We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent stay, decent location, high quality staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard
Ranked #11 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
85 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Decent stay, decent location, high quality staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

I don't normally stay at Wyndham properties, but this was a cheap buy with frequent flier miles. It was actually a little better than I expected - seemed newer, and the site is really nice on the edge of the manicured lawns of the University. It made for a comfortable, safe place to go for a run. Decor, finishes, and fixtures are not boutique-y, but they are tasteful, and everything was clean; plus it's a non-smoking property.

Wear and tear seems to be quickly setting in, so if management doesn't keep up it's going to deteriorate quickly. Cracks in the tile make mildew incubators, the TV remote buttons are barely working, lots of channels of static, and stains in the carpet are hard to ignore.

Breakfast is the usual array of carbs and processed "food," blah at best, but I don't have high expectations from American properties in the breakfast department.

Staff was excellent, and that's really key to me. I had called in the morning to inquire about early check-in, and I was given specific information about my options. When I arrived there wasn't record that the stay was pre-paid, but [wish I could remember her name!] was so helpful sorting it out.

There were a lot of recreational travelers and families there. I was on business, and the property was comfortable and functional for that... just had to tolerate hearing kids running up and down the halls and jumping off of beds for a while. Had it continued, I had confidence that a quick call to the front desk would have resolved it.

Based on this stay I wouldn't be so quick to rule out Wingates for future travel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MLeopards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lbrent, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful comments on our staff and facility. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you on your next trip to the Charleston area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    897
    388
    116
    45
    24
See reviews for
643
385
68
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Charlesto
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

I was disappointed when I was in the bathroom. It appeared to have mold around the soap dishes in the shower and some dark areas (mold looking) around the tub. Otherwise all was well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lbrent, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful comments on our staff and facility. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you on your next trip to the Charleston area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarks Hill
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

The hotel was awesome and breakfast was great too. We checked in and out wih no problems after reserving last minute on wyndham rewards.com. Hot tub amazing and open late!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Gaige G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lbrent, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful comments on our staff and facility. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you on your next trip to the Charleston area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

A wonderful hotel located on the campus of Charleston Southern University.
Easy access to the interstate without the noise. Made a great base to explore the area from.
The only complaint my wife had was she didn't like the eggs!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank williamsburg2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lbrent, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful comments on our staff and facility. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you on your next trip to the Charleston area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Charleston
3.8 mi away
Hyatt Place North Charleston
Hyatt Place North Charleston
#4 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
3.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate
SpringHill Suites Charleston Nor...
#14 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Charleston-University Blvd
Hampton Inn & Suites North Charl...
#6 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston North
Hampton Inn Charleston North
#8 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
13.5 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston North
Holiday Inn Express Charleston N...
#19 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard
Address: 9280 University Blvd, I-26 & SC 78, North Charleston, SC 29406-9187
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in North Charleston
#6 Romantic Hotel in North Charleston
#10 Family Hotel in North Charleston
#11 Business Hotel in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful hotel is conveniently in the quiet western nook on the Charleston Southern University campus. Our Wingate by Wyndham provides exceptional customer service, luxurious guestrooms, 2000 sq. ft. of flexible meeting space, and an overall astounding facility. We are prepared to meet the needs of both corporate and leisure audiences. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard Hotel North Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing