We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newly renovated.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Coliseum
Ranked #27 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
115 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Newly renovated.”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel was a pleasure after staying in a couple of places that had terrible musk and mold. This property was extremely clean. Location was good. Only problem for me is that I prefer a refridgerator in the room and breakfast left much to be desired. Other than that It was fine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 123susan456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    52
    11
    1
    5
See reviews for
28
42
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I stayed here for a few days when I came to visit Charleston, and this place was great. It's only minutes from the airport, an outlet, and restaurants, and downtown is only 10-15 min. away. Also, there's a waffle house and two gas stations right in front of the hotel so it was very convenient. There was free WiFi in the rooms, and good breakfast in the office. The staff was also great, they were very nice and helped me pick out nearby restaurants, and even gave me a coupon. I didn't have any problems, this was a great place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt P, Manager at Econo Lodge Coliseum, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

If you are looking for a low cost hotel near the airport, this is the place. The rooms are recently redone, the bed was very good, the front desk was very friendly and really helpful, it's very close to the airport and the price is good. It's not plush, but it gets great marks in my book.

Room Tip: Not sure if all the rooms have been redecorated. Be sure to ask for one that is newly done.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JonnaLee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt P, Manager at Econo Lodge Coliseum, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylors, South Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We checked into Econo Lodge after checking out early from another motel in North Charleston. Stayed here 2 nights in early May 2013. We chose this place because of the many reviews that said it had been recently renovated. We were pleased with our room that had a single king-size bed on the ground-floor. The bathroom fixtures, decor, and furniture were modern and stylish. The room did have a bit of a "new carpet smell" but it wasn't as noticeable after a while.

The staff was very helpful. We were searching hotels on Travelocity when we called Econo Lodge to ask a question. The staff member said he would match the price on the Web site without us having to go through the process online. Another staff member was very helpful in recommending restaurants in Charleston and offering us coupons. This motel also had free Wi-fi unlike the place we checked out of that made you pay every day.

It's not too fancy, but it was certainly an upgrade from where we had checked out the night before. The renovations have added a lot, I think. The location is only about 15 minutes from Charleston.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WitWiCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt P, Manager at Econo Lodge Coliseum, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mims, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Check in at 5 PM was easy. Check out at 5 AM was impossible because no one was at the front desk. Tried knocking on door and ringing door bell but no one to check you out.

This hotel had some safety issues. No fire extinguishers in the fire boxes in the corridors.
See picture.

Also another picture shows a potentially unsafe ice machine. Open the chute and no scoop for the ice. Also anyone can pour anything on the ice, including bleach, poison, dirty hands, broken glass, etc...that is if you can climb the stairs with all the cigarette butts on the staircase. Try some hotel ice at your own risk.

The morning we woke up we had no TV to watch. Seems the cable was out or something. Also not Internet access. The room had no alarm clock radio so no music and no alarm to wake you up. We never got the wake up call we asked for.

The website advertises a frig, microwave and coffee pot in each and every room. Ours had none of these, so NO COFFEE in the morning.

The front desk clerk said they remodeled the rooms and had completed remodeling about two months ago. Yet still they had the room numbers taped to the windows of the rooms. Picture attached showing this.

You would think after two months they could screw the room number plate into the door or at least glue it to the door. Instead of that, anyone can change the room numbers by just peeling the tape and placing the room numbers anywhere they want.

Our room looked to have new carpeting, New faucet in sink. New shower wall liner. Freshly painted room. So it does have some nice points.

This hotel advertises amenity after amenity yet fails, over and over again to provide what they advertise.

If you like a bed that the metal springs poke you as you try to sleep, No working TV. No WIFI. No radio or clock. No frig. No microwave. No coffee pot. If this is what you like, then stay here. We prefer a comfortable, secure and clean room. And this Econo Lodge FAILED on all counts

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt P, Manager at Econo Lodge Coliseum, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This report comes shortly after our check in. This motel we were just informed had undergone room renovations about one month ago. But be advised there is still plenty to go. Seems the 41 rooms here are missing many of the amenities the hotel advertises they have. Like only 10 of the double beds have refrigerators. Our room has no frig. We also have NO microwave. NO coffee pot. and NO alarm clock or clock radio. The ice machine is on the second floor. So if you cannot climb stairs and your room, like ours, has no frig; good luck.

You can see the motel from the main road but getting to it took us through a gas station and cut across a Waffle House parking lot before we found the motel parking.

Breakfast area is in the lobby. There are two tables. We hear they offer coffee, toast and sometimes fresh fruit. If you want food, Waffle House is next door and McDonalds is across the street.

Need to tell you about the bed we have. Feels so hard. Like sleeping on a hard box spring.

This partially furnished motel does not come close to the value for what we paid. Our advice is if this was the only motel in this area with available rooms; do yourself a favor and keep looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedTraveler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Coliseum, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed 4 nights the end of April. Since everything is recently renovated, the rooms are clean, no roaches or other bugs, very up to date, service could not have been better and the owners really make you feel welcome. Slight issue with the TV which was taken care of within an hour of notifying the front desk. Absolutely no complaints. Would definitely stay there again.

Tanger Outlets and many restaurants nearby and only a few minutes drive to downtown Charleston. Thank you for a great place to stay at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whitehorsehills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Coliseum, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Charleston hotels
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Convention Center
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Con...
#28 of 58 in North Charleston
57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Airport / Coliseum
Hampton Inn Charleston - Airport...
#25 of 58 in North Charleston
599 reviews
5.2 mi away
Econo Lodge North
Econo Lodge North
#35 of 58 in North Charleston
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Coliseum
Quality Inn Coliseum
#42 of 58 in North Charleston
121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Charleston - Airport
Extended Stay America - Charlest...
#34 of 58 in North Charleston
100 reviews
0.2 mi away
North Charleston Inn
North Charleston Inn
#45 of 58 in North Charleston
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Coliseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Coliseum

Property: Econo Lodge Coliseum
Address: 4725 Saul White Blvd, North Charleston, SC 29418-7923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in North Charleston
#22 Business Hotel in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge Coliseum 1.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Coliseum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econolodge North Charleston
North Charleston Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge North Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing