We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Service-great no-frills stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Coliseum
Ranked #27 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2014

What a great experience! We were looking for a hotel in Charleston that was convenient to downtown that wouldn't cost us our first born. The owners are wonderful people, and although we were missing a couple of little necessities from our room (a microwave and coffee maker) we didn't mind at all. The office had was literally a couple of doors away and had fresh coffee available 24/7. We were also able to access the microwave in the guest room. (We were told these were on order and not yet available in every room. I'm sure if we had insisted they would have been switched to another room). Rooms are freshly painted and carpeted, and the furniture looked brand new. Literally everything worked, we even had an extra towel or two. The location was great; just off of I-26 with plenty of restaurants nearby. Several restaurants, including a Waffle House just next door, are within walking distance. Although we didn't go there the Tanger Outlets are less than a mile away. The ride into downtown Charleston literally took 15 minutes during off-peak hours. If you're looking for a swanky room, you'd probably be disappointed, but for the money this place is a good choice. Pay no attention to reviews from a year or so ago, I can assure you a lot has changed.

Room Tip: IIf you're a light sleeper, ask for a room in the back of the hotel. The highway noise is a tad...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sh00bie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge Coliseum
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 130 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2014

The carpet & furniture looked brand new. The receptionist was very nice & chatty. Our stay was short but nice. The bed was comfy, it would have been nice to have coffee in room but everything else was nice. It is conveniently located, there is a Waffle House in front and McDonald's across the street. It's a great value for a quick stop over.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

This hotel is great. It's not perfect and definitely not fancy, but for the price I was very satisfied. It's very close to the Coliseum which is where we were headed. There are also tons of restaurants nearby. There is a huge shopping center with a Walmart less than two miles away. It's fairly noisy with a highway and airport and several other hotels nearby, but I put the room heating and air unit on "constant fan" which helped a lot. The only negative was that the bed wasn't very comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ncteacher75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

This hotel was such a surprise!!! I had never stayed at an Econolodge before, never even inquired about one. My friend and I were planning a trip to Charleston and looking for accomodations, we found a "fancier" hotel with reasonable rates and I almost booked it until I read the reviews, which were horrible. On the same website that had those reviews, I found reviews for this Econolodge, and we decided to try it!! We were not dissapointed! The room was very clean, it had everything we needed! This hotel is less than 10 minutes from downtown Charleston, near lots of food and an outlet mall! I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kimshinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We knew we were getting into the Charleston airport late on a Friday night, so even though we are only two hours from the airport, we decided to book a room at the Econo Lodge based on Trip Advisor reviews. Just want to say that the reviews are spot on. This is a clean, comfortable, no frills hotel. This is not your place to stay for an extended period as there are no coffee makers, no hair dryers and not even kleenex boxes in the rooms. However, when we were two hours late getting in, it was the perfect place to crash for the night. Comfortable bed and pleasant staff, even after midnight! The area is safe and the hotel is next door to a Waffle House. The place appears to have been renovated- even the carpet looked clean. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Very friendly staff that went out of their way to help. We had to leave very early the next day and would miss the breakfast, so they gave us some food to take with us to our room when we check in! The room was very nice and clean. and even had a great view. Did I mention the rate was very reasonable? I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xianrocker2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We went away for my birthday to SC and everything was well other than the hotel. TIP dont book one particular hotel for your whole trip. That was a big mistake we did. No coffee make in room, or hair dryer. Are they renovating this 47 room hotel for last three years? Comments from the past and today say they are under renovation. First night we had a room next to where there water heater was kept. It made lots of noise and the 2nd day we were transferred to another room. I am not looking for luxury. This is not worth for the money. Very noisy area. The door locks were broken and the doors were not properly fixed.

Room Tip: Book the first night in advance and the others while you are there.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sharaz_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Charleston hotels
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Convention Center
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Con...
#28 of 58 in North Charleston
62 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Coliseum
Quality Inn Coliseum
#46 of 58 in North Charleston
125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Airport / Coliseum
Hampton Inn Charleston - Airport...
#25 of 58 in North Charleston
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston Airport
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston ...
#17 of 58 in North Charleston
89 reviews
5.2 mi away
Econo Lodge North
Econo Lodge North
#37 of 58 in North Charleston
237 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard North Charleston Airport/Coliseum
Courtyard North Charleston Airpo...
#29 of 58 in North Charleston
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Coliseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Coliseum

Address: 4725 Saul White Blvd, North Charleston, SC 29418-7923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in North Charleston
#18 Romantic Hotel in North Charleston
#22 Business Hotel in North Charleston
Price Range: $80 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge Coliseum 1.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Coliseum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econolodge North Charleston
North Charleston Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge North Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing