We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay and a wonderful host!!!”
Review of Lookaway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lookaway Inn
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“Fantastic stay and a wonderful host!!!”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We absolutely enjoyed our stay at this beautiful hotel. The rooms are stunning, the location out-standing and the hospitality of our host, Sammy O´Cain, was extraordinary. He made us feel like at home. We warmly recommend this place and would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrickPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LookawayManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Lookaway Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you so very much for taking the time to post such a gracious review! You both are always welcome here, and I hope you will visit us again some day. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    16
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
23
39
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This Inn is very quaint and elegant. They make you feel right at home here and the rooms are very open and beautiful interior. The only problem I seem to have was at night the air was shut off or down and the room became very hot and humid. Overall though this is a place where i would stay again, if and when I am in the area.

Room Tip: Very close to downtown Augusta and to varies landmarks
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRAY75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LookawayManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Lookaway Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words as well as for your feedback regarding the heat and humidity. We would have been happy to correct this for you had we been made aware of the problem, and I hope you will come stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahlonega, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Though I now live in Dahlonega, a paradise and tourist Mecca, I return home to the Augusta area often for Doctor and Dental care and to visit many friends in the area. I was first at Lookaway in 1999 when our family rented both buildings for my brother, Randy's wedding. I now ALWAYS stay at Lookaway or Rosemary Inn when I come to the area. The spiritual nature of the buildings, like Greek Temples with an overlay of Southern Victorian decor is kinda like being in a World Heritage Site, but one dedicated to fun and pleasure. My brother, Donn, and I, both retired French Chefs, took two rooms upstairs, one had a veranda, and we began to lay out fine foods and open our wines for our Augusta Christmas Party and our many party guests. A fine time was had for two days and nights as our many guests came by to party and marvel at the famous old inn. Our hosts, Sammy was quite attentive and Kelly and Diana were their usual charming selves and interested in maximizing our good experience...We will return again and again, as we have done for two years now since Kelly and Diana have taken over the site. There is no experience like staying here in any season...Thanks y'all, we'll be back in the Spring...

Room Tip: There is ONE veranda room upstairs...but many downstairs. If you travel there frequently, try both l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LookawayManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Lookaway Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
We are always happy when our guests take time from their busy schedules to post a review here. Thank you so much! All the best, and see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

This was our second stay at Lookaway Inn. The room was very clean, and we appreciated that extra towels, blankets, & pillows were in the room without having to call for them. The coffee was plentiful. :-) The only thing that would make Lookaway better might be including the continental breakfast, or even a full breakfast option, with the room. For those with gluten-intolerance, pastries aren't a great idea. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trishsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LookawayManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Lookaway Inn, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for your kind and generous review, it is much appreciated! Thank you also for being one of our growing number of returning guests. As we strive to make a nice experience even better, your comments and suggestions continue to help make this possible. All the best to you, and, until next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed December 22, 2012

LookAway Inn's service, staff, cleanliness was exceptional but the property/rooms/furnishings were extraordinary! My husband, son and I stayed in the PrimRose room because it had two queen beds. It was spacious as well with a desk, two chairs and table in addition to the armoire so we were very comfortable. The private outside porch was quite a delightful surprise! We had to meet some family members early one morning so requested coffee in our room which was provided with some pastries...perfect to get us on the road quickly. If you want more than another boring hotel room, you will not be disappointed with Lookaway Inn!

Room Tip: Pictures of the rooms on the website are very accurate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giavonni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LookawayManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Lookaway Inn, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your nice comments here on TripAdvisor! We appreciate your feedback, especially in respect to the accuracy of our website's room photos. Thanks again, and I hope we will see you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We came here for the Ironman 70.3 event in September and had a great time in Augusta. We arrived on time and were greeted by the owner himself. The place itself is quiet and clean. Yes, the TV's were small, but we were not there to watch TV so it didn't matter. We requested a fridge in our room and they were accommodating at no extra charge. We also got engaged that weekend during the race which made the trip even better. I would go back here in a heartbeat, don't let a few negative reviews turn you away, this place is beautiful and the staff are super sweet!!!

Room Tip: We had the room closest to the lobby on first floor, very nice room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LookawayManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Lookaway Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your warm and wonderful review of Lookaway Inn, and CONGRATS on your engagement! Hope to see you back here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is an amazing facility run by incredible people. Sammy is a wonderful host and very passionate about his Inn. The house is breathtaking, the view over the river beautiful and the rooms are outstanding. We really enjoyed our stay there this last weekend and will be going back again soon. If your going to Augusta, this is THE place to stay. That is of course unless you stay in the Rosemary Inn, the sister property right next door. That is just exquisite!

Room Tip: There is no bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CliveMaclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LookawayManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Lookaway Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and so very much appreciate your taking the time to post your comments. Hope to see you back here again soon! All the best to you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Augusta
1.3 mi away
Augusta Marriott at the Convention Center
2.8 mi away
The Partridge Inn Augusta, Curio Collection by Hilton
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Augusta-Washington Rd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 83 in Augusta
607 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#8 of 83 in Augusta
208 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sleep Inn , Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn , Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in North Augusta
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lookaway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lookaway Inn

Property: Lookaway Inn
Address: 103 W Forest Ave, North Augusta, SC 29841-3415
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > North Augusta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in North Augusta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lookaway Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lookaway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lookaway Hotel North Augusta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing