We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good place to stay”
Review of Aloft Charleston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aloft Charleston
Ranked #33 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Athens, Alabama
Level Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A good place to stay”
Reviewed November 26, 2011

We got this hotel off Priceline for $50 and I will tell you I think it is a steal at that price. It is definitely gear toward a younger crowd but my wife and enjoyed our one night stay. The rooms are small but had everything you needed, small refrigerator and microwave etc… Even came with complimentary water in the room and as you know a lot of hotels try to steal $5 a bottle for this. They have a nice small bar with pool table. We had a couple of drinks and they were reasonably priced. Location is pretty good they next to the Tanger outlets and there was plenty of restaurants real close. As for some other comments about pets I did not see any or hear any during our stay. I did see and hear airplanes that flew directly over the hotel but it was not close enough to be a distraction. Overall this was a good stay and we would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3and4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    125
    119
    59
    59
See reviews for
113
145
44
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level Contributor
119 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

This hotel, while geared toward younger guests, notheless offered very well appointed rooms. The was a very upscale feel to the room as we entered to find the lights on and the television playing soft jazz music on a welcome channel. The bed was very comfortable and it was very easy to relax in this setting. The only complaint I had was that there were several small drops of what appeared to be dried blood on the comforter that was probably from a freshly shaved chin. I was also a bit disappointed by the fact that in an age of free continental breakfasts, Aloft charges $5.00 for it. Otherwise, everything was great.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dunk145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

I stay here when I visit my father in South Carolina. if you are looking for a basic and very clean hotel with friendly staff, this is the place! The fitness center is small but clean. it shas all you need. Haven't used the indoor pool, but it seems clean, too. The decor throughout is trendy/modern. Rooms are very basic but comfy beds and hot showers. Free Wi-Fi. This place doesn't nickel and dime you to death. I definitely recommend it over the other hotels saturating the airport area.

Room Tip: Try to get one looking over the main road if possible. The parking lot in the back leaves a bit to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpmconsulting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Co
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Differant type of hotel. Staff very friendly. Freddie the van driver was most helpful, Took us to the airport to pick a car and when we turned in the car he can back to pick us up. Also told us where the good resturants were and drove us to one and picked us up when we were done, when we did not have a car that night. Woman that cook the the morning buffet was very nice and keep the buffet very full. Not a lot of food but every thing you wanted in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChuckDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, NC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Wanted to use some of my SPG points for a weekend get-a-way. Aloft is a place I had never seen before. It was new and different. It was a nice hotel, and was convenient to shopping. Only one drawback was the bed was very uncomfortable. Didnt sleep at all the first night, and only slept a little the second night. I'm not too thrilled that pets are allowed but maybe they confine them to just one section of the hotel. We stayed on the 5th floor, didnt see any pets there and didnt hardly hear the aircraft flying overhead, it was pretty quiet for being in the flight path.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trophy98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelosu, General Manager at Aloft Charleston, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Dear Trophy98,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us at Aloft Charleston Airport & Convention Center. We value all feedback as it allows us to continually improve.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our modern, fresh and different design approach. I am sorry you did not enjoy our Aloft rest and relaxation bed and if we had known while you were here, we could have suggested adding a feather down mattress topper to make you more comfortable. We strive to achieve excellent customer service for all of our guests.

Again, thank you for comments and we look forward to having you return when your travels bring you back to the Charleston area.

Kind regards,

Joel O'Sullivan
General Manager
Aloft Charleston Airport & Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

The good: the bed was comfy and the staff was friendly. The bad: everything else. Upon arrival you can walk in and see people swimming in the pool, no privacy from the lobby and bar to the outdoor area. The elevators had drapes inside that were torn and falling down. Our room was pretty bad. The ceiling is concrete and looks like its going to fall in. The paint on the walls was extremely chipped. We had a king room with a frosted glass window from the shower to the bedroom...extremely inappropriate for families if they are in the double bed rooms too!!! The area around this window was leaking so the wall was moldy. The bathroom pocket door is covered with a floor to ceiling mirror and it was cracked the entire length. The closet is only half size and you cant fit your suitcase in it or hang a full length garment. The bed only had 2 standard pillows for the king bed. The worst was the planes flying over, felt like they were going to land in our room! When we tried to call the front desk, the phones just gave a busy signal no matter what button you pushed so we had to use our cell phone to call the front desk! The smell around the entire hotel aiport area was terrible too. There are so many other hotels in that area - choose something else besides Aloft.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheeren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesup, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

I am a frequent guest of the Aloft in Jacksonville, FL, and LOVE it. When I planned my trip to Charleston, SC, I was confident and excited about staying at the Aloft near the airport. BIG MISTAKE. I now know that all Alofts are not the same.
From the minute we walked in, it was one disappointment after another. There were two very young and very inexperienced girls at the front desk. We got to our room and discovered it to be handicap accessible for some reason. We really should have taken the time right then to get a different room, but we didn't. The beds were so low to the ground that it was literally difficult to get up and down. The room was not clean and fresh like the ones in Jacksonville. The pillows were small and lumpy. There were only two towels and no blow dryer. The shades would not completely cover the windows, so we could not get that level of darkness that makes an afternoon nap so much better. The water pressure was almost nonexistent, so shower time was not pleasant. Last, but certainly not least, the walls are paper-thin. On our last night there we were awoken a drunken fight between the couple to our right. It appears that she did something while they were out that upset him to the point of a shoving match. We were privy to the continued argument when they got home. Endless, "You shut up", "No, you shut up" (laced with F-bombs) went on and on and on. When we finally did get to sleep, we were again awoken by the happy and ready to start the day kids on the right.
Let me finish by saying that I have never written a review for anything, but felt that this was a good time for me to share and possibly keep another Aloft-lover from making the same mistake.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Charleston hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Convention Center
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Con...
#27 of 58 in North Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Charleston - Convention Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North...
#2 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center
Hyatt Place Charleston Airport a...
#5 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Airport
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Air...
#8 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Charleston Airport and Convention Center
Holiday Inn Express and Suites C...
#1 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston Airport/Convention Center
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlesto...
#3 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Charleston

Property: Aloft Charleston
Address: 4875 Tanger Outlet Blvd, North Charleston, SC 29418-6950
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Charleston 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the finer things, choose the Aloft Charleston - Experience true southern hospitality at its best. Drop by the WXYZ Bar to mix and mingle with some of our A Lister guests! Located just minutes from the historic district, shopping, dining,and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aloft Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Charleston Airport Hotel North Charleston
Aloft Charleston Airport And Convention Center
Aloft North Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing