We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Newberry
Pilesgrove, United States
2 reviews
“Worth it”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Good clean room within walking distance of a good cold beer and a hot pizza! Typical Hampton quality. I checked in at 3:00 AM after a long airline delay. Breakfast was good and business meeting was 5 minutes away. There is also a winery nearby.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia V, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Ken, we are so glad that you chose to come and stay with us because I know after your long flight our soft, clean, comfortable bed helped chase all the travel stress away. We are so glad that we were conveniently close for your business needs and for some fun and relaxation after work. Thank you for sharing your experience so our future travelers know what to expect and especially for our future business travelers that a cold beer and food are some convenient comforts close to the hotel. I hope your business travels will bring you back our way. Thank you again and travel safe always!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    123
    40
    27
    18
See reviews for
150
132
26
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This Hampton Inn is not typical. It is much grander in style with a grand fountain in the front. The hotel is stylex after the Opera house which is interesting in itself and worth a tour... everything is in walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrPatFerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia V, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Grander and Convenient, we think you are grand for sharing your experience with us and future travelers. We are so delighted that you enjoyed the uniqueness of our grand hotel and the architecture and how it emulates the Opera House. Many have told us we look like a castle. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and the conveniences of the restaurants and shops in walking distance. We would love to have you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
Level Contributor
117 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Nice rooms with high ceilings. Good location to downtown historic sites. Fairly close to local restaurants. Is close to Rail road tracks but was barely noticeable on the south side. I was on the ground floor, privacy was an issue. a public sidewalk was directly outside the window. When I noticed people walking by an glancing in my window I kept my curtains drawn. I would stay here again but would not accept a ground floor. The desk clerk was very professional and accommodating helping with a full day early check in.

Room Tip: Ground floor street side, not a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia V, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Bob, What a joy it was to have you stay with us during your business trip. We appreciate you sharing your experience with other travelers and we appreciate your feedback as we are always looking for ways to improve or keep on doing what we are doing to make the best possible stay for all of our guests. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope your business travels will give us another opportunity to accommodate you again. Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn and travel safe always!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I enjoyed the proximity to the charming downtown area of Newberry. The property is well appointed and acceptably clean. I was booked in a smoking room (surprised Hampton still offers smoking rooms) and with a little wrangling I was able to get moved. Still on the smoking floor - but a non-smoking room. Breakfast was nicely presented. Struggled with inadequacies of the business center (outdated browser, etc).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia V, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Michael, We are delighted your travels brought you to our delightful town. We love welcoming travelers to the sparkle and shine of our wonderful town and hotel. We apologize for any inconveniences you experienced with the computers in our Business Center as they are both new with new software.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2014

great hotel and city, staff at front desk and morning breakfast/ food was excellent. Town was great to visit and look forward to going back in the fall for concert events. had dinner at half full restaurant and everything/ everyone was friendly and polite

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia V, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Stephen, Newberry is the friendly city and Hampton Inn is full of hospitality and we are delighted you experienced both during your stay. We look forward to you returning in the fall for the concerts and shows at the Opera House and in the park in front of the Opera House and Hampton Inn. We have many annual festivals as well. So bring your family and your friends and share them with us as we accommodate you with a warm welcome every time. We appreciate the shout out to Half Full as thy are a new business and many have fallen in love with their food and service. We appreciate you helping future travelers envision the fabulous time and genuine welcome they will receive when visiting Newberry and a reminder to former travelers that they need to come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterville North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Newberry SC is a beautiful hidden spot off of the mainstream of Columbia and Greenville SC. If you are looking for a peaceful stay in a nice little setting then this is a great place to spend the night. Steve W's and the Main St Grill are great places to eat within one block of the hotel. Very clean and nice folks....enjoy the moment!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia V, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Ryan thank you for sharing your experience to Newberry, the Hampton Inn and some of the local restaurants. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope your travels will bring you back again to enjoy more of our sweet little town and friendly smiles of our staff. Thank you for sharing with future travelers that Newberry and the Hampton Inn are definite landmarks to come and experience. Come one, Come all, We are ready to accommodate all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Beautiful Inn and Quality service. Exactly what we have come to expect from a Hilton property. Beyond expectations from a small town hotel. Right in the middle of downtown within walking distance of almost everything. Quite unique and different view than most Hampton Inns.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Golffer2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia V, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear Trust Hilton, We agree with you 100%. We are so thankful that you shared your review. Our goal is to take care of each and every traveler who walks through our door and regardless of the reason each person becomes a guest in our hotel, we want them to first enter into a friendly and helpful environment, then experience cleanliness and complete relaxation, and provide comfort, a great start to each day with breakfast, and offer services like complimentary Wi-Fi for business and personal needs. We are located in an ideal location where guests can enjoy downtown Newberry during the day and relic through our antique shops and novelty stores and at night and be a part of the nightlife by dining at fabulous restaurants and laughing and building memories as you relax at some of the local sport's bar and it is all within walking distance. Great service and an exciting adventure right at your fingertips...and footsteps. We invite everyone to come and be a part of the experience. Trust Hilton, we wish you safe travels on all your traveling endeavors and are glad that we can trust you to always trust Hilton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newberry
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newberry
19.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Clinton
21.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Clinton
Comfort Suites Clinton
#2 of 4 in Clinton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Quality Inn Clinton
Quality Inn Clinton
#4 of 4 in Clinton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Newberry
Days Inn Newberry
#3 of 4 in Newberry
3.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
20.9 mi away
Days Inn Clinton-Presbyterian College
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House

Property: Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House
Address: 1201 Nance St, Newberry, SC 29108-2713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Newberry
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Newberry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House Hotel Newberry
Newberry Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing