Oh... and as others have mentioned... the hotel is pretty much brand new.

Hey... if you're a tech guy or gal this Hyatt will appeal to you. I still use cell phones to TALK on... (*GRIN*)... but the TV, desk, and side bed tables had "jacks" galore and if you're into having a "wired" hotel room... you've found it here.

Me? I appreciated the oversized "rainfall" shower head more than the gadgets (including a single cup coffee maker, iron, ironing board, pull out sofa...).

Bottom line for us... we paid $76/nt. - which included continental breakfast each morning - for a nice big room with a 42-inch flat screen TV in a nearly brand new Hyatt "family" hotel. (If it had been $119 - or even $99 - we would have passed; but for $76 a night... we couldn't in good conscience pass the deal by.)

We had a top floor (6th floor) room overlooking the local road in front of the hotel. (The Preforming Arts Center is basically behind the hotel...)

The bedding and bed itself was ok... what you'd expect. (As I wrote above, I'm a Fairmont kinda guy...) (*WINK*)

The bed... too much "pillow top" for my tastes. I'm more of a "firm" mattress guy; same with the wife.

They use those little "standard" (small) pillows. I suppose we could have requested queen or king sized pillows (it was a king sized bed) but we never bothered.

The location of the hotel is great - at least for our purposes it was! Our relative's place in West Ashley was ten minutes down the road one way while Charleston proper was ten minutes down the road another way and we were equally close to Shem Creek and maybe 20 minutes from the beaches. Plus, within a square mile of the hotel there was outlet shopping and a Walmart so if we were covered in case we had forgotten to pack anything or needed something we hadn't packed.

The staff was very friendly - particularly the morning/day staff.

The buffet was adequate - I mean... what do you want for "free?" Good coffee. Fruit salad and separate grapefruit slices. Cereals. Juices. Bagels, toast, english muffins. The breakfast area was clean, bright, and cheerful.

Oh... back to the pool area... there's also a medium sized but well equipped exercise room.

There are two "guest computers" in the lobby and also a big book of Charleston area restaurant menus to browse.

Oh... and before I forget... yes, of course parking is free and plentiful.

All in all, a heck of a find. If you're looking for a "base" instead of a resort, the Hyatt Place is probably the place for you. Business... holiday... it's definitely a "duel personality" hotel.

Hey... if you can get a room there for under $100 you're going to be completely satisfied.

Hey... one day I overheard a conversation between the front desk and a "guest to be" on the phone who was apparently verifying an upcoming reservation. The quote I heard from the staffer was $53/nt.

Like I say up above... at the very least you're going to be completely satisfied staying here; at best, you'll feel like a real "winner" for "stealing" your room.

Oh... oh... oh... before I sign off! Though I didn't mention it (because we didn't partake) part of the "Hyatt Place" shtick is that pre-made (but fresh daily!) sandwiches, salads, and "light refreshments" (including beer and wine) are available 24-hrs. a day from a "stand" in the lobby. Hey... it's cost effective for the hotel and therefore for the guest. This way they don't require extra staff yet if a guest is hungry at 3:00 a.m. he or she can grab a bite or something to drink. I can see how this would be a real plus for business guests especially.

BILL

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2010

I was "sent" to this hotel by the cruise line when we had to return to port early.
it was a fabulous place. Brand new, and everything was elegant.
The bed was superb -- high and fluffy and loaded with pillows and silky sheets.
Staff was super nice.
No restaurant or coffee shop on premises, just some light selections that were a little pricey.
It was several miles away from the city center, with only an occasional shuttle bus to go downtown. Airport and convention center, however, and many good restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joramrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2010

This hotel is very new and clean. Employees were helpful and friendly. Shower was wonderful. But one reason I wouldn't return is because the lighting is so cold, bright, and glaring. Atmosphere means alot to me, and I felt like I was in Walmart. Also, there were no brochures about area attractions; we had just arrived in Charleston and I was looking forward to going to the hotel and planning our trip.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cs7sisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Charleston hotels
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Charleston - Convention Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North...
#2 of 58 in North Charleston
289 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Charleston Airport and Convention Center
Holiday Inn Express and Suites C...
#1 of 58 in North Charleston
440 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hyatt Place North Charleston
Hyatt Place North Charleston
#5 of 58 in North Charleston
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Airport
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Air...
#6 of 58 in North Charleston
887 reviews
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton North Charleston - Airport/Hotel & Convention
Embassy Suites by Hilton North C...
#14 of 58 in North Charleston
1,175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Home2 Suites Charleston Airport / Convention Center
Home2 Suites Charleston Airport ...
#13 of 58 in North Charleston
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center

Property: Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center
Address: 3234 W Montague Ave, North Charleston, SC 29418-5935
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in North Charleston
#4 Business Hotel in North Charleston
#5 Family Hotel in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Reservation Counter, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Charleston Airport Hotel North Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing