We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great home base for the Southern Ground Festival”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Hilton Head Island, SC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great home base for the Southern Ground Festival”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights while attending the Southern Ground Festival at Blackbaud stadium. This is a very modern looking hotel with modern decor - easy to get to from the highway. The hotel was about a 10 minute drive from Blackbaud Stadium and there were several restaurants nearby, although the location appears kind of industrial.

The front desk staff was very friendly and got us taken care of quickly despite multitasking as one of the desk attendants was at lunch.

We got a King room which was comfortable and satisfactorily clean, and the price with AAA discount was very good. No problems with housekeeping. The bed was comfortable and THE PILLOWS WERE AMAZING!!! I would buy some for myself if I knew how to get them. The only thing I didn't care for was that the AC/Heating vent was right next to the bed and blew right on you, making the curtains flap, and there was a hole in the drywall at the bottom of the vent.

There was a large flat screen TV that swiveled and a "cozy corner with an L-shaped couch and ottoman. There were outlets for all kinds of electronics should you need them. The shower was a double stall with sliding glass doors and the water pressure was good. The sink area is separate and opposite is the closet with mirrored doors. The room had a fridge and microwave, and a desk area. The room was not overly large - standard sized in my opinion but sufficient for my husband and I for the time we would be spending in the room.

There was free internet, a bar/restaurant area, and a breakfast area. Breakfast was complimentary and pretty standard - my husband enjoyed the breakfast sandwiches!

All in all it was a pleasant stay and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GodivaRidesAHarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    136
    39
    12
    6
See reviews for
202
135
28
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for a night while in town for a wedding. The location was right by the Tanger Outlets and close enough to downtown that we didn't have to spend a fortune but we were able to drive a short distance to get to the heart of Charleston. Service was good and the hotel was very clean and quiet.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Car0linaTraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We normally stay at the Embassy Suites when in Charleston, but they were completely booked, so I took a chance on a Hyatt. So glad I did! It was very clean, and the double stall shower with glass doors was a nice retreat from the standard tub with cloth shower curtain. Our check in and check out went seemlessly, and the desk staff were always pleasant and accommodating, whether I was asking for directions or getting a snack. The only drawback of our whole stay would be the location of the be being so close to the air conditioning unit and blowing directly on us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at this Hyatt. This hotel is located in North Charleston, about a 10 minute drive to downtown Charleston. Less than 3 minutes to the Tanger Outlets. About a 20/30 minute drive to Folly Beach. We felt close enough to enjoy Charleston, but far enough away from the downtown chaos.

Appearance: looked very clean and modern
Check-in: pleasant and quick
Rooms: clean and nice---a closer look revealed some age in the bathroom and on the furnishings
Breakfast:variety of choices, decent, nothing to get excited about
Check-out: very quick
Mishap: room not cleaned one day, but overall a pleasant stay. Bed slept very poorly, it was too soft for us. (that is just a personal preference)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sawjrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2012

we are traveling along the east coast and after a number of hotels we arrived in this hotel for a stay of 4 nights. Everything in this hotel is in place but a special word has to be said about both housekeeping and the frontdesk.
Over the weekend the hotel was packed and the frontdesk girls - experts in multitasking and taking care of guests checking out, providing assistance and information and simultaneously looking after the breakfast room - remained calm and very friendly.
On another occasion one of them assisted us in getting free coupons via the internet and we could simply go on in our observations.
All of them are in our view very very valuable for the hotel chain and we hope management knows that!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WimdeMeester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
139 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This place is really nice. Tasteful decor, appealing bathrooms with granite counters, appealing amenities and a good breakfast that gets you off to a good start. My only issues would be that the scrambled eggs at breakfast - served both days of our stay - were terrible. And the indoor pool would be nicer if there was a hot tub/spa that came along with it. Other than that, everything was pretty wonderful. Very enjoyable!

Room Tip: Either side of the hotel is pretty quiet, so all the rooms are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

The hotel itself was great - but it was the staff that pit this pace over the top. They made you feel as if you were a welcomed guest in their home. Their hospitality was sincere and welcoming. Hyatt need to give these kids raises or romote them! They are exactly ht you want representing yor brand.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank TravelerVAVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Charleston hotels
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Charleston - Convention Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North...
#2 of 58 in North Charleston
289 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Charleston Airport and Convention Center
Holiday Inn Express and Suites C...
#1 of 58 in North Charleston
440 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hyatt Place North Charleston
Hyatt Place North Charleston
#5 of 58 in North Charleston
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Airport
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Air...
#7 of 58 in North Charleston
889 reviews
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton North Charleston - Airport/Hotel & Convention
Embassy Suites by Hilton North C...
#14 of 58 in North Charleston
1,175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Home2 Suites Charleston Airport / Convention Center
Home2 Suites Charleston Airport ...
#13 of 58 in North Charleston
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center

Property: Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center
Address: 3234 W Montague Ave, North Charleston, SC 29418-5935
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in North Charleston
#4 Business Hotel in North Charleston
#5 Family Hotel in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Reservation Counter, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Charleston Airport Hotel North Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing