We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently flawless.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard
Ranked #12 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Consistently flawless.....”
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Atleast twice a month my husband has to travel from savannah to n Charleston for business. This last time, my son and I went along to keep him company. I can now see why he stays here every time he comes into town.
As an interior designer ...I am ultra sensitive to outdated rundown decor..... But I would definitely give this a thumbs up. The rooms were large, clean, updated ( granite counter tops), and smelled great. I actually did not get that icky feeling when I got into bed.....that if i got the black light out...I would be grossed out...like I have felt at a lot of other places.
They use bright white duvet covers and nice white sheets that are laundered everyday.
Free breakfast was available from 6 to 9 and it was awesome. They had sausage biscuits and other hot foods.... plus the usual waffles and toast. Loads of fresh fruit and yogurt for the taking.
The pool was small... But nice and clean. I wouldn't go there if I was looking for a "resort feel" or wanted to hang at the pool all day but its a great place for an overnight or two or three.
Even their public restrooms had some listerine and Dixie cups available for you to freshen up after a day of travel... How nice!
My husband will be back here next week. I now understand why he is loyal to this wynngate in north Charleston. It's a very nice place to stay !! :)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GJabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lbrent, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful comments on our staff and facility. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you on your next trip to the Charleston area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    935
    419
    129
    54
    27
See reviews for
688
412
74
263
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

First time staying at a Wyndam and we were very pleased. It was clean and the staff were all very nice. The breakfast was excellent but the food area was a little small and it was crowded at certain times in the morning. Our only complaint was the water pressure in our shower was very low and they didn't have bags in our trash cans. It was just a short drive to downtown Charleston and there were plenty of restaurants and stores close by. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lbrent, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful comments on our staff and facility. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you on your next trip to the Charleston area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Pros
Wonderful, kind staff. We have spoken to several people so far and we are amazed by their excellent service. Patty at the front desk is a sweet lady that knows a lot about the city and where to go
Free breakfast daily
Huge rooms
Close to Main Street with restaurants and grocery store
Free kids bed upon request
Bathroom shower is fantastic. Great water pressure, spacious not like those regular rectangle tubs, but really nice wide tub
Beds are so comfortable
Free parking

Cons
The refrigerate cools just a little more than room temperate even at the highest 7 level
Huge stains on carpet when you walk in
Pillows are small... Awkward for a large king bed and they are very uncomfortable
A little highway noise
35 minutes from Main Street and 45 minutes from folley beach. There honestly isn't much tourist things nearby.

Overall
We are having a good time. The experience is great. We would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melodieheft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lbrent, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful comments on our staff and facility. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you on your next trip to the Charleston area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Charleston hotels
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston North
Hampton Inn Charleston North
#4 of 58 in North Charleston
531 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hyatt Place North Charleston
Hyatt Place North Charleston
#5 of 58 in North Charleston
687 reviews
3.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate
SpringHill Suites Charleston Nor...
#15 of 58 in North Charleston
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Charleston-University Blvd
Hampton Inn & Suites North Charl...
#10 of 58 in North Charleston
503 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston North
Holiday Inn Express Charleston N...
#21 of 58 in North Charleston
247 reviews
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and S...
#9 of 58 in North Charleston
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard
Address: 9280 University Blvd, I-26 & SC 78, North Charleston, SC 29406-9187
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in North Charleston
#6 Romantic Hotel in North Charleston
#10 Family Hotel in North Charleston
#11 Business Hotel in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful hotel is conveniently in the quiet western nook on the Charleston Southern University campus. Our Wingate by Wyndham provides exceptional customer service, luxurious guestrooms, 2000 sq. ft. of flexible meeting space, and an overall astounding facility. We are prepared to meet the needs of both corporate and leisure audiences. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard Hotel North Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing