We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over all a good stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Charleston Airport
Ranked #23 of 59 Hotels in North Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Over all a good stay!”
Reviewed March 22, 2008

We stayed in the Hotel March 14-17 and found this hotel close to I26 and easy to find.We enjoyed our stay.The best points were great clean room with 2 bed/ 2bath suite at a good rate, wonderful beds, good location and easy to get to Mount Pleasent or down town Charlestion, close to shopping and a very good free breakfast.
Bad points area not the best or quietest.Traffic noies are loud and airport traffic very loud.The rooms walls are thin and you can hear other people comming and going easly.Lots of noise on floors above also with people running.Even with all the noise we enjoyed our stay and all the empoyees were very nice and helpful.

  • Liked — location,easy to find, great beds, suites with 2 bedrooms, good free breakfast.
  • Disliked — area traffic noise and airport noise and noise in hotel.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KETTERMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    61
    35
    13
    12
See reviews for
91
67
15
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2008

The Residence Inn was the best value on a Friday night when it was tough to find a room anywhere close to the city. The hotel itself is not in the nicest neighborhood on one side but is close to shopping and the coliseum on the other side (this created a challenge for transportation because of multiple events occurring that night). The room was very nice, though colors were kind of dark and depressing and there were a few stains here and there. The breakfast was excellent with a lot of variety in terms of healthy and traditional items.

The biggest problem was the noise--I heard (and sometimes felt) every scream, door slam, and loud conversation nearby, which was a problem with school children in the hotel for an event. Globemaster airplanes from the nearby base (which happen to be VERY loud) happened to be doing drills when there was any daylight, the refrigerator rattled, and there was occasionally other random noise in the bedroom which made it tough to concentrate.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Storm27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2008

Based on the reviews on this site I decided to stay here for a long weekend. The hotel was very conviently located to the major highways here. We decided to stay here instead of in the historical area so we could bring our dog. We felt the $100 pet cleaning fee to be pretty steep. Other than that, we were very happy with our stay. The rooms were nice and the staff very friendly. The breakfast could be of slightly higher quality in terms of flavor, but that is a very minor complaint.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank 9653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
America
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2007

I went on a trip with my spouse, at check in the price of the room was changed to a higher rate than posted. The room had an odor to it, so did the next room so we took the first room. Later upon checking in we found out the room had a stain on the floor, and curtains. No other rooms were left at this time, they sent someone the next day to spot steam clean carpet, and remove and clean curtains. Upon request for towels they sent up dirty towels that smelled. They towed our car, after calling and me telling them I was on my way. Upon other things, so at check out they gave us a free night, since it was not worth the trip back we asked to turn in the night then. No one was on hand so we checked out. Then had to return after approval by hotel. The room they gave us next the television had fire coming from it, even after it was unplugged. We were then sent to another room. The person at check out told me to leave, but requested my husband stay. I requested to talk to a manager and so did he. One never came out, but sent a bag of items to our table. We never did get that free night, nor talked to the manager.

  • Liked — Near shopping and airport, plus other hotels near by incase you need to move.
  • Disliked — Dirty towels, and rooms with pet stains that smelled. They also towed our auot, plus others.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Customer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2007

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite. By we, I mean 2 adults (not related) 2 teenage girls and 2 teenage boys. There was ample space and bedding to accomodate all of us with the appropriate amount of privacy. The queen size bed I slept on with my teenage daughter was one of the more comfortable beds that I have ever slept on!! The room was clean and oh so convenient to the civic center where we attended a concert. We drove 6 hours for the concert and we couldn't have been happier with our room. I will say that the coffee cups could have used another run through the dishwasher and that is the only negative thing I can say. We will definitely stay here again!!

  • Liked — the mattress and the space
  • Disliked — A few dishes were slightly dirty
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank patcosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2007

Can't say enough good things about this property. It's extremely convenient to the North Charleston Convention Center/Coliseum. You can even walk to the Convention Center or Coliseum and save that parking fee. Manager's reception Mon-Thurs. was delicious and menu varied each night. Wonderful HOT breakfast each morning with scrambled eggs, waffles, oatmeal, fruit, sausage, breads, juices, etc., etc. Very conveneint to brand new Tanger Outlet center and countless restaurants/businesses/Wal-Mart. The room was very clean and well-appointed. Full kitchen is a plus if you're there for several days. Very helpful front-desk personnel. One night I overcooked my microwave popcorn and set off the smoke detector. The front desk called within seconds to check on me. Beds were SO comfy with lots of pillows. My unit had 2 queen beds and a sleeper sofa, 2 TVs and roomy bathroom. Vanity was outside the bathroom so someone can shower while someone else shaves, etc.

  • Liked — Roominess and service
  • Disliked — Business center
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank noogatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2006

I can't say enough good things about this property! It is located perfectly for any destination in the Charleston area, although you will need a car. (Easy and fast commute into downtown and we had no problem finding parking.) The exterior is attractively done to give it a Charleston feel with alternating colors resembling row houses. The lobby is attractive. The staff is SUPERIOR in terms of friendliness and professionalism. It has a fantastic pool and hot tub with lovely wooden outdoor furniture and a barbeque for grilling. It even has a basketball court - which we'd never seen before. The rooms are spacious and attractive with a 'full kitchen" (minus an oven), iron and board, hairdryer, 2 TV's, desk, dining table, etc. The bed was very comfortable and the room very clean. The towels were soft and large. The shower had lots of pressure. The complimentary breakfast buffet is the best we've ever seen, with something for everyone. They even have a little grocery store by the front desk if you need something. The only negatives were it was a bit of a walk from the elevator to our room and we sometimes got lost; the door to the bathroom was a little tight against the toilet; and the bed was too close to the sink to use the large overhead light if someone was sleeping. But really, I'm nitpicking here! Unless you are looking for an historic inn "experience" downtown, you won't find a better deal in the Charleston area. We paid $99 a night through Orbitz.

***While in Charleston, be sure to do the Ft. Sumter boat tour from Patriots Point in Mt. Pleasant. You get a closeup view of the USS Yorktown and other vessels (and can take tours of those, if you like), you get a great and relaxing boat ride while viewing the beautiful new bridge and downtown Charleston from the harbor and a hear a very interesting history lesson from the excellent park rangers to boot. Best $14 you'll ever spend!***

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
8 Thank choosevegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Charleston hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center
Hyatt Place Charleston Airport a...
#2 of 59 in North Charleston
654 reviews
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites Charleston Airport / Convention Center
Home2 Suites Charleston Airport ...
#11 of 59 in North Charleston
809 reviews
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charleston Airport / Conv. Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charle...
#8 of 59 in North Charleston
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Airport
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Air...
#4 of 59 in North Charleston
918 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Charleston Airport and Convention Center
Holiday Inn Express and Suites C...
#1 of 59 in North Charleston
447 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard North Charleston Airport/Coliseum
Courtyard North Charleston Airpo...
#28 of 59 in North Charleston
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Charleston Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charleston Airport

Property: Residence Inn Charleston Airport
Address: 5035 International Blvd, North Charleston, SC 29418-5963
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in North Charleston
#19 Romantic Hotel in North Charleston
#20 Business Hotel in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charleston Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Residence Inn by Marriott - Charleston Airport welcomes you to the beautiful city of Charleston. Located minutes from the Charleston Airport, Charleston Convention Center/Performing Arts Center, Boeing, Charleston Air Force Base, Naval Weapons Station, FLETC, Blackbaud, Port of Charleston, historic downtown Charleston, and many other exciting attractions. Our 150 suites offer separate living and sleeping areas, plenty of space for relaxing, entertaining or meetings and a fully equipped kitchen with refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. Start your day with a complimentary breakfast in our gatehouse, and join us for our weekday evening hospitality hour. Take advantage of our outdoor pool and hot tub, fitness center, and sport court. We look forward to seeing you throughout the spring season! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Residence Inn Charleston Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott - Charleston Airport Hotel North Charleston
Residence Inn North Charleston
North Charleston Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing