We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slammin' country fried steak!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grille On Main

The Grille On Main
Ranked #3 of 47 Restaurants in Newberry
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newberry, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Slammin' country fried steak!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Excellent place to eat when visiting the berry, it's always consistent and the portions are ginormous ! Check this place out, did I mention the fried pickles are gnarley. Get your grub on at the grille

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Nickos101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    35
    12
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One and done”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

I ate lunch here once and had a boring grilled chicken sandwich that was overpriced and tasteless. Fries were boring too. Pass.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mkzf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
124 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good basic place for lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

This place does all that you expect, providing good portions, with a very predictable menu. Nothing particularly special.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Mountain, South Carolina
Level Contributor
101 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Pleasant dinner in a Historical building”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner before a show at the Newberry Opera House. We were told to just sit wherever we wanted, and the server was very timely in greeting us and taking our drink and appetizer order. The appetizer, fried cheese sticks, were pretty good and our dinner salads were very good with a pretty presentation. Our dinners also arrived in a timely manner and the food was good. Chicken breasts were a little dry and the hamburger steak could have used a little more seasoning. The french fries were delicious! After a fairly nice dinner, we were disappointed in the lack of follow through service. Our server did not bring us our food, which was not a problem, but he never acknowledged us afterwards. We did not get any drink refills, never asked how our dinner was or if we would like dessert. We waited for our check to be brought to us and finally just went to the cash register and asked to pay for our dinner. Overall, we had a pleasant dinner but service could definitely use improvement.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Renny5903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Decent small diner, menu has a varity of items. Nothing special, steaks are frozen. They do have a full bar and a number of beers and wines. Would go for lunch but probably not for dinner again.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank tlsgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Grille On Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing