We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton North Charleston - Airport/Hotel & Convention
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in North Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The good experience with Embassy Suites of North Charleston, South Carolina began upon check-in and has yet to end. I say that because this hotel played a big role in planting lots of good memories in my post-vacation thoughts and memories are for a lifetime.

Below are the outstanding things I found at this hotel:

1. Check-in - It was as easy as telling them my name and reservation number. The employee that helped me even offered me different room types of my choosing without any additional charges. Within 10 minutes I was heading to my room.

2. Room 805 - Walking into this two-room unit was like walking into a new condo. Everything was neatly placed and the room was very spacious. The two large high definition TVs were at each end of the condo. I could actually watch two shows if i wanted to. Great choices of channels. Excellent pictures on both of the LG high-quality televisions. The remote controls worked without a hitch.

(LIVING ROOM) Beyond the entry door there was a good-sized four-chair work/reading table, a long couch surrounded by a coffee table in front and a very comfortable lounge chair on the side. Included were three popular magazines about historic Charleston sitting on the coffee table next to the TV remote. The couch had a pillow on each end, and may I say I fell asleep on it shortly after arriving. All the furniture was very comfortable and in like new condition. Behind the couch was a window with curtains. Pull the curtains back and you have a great view of the surrounding area, and can even see the new bridge connecting Mount Pleasant in the distance.

(KITCHEN) The above room is bordered by a small (yet ample) kitchenette, including a single-bowl stainless steel sink with faucet, a microwave, a small refrigerator and kitchen cabinets. From the counter top down, everything was clean and in like-new condition.

(BATHROOM) Facing the kitchenette was the bathroom, including a tub/shower combination, a spacious solid surface beige vanity with a single bowl sink offered plenty of room for two people. The vanity also housed a box of tissues in addition to the toilet paper. The wall-to-wall mirror made getting ready a breeze. So did the relaxing shower. A good shower with a good water stream is very important and this one not only met my expectations, but even had an adjustable shower head. Hot water was quick and long lasting. The bath was extremely clean and in like new condition. The only thing in this entire room that needed a cleaning was the exhaust fan in the bath. Dust had built up around it over time. I won't hold this against the maids because it would take a ladder to reach it. This was a very minor overlook in my opinion.

(BEDROOM) The double-beds looked like something you would see in a magazine. They were neatly dressed and very clean-looking. As soon as I made contact with one I was out like a light. I believe the two nights I slept in them are the best two nights of sleep i have ever had. They were extremely comfortable and the several pillows furnished with each made them even more comfortable. They were covered with bedspreads that matched the room's attire.

The clock radio worked and the correct time was already keyed in the built-in clock. The nightstand separating the two beds was topped with a table lamp. You won't find any burned out light bulbs in this hotel. Everything works as intended.

I really enjoyed the huge windows hiding behind the long curtains on the end wall next to the beds. They over-looked the parking lot and beyond, yielding a bird's eye view of the North Charleston Convention Center, International Drive, and even the planes heading in to and from the international airport. One couldn't ask for a better view from this location in North Charleston. All the windows had both a privacy curtain followed by another that blocked out all the lights from the outside.

In front of the two beds was another vanity-type table housing a large drawer topped with a matching lamp and a mirror on the wall behind it. To the left of that was a 3-drawer cabinet for your clothes and things topped with another like-new LG high definition TV with remote. A perfect setup for watching TV in bed. Both televisions looked to be about 42" diagonally in size, plenty large enough even for those with poor eyesight.

There was also a small closet enclosed by a folding mirror as a door giving the occupants plenty of choices of where to comb their hair or check out their outfit.

(COMMON GROUNDS) This hotel has 3 elevators side-by-side and one side of each one is glass so you can see the beautiful indoor garden adjacent to the lobby as it takes you up to whichever of the 9 floors you room is on. The view is also of the bar area and breakfast area where you will see many co-travelers in the evenings enjoying the free drinks and snacks offered. But in the mornings you will see seemingly everyone down there eating the free breakfast. Oh that breakfast... don't you dare miss it. This is not your ordinary breakfast. It's the BEST breakfast in town I do believe! From custom-ordered omelets to pancakes to fresh fruit, you will find it all in the mornings at this hotel. There's coffee, multiple choices of juice, eggs, bacon, southern-cooked grits, and even free USA and The Wall Street newspapers to add to your morning experience. My personal rating of the food is 5 stars. It's simply delicious. You will not find a better breakfast anywhere in the Charleston area, and it's all there for you just outside your door.

(ADDITIONAL PERKS) Automatic entry doors when you check in. Being loaded down with luggage won't stop your trip to the check-in desk. It will be non-stop. In addition, there are always employees at the entrance ready to help you with your belongings if you need them. Carts are also available for transporting everything to your room.

Plenty of tables in the eating area. There's even a TV in this area loaded with games for the kids to play... or the grown-ups still young at heart. There are also two other TVs in the dining/bar area either tuned in to ESPN or a news channel.

Indoor swimming pool is located on the first floor just beyond the elevators.

An air-conditioned corridor entry walkway going to the North Charleston Fine Arts Center (located on the 2nd floor).

A fenced-in smoking area with outdoor furniture and an ashtray is located in front of the building near the check-in entrance. It's on the Convention Center side of the hotel.

Ample parking.

Very friendly and willing-to-help-you staff are plentiful throughout the hotel, dressed as though they are serving a king.

Business Center is located behind the check-in area, with two computers for checking your emails online.

Coffeemaker is in the room, along with the condiments.

Plenty of clean trash cans are located inside the rooms for convenience.

Note pads with pens furnished in the rooms.

Separate restaurant near breakfast area for evening meals.

Bottled water in your room (additional charge added to your bill if you drink it)

Ice/vending machines on each floor.

(2) washing machines and (2) dryers (coin operated) are located on the 8th floor.

A gift shop is located near check-in.Reasonably prices gifts, ice cream, personal items for sale.

Movie options in your room (additional charges)

Phone calls from your room (additional charges for outgoing calls)

Wifi available. One hour free (I think daily) but additional charges for additional time.

Close to I-26, minutes from downtown historic Charleston, minutes from the airport.

OVERALL, I highly recommend this hotel. I give them a 5-STAR rating for my 2 night stay. The upkeep of the property is notably well maintained. Everything you need is available inside their doors. Literature for visitors also available for those wishing to scout out and about. The Charleston area is loaded with beauty, history, and old-southern architecture. Be sure to visit the downtown Charleston area and take your camera. The South Carolina Aquarium, the USS Yorktown, magnificent shopping, waterfront, Fort Sumter Tours (where the Civil War began), and nearby beaches all await you in this area. In addition, the people are the friendliest you will find anywhere in the world.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bassingtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton North Charleston - Airport/Hotel & Convention, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2017

Thank you for the feedback. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,059 - 1,065 of 1,305 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013

Friendly, helpful staff - from Front desk to kitchen to management to business office. Room was exceptionally clean. Regrettably we arrived too late for evening cocktails but breakfast was super great.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swtlollyfine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbNChas, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton North Charleston - Airport/Hotel & Convention, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Laura E,

Wonderful is music to our ears. Thanks for your positive feedback - we've shared your comments with the team. Safe travels, Peter Steketee, Gen Mgr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is the best place to stay away from home. The staff is friendly, and the rooms are so clean. My husband and I really enjoyed the happy hour which is offered every evening. The breakfast is totally awesome!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
1  Thank Sylvia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton North Charleston - Airport/Hotel & Convention, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2017

Thank you for the feedback. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed July 25, 2013

What you expect from Embassy Suite brand. Nice suite, excellent breakfast service and evening reception with light snack of salsa and chips. Excellent place to stay to visit historic district, easy access to highway. The outlets and a walmart are nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton North Charleston - Airport/Hotel & Convention, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2017

Thank you for the feedback. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stay here frequently when in town on business. Great location, friendly service, but crowded food area. I was unable to wait in the very lengthy breakfast lines so I had to skip it. Suggest having two cooks during busy summer months. The rooms are comfortable but could use an update. Will return

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
Thank Magicfan225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton North Charleston - Airport/Hotel & Convention, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2016

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback regarding your stay. It is always disappointing to hear that a guest did not enjoy every aspect of their visit.

We truly appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed one night while visiting the area with my husband and two boys. The staff was nice. Had complimentary drinks and snacks in the evening. Room was nice and bigger then I thought it was going to be. The only thing was my husband noticed some mold spots on the ceiling while taking a shower. Yikes !

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton North Charleston - Airport/Hotel & Convention, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2017

Thank you for the feedback. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here for four nights last week while visiting Charleston. It was an amazing value for what you received! The hotel staff could not have been more gracious. The evening manager's reception was fun -- had drinks for adults and sodas and such for kids along with small snacks. The complimentary breakfast was wonderful. Cooked to order omelets along with eggs, bacon etc. The room was clean and gave us the space to spread out a bit while on vacation. It was an easy 10 minute drive into historic Charleston and very close to the outlet mall and restaurants. The indoor pool was clean and well maintained. We were very very happy with our stay!

Room Tip: The kids loved the glass elevator while staying on the upper floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momoftwo03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton North Charleston - Airport/Hotel & Convention, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2017

Thank you for the feedback. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Charleston hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center
Hyatt Place Charleston Airport a...
#4 of 60 in North Charleston
724 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Charleston - Convention Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North...
#2 of 60 in North Charleston
381 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Airport
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Air...
#3 of 60 in North Charleston
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Home2 Suites Charleston Airport / Convention Center
Home2 Suites Charleston Airport ...
#9 of 60 in North Charleston
878 reviews
5.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and S...
#7 of 60 in North Charleston
931 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hyatt Place North Charleston
Hyatt Place North Charleston
#5 of 60 in North Charleston
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton North Charleston - Airport/Hotel & Convention? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton North Charleston - Airport/Hotel & Convention

Address: 5055 International Blvd, North Charleston, SC 29418-5963
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in North Charleston
#16 Family Hotel in North Charleston
#21 Romantic Hotel in North Charleston
Price Range: $167 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton North Charleston - Airport/Hotel & Convention 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a convenient location at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston Airport Hotel & Convention Center. Take the complimentary shuttle to Charleston International Airport just two miles away and walk to over 30 restaurants in the local neighborhood. Our Charleston, SC hotel is adjacent to the Charleston Area Convention Center and the Performing Arts Center and the Coliseum, ideal for attending an event at these venues. Just 10 minutes from Downtown Charleston, recently ranked the No. 1 City in the World by Travel + Leisure ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton North Charleston - Airport/Hotel & Convention reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Airport/ Hotel North Charleston
Embassy Suites North Charleston
North Charleston Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing