We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My first stay at Wyngate” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard
Ranked #11 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    897
    388
    116
    45
    24
See reviews for
643
385
68
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Mary, MO
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We spent the week vacationing in the Charleston area and stayed at this awesome Wingate. The staff was so friendly and helpful. They made some spot on recommedations on local restaurants. The room was large and extremely clean and comfortable. This hotel is located on the corner of the Charleston Southern University and about 20 minutes from downtown Charleston. The hotel common areas and exterior were beautifully kept. The breakfast was very good with an excellent selection. We could not have been happier with our stay. We highly recommend this property to anyone visiting the Charleston area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank unclebuck1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHARLESTONWINGATEDOS, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for staying at Charleston Southern University’s Wingate by Wyndham. We are grateful you took the time to share your experience. We appreciate your recommendation and we are so happy you enjoyed yourself and the complimentary breakfast. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Excellent stay at Wingate by Wyndham. Large, clean comfortable room. Breakfast a nice addition. Friendly, helpful staff. Free WiFi and parking. Great location--about 15-20 minutes to downtown Charleston. Would definately recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susank0583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHARLESTONWINGATEDOS, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for staying at Charleston Southern University’s Wingate by Wyndham. We are grateful you took the time to share your experience. We appreciate your recommendation and we are glad you enjoyed yourself. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bountiful, Utah
Level Contributor
149 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

I was only in this hotel for a couple of hours. About an hour after I checked in I had a large roach/palmetto bug running along the floor board. I chased it down and killed it and called the front desk. I was told that they'd have someone spray the room the next morning. I requested a new room. I was moved to the other end of the hotel on the same floor. I checked the room, moved my stuff and when I opened the fridge door two roaches ran out from under the fridge. I couldn't stay there. I checked out at about 11:30 PM and found another hotel. The staff was apologetic and cancelled the reservation without issue.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foto_monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHARLESTONWINGATEDOS, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for the review of our hotel on Tripadvisor! Any feedback we receive is greatly appreciated. I apologize about the unique experience at our hotel. As you can see from our reviews this is an isolated incident and does not happen at this hotel. We hope you will read some of the other reviews and consider giving us another chance the next time you are in Charleston. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are sorry for any inconveniences this may have caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Charleston
3.8 mi away
Hyatt Place North Charleston
Hyatt Place North Charleston
#4 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
3.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate
SpringHill Suites Charleston Nor...
#14 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Charleston-University Blvd
Hampton Inn & Suites North Charl...
#6 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston North
Hampton Inn Charleston North
#8 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
13.5 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston North
Holiday Inn Express Charleston N...
#19 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard
Address: 9280 University Blvd, I-26 & SC 78, North Charleston, SC 29406-9187
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in North Charleston
#6 Romantic Hotel in North Charleston
#10 Family Hotel in North Charleston
#11 Business Hotel in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful hotel is conveniently in the quiet western nook on the Charleston Southern University campus. Our Wingate by Wyndham provides exceptional customer service, luxurious guestrooms, 2000 sq. ft. of flexible meeting space, and an overall astounding facility. We are prepared to meet the needs of both corporate and leisure audiences. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard Hotel North Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing