We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would give three and a half stars because of one thing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton North Charleston - Airport/Hotel & Convention
Ranked #13 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The staff was quite friendly and made a great impression, and the hotel generally was pleasant and well-run. The hot tub and pool, and pale ale at happy hour were nice touches.

However, our room had a pet "funk" to it. From the moment we arrived, it smelled vaguely of pet "pee pee." Housekeeping did a great job of cleaning our room on a daily basis, however the smell persisted.

This would mainly be the reason why I would give the hotel 3.5 stars, as everything else about the place was rather nice.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbsonboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton North Charleston - Airport/Hotel & Convention, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2017

Thank you for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,236)
There are newer reviews for Embassy Suites by Hilton North Charleston - Airport/Hotel & Convention
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,071 - 1,077 of 1,236 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

This hotel is adjacent to the Convention Center and close to the airport. A huge outlet mall and several dining & shopping areas are very close by.
I was presenting at a training conference and my reservation was made by the person in charge of the training. Through a miscommunication, my reservation was made for one day too early. When I arrived to check in, I was told that my reservation was cancelled because I failed to arrive the day before. Initially, the clerk seemed sort of "put out" and didn't seem to care as I was trying to explain what had happened. She wasn't rude, but just sort of made me feel like she had "heard it all before". She got my reservation reinstated and things were fine from there.
Mike, the concierge / bellman, was very quick to help with my luggage. He was very polite and friendly, and called me by name each time he saw me throughout my 4-day stay. Impressive, given the amount of people he was dealing with each day. He had lots of suggestions for dining and even provided discount coupons for some restaurants.
The room was typical of the Embassy hotels. I had a corner suite, which I was told is slightly larger than the others. It had a living area with a TV, dining table and four chairs, a lounge chair, and a hide-a-bed. Across from the bathroom was a "wetbar-style" cabinet with sink, mini-fridge, and microwave. I just wish the people next door would have chosen not to let the door slam each and every time they went in or out.
The bedroom has a good size closet, desk, dresser & nightstands, and another TV.Bed was very comfortable. Phones are in the living room and bedroom. Wi-fi was included, but I'm not sure if this was beacuse I was there with a conference, or if it is standard.
These rooms are great for families or small groups. Breakfast is included each morning with a good selection and made-to-order omelets. A manager's reception is also included in the evenings (weekdays only, I think) with drinks and snacks. Lunch at the in-house restaurant was pretty good, but seemed slightly pricey...not too bad, though.
You will pay just a little more to stay here (as with most Embassy hotels). But when you figure in the cost of breakfast and the evening reception, it's a good deal for what you get. Room was very clean and comfortable. Overall, I had a great experience and would definitely suggest this hotel.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are supposedly a tad bit larger.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbNChas, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton North Charleston - Airport/Hotel & Convention, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thanks for the feedback! We're delighted you enjoyed your visit. Mike will appreciate your recognition. Hope to serve you again soon. Cordially - Peter Steketee - GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed at hotel prior to cruising with a park/cruise package. Very close to airport, shopping and many chain restaurants. Rooms were large, clean and comfortable. Managers reception was staffed well without the long lines at some other embassy suites. Breakfast featured nice selection of food, excellent service. Only issue was noise from lobby on saturday night, but did not disturb unless in the living room. Plenty of parking available as well as free shuttle to port morning of cruise. Will stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erhwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbNChas, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton North Charleston - Airport/Hotel & Convention, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

We're delighted you enjoyed our cruise and snooze package! Thanks for your very nice comments - we hope you come and visit us again soon. Best regards - Peter Steketee, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed at this Embassy suites because was close to the airport and the Outlets. Nobody is willing to help, first I need it a cart for my luggage and the staff didn't know where they were, went at 855 Am for a coffee and all the machines were lock because breakfast was close and was not even 9AM. the only decent staff is the girl at the regular bar, she is from Michigan, sorry I forgot your name, that was very nice. Next time I stay at the Hilton Garden Inn next to this hotel or the Embassy in Downtown.

Room Tip: Cannot recommend one.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiaMobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbNChas, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton North Charleston - Airport/Hotel & Convention, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to comment about your recent visit. We've shared your feedback with our team. Sorry we didn't exceed your expectations during your visit - that's always our goal. Please accept our apology. We hope you'll give us another opportunity the next time you visit Charleston. Best wishes/ Peter Steketee - GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed here 4 nights while attending a conference at the Convention Center next door. The hotel is actually connected to the CC by a skybridge; very convenient in foul weather.

My experience started with a speedy pickup at the airport. Since I arrived well before check-in, I wasn't surprised that no room was available immediately. I passed a couple of quick hours just socializing with friends in the atrium. By then, even though it was still several hours early, they had a nice, quiet room ready.

The atrium is a very warm locale. I noticed groups of people there at all hours during the week, and not necessarily just at the bar or during the free happy hour. The atrium is where you can start your day with an excellent cooked to order breakfast; big omelets with all sorts of fillings (egg beaters available!), breakfast meats, hot oatmeal and grits, hot cinnamon-spiced apples (loved them), juices and beverages galore, dry cereals, breads, muffins, undersized bagels, fruits, etc. The cook and the lady clearing tables were especially cheerful and really helped your day get off to a happy start.

The suites are spacious and quiet. I was on the eighth floor and heard no noise from the street below nor from the atrium. WiFi (which for our group was complimentary) worked well, mostly at a tolerable speed. Connectivity in the early evening was a bit slow (but not so bad you couldn't work), but that's when everyone was likely checking email.

I don't understand why there isn't moderate-priced public transportation from the convention center area to the historic Charleston downtown. However, the hotel runs a shuttle as requested, charging $7.50 each way. It's a 15-20 minute trip, and you are dropped off and picked up by the Customs House, right in the middle of everything. From there, walk as much as you want, or take the free circulator buses.

Besides the restaurant in the hotel (which I didn't try), the Tangier Outlet Mall area about a half mile away has all sorts of eating options. Most are chain restaurants, but we ate at a good Japanese steak house that was worth the walk.

Room Tip: High rooms (I was on the eighth floor) get you away from atrium and street noises.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thatvideoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbNChas, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton North Charleston - Airport/Hotel & Convention, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

THANKS! Our team loved you very kind comments - we appreciate your feedback. We are delighted you ranked us 5 stars in Service, Cleanliness, Rooms and Sleep Quality. And we do hope you'll come back and visit us in the near future. Best to you - Peter Steketee - GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

One Big reason for choosing this hotel is the omelett man. His service is outstanding and is worth it all. Embassy should build on his attitude while traning new staff members. Make him VP of human resources!

The hotel is ok and now have some years, and could consider a refresh. I have some 10 years experience of staying there, so I guess I should know. People at the reception need to be more friendly and could learn from the omelett man.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton North Charleston - Airport/Hotel & Convention, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2017

Thank you for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed here while he was attending a conference in the adjoining convention center. We found all the staff to be very friendly and helpful, from check-in until we left. Our suite was very nice and clean. Although we found the bed some what too firm for us, we both were comfortable with their linens. They were well maintained and soft. The continential breakfast is superb. I have never been in a hotel with that quality and quanity of a "free breakfast". And then you have the free drink in the evening. Very nice. The elevators were prompt and rarely did we have to wait any lengh of time. IF we had been there in the summer I would have been disappointed in that there isn't an outdoor pool. I think my only complaint would be that you could hear all the noise in the lobby if you were sitting in the living room area of your suite. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GGG1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton North Charleston - Airport/Hotel & Convention, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2017

Thank you for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Charleston
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Charleston - Convention Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North...
#2 of 58 in North Charleston
332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center
Hyatt Place Charleston Airport a...
#3 of 58 in North Charleston
671 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Airport
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Air...
#4 of 58 in North Charleston
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Charleston Airport Convention Center
Crowne Plaza Charleston Airport ...
#22 of 58 in North Charleston
388 reviews
7.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Charleston Airport and Convention Center
Holiday Inn Express and Suites C...
#1 of 58 in North Charleston
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton North Charleston - Airport/Hotel & Convention? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton North Charleston - Airport/Hotel & Convention

Address: 5055 International Blvd, North Charleston, SC 29418-5963
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in North Charleston
#20 Family Hotel in North Charleston
#21 Romantic Hotel in North Charleston
Price Range: $169 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton North Charleston - Airport/Hotel & Convention 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a convenient location at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston Airport Hotel & Convention Center. Take the complimentary shuttle to Charleston International Airport just two miles away and walk to over 30 restaurants in the local neighborhood. Our Charleston, SC hotel is adjacent to the Charleston Area Convention Center and the Performing Arts Center and the Coliseum, ideal for attending an event at these venues. Just 10 minutes from Downtown Charleston, recently ranked the No. 1 City in the World by Travel + Leisure ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton North Charleston - Airport/Hotel & Convention reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Airport/ Hotel North Charleston
Embassy Suites North Charleston
North Charleston Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing