We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst hotel ever!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sea Dunes Oceanfront
Ranked #179 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Statesville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst hotel ever!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

We stayed at this hotel because it was the only one that had rooms available. For the price, this hotel was too crappy. Power outlets in the room did not work, bed sheets were not changed, bed was not made, towels were placed just inside the door. For the whole weekend that we stayed here, our room was not cleaned or entered by room service at all. I was very disappointed in the lack of service and we will definitely never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tiffymarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    6
    6
    45
See reviews for
28
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gaffney, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2011

Me & the Family enjoyed staying here, it was low priced, the bathroom towels could be a tad bigger.. Also friendly people, beds was compfy, but it was black bike week & it was so noisy & loud couldnt sleep. And there repainting the rooms, putting new Kitchen & bathroom countertops in, new carpet. I will be going back. Last but not least, the swimming pool was dirty. Wasnt clean at all.

Room Tip: Great Location for low price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhotoBoy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selma, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

Me and my husband and our friends stayed there this weekend pass my friend complain about the bathroom towels I didn't see anything wrong in our room but most of all I enjoy my stay didn't pay much and I slept good and comfortable.

Room Tip: Try Sea Dunes Ocenfront rooms affortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atripworthwaiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermilion, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2010

I stayed here a couple summers ago with a few friends. It was a college trip and we were just looking for something cheap. We started with a regular room. We were initially greeted by what looked like someone had dumped an ash tray into the sink. I have no idea what it was or how housekeeping left it that way. There was a mouse running about the room too--we complained at the front desk and the woman gave us a sticky mouse trap and I just stayed on the bed, nervously hoping it would be trapped and disposed of...

My friend then went to the front desk and complained more aggressively, and we were upgraded to an oceanfront suite. It had a full kitchenette and overall was much nicer. I felt comfortable and happy in that room.

I think the pool was a bit dirty and the place is old. It's not great, but it's better than the Polynesian Roach Motel! If you can get the oceanfront room--do it!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hollyelise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2010

I wish that mere words could express y disappointment with this establishment. But, I'm gonna try to warn others in advance. So please listen VERY carefully. Myself, my wife, and my 12 year old daughter spent 7 days in this dump. I paid $105.00 for 5 nights, and $115.00 for 2 additional weekend nights. I reserved in advance, and was discouraged to know, that I would lose my deposit of $115.00, if I didn't take the room upon my arrival. The room was on the 3rd floor. They did not tell me in advance that the elevator was broken, and has been for quite some time. They DO NOT plan to fix it either. The steps and breezeways were filthy. The front door to the room had a piece of plywood across it. The interior carpet was dirty, to the point that your feet would get black on the bottom. The refrigerator was rusted. The stove was filthy. The cabinets were dirty and smelly. The towel rack was lying in the floor of the bathroom. The wallpaper was peeling. You are required to exchange your used towels for clean ones in the office. The housekeeping is a joke. You MAY see them twice in 7 days. They walk in, give you some clean trash bags, and then leave. One of them is a nice guy named Sammy, who begins his Captain Morgan drinking EARLY in the morning, and continues to drink throughout the day. I had to change out the TV in our room first thing because the screen was green. This required myself and Sammy carrying one in from another room. I had to go downstairs to retrieve a vaccuum to carry back upstairs to clean our room. I also had to buy window cleaner to clean the dirty film off of our sliding glass door, after NUMOROUS requests to have them cleaned. I also mopped or balcony floor due to filth. They only run the pool pump bout 1 hour per day, and I seen it vaccuumed only once in the entire week I was was there. The excuse I was given as to the conditions there was: "Sea Dunes is one of the only hotels left that rent rooms to 18 y/o and older and, they tear up the rooms so bad that we just quit fixing them years ago." Only an IDIOT for a hotel owner would do something SO stupid. I spoke with several people that was staying there and, they all had the same conditions. I saw inside several rooms, and the conditions in some of them was actually worse. Me, and my family are good ol' down south folks, and are not hard to please We didn't expect a 4 star hotel when we got there. But, we did expect a decent place to lay our heads after apending a total of $858.00 there. PLEASE, PLEASE, do not spend your hard earned money at this 1st class dump. I have never seen such a disaster of a hotel, and they do not care in the least. I am planning to pursue legal action within 2 weeks due to me being a police officer, and having some lawyer friends. Otherwise, my family couldn't sacrifice another cent towards this hotel. All I want is 1/2 our money back for all of the undisclosed information, and for the failure of the hotel to maintain a safe, clean environment for me and my family due to the extensive mold in the breezeways, and within the piping of the rooms. Sea Dunes is a should be closed, and I SURE plan to let DHEC, and Myrtle Beach media know about it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2006

I felt very uneasy once I walked through the hotel doors. When I walked in the room an unbearable smell hit me in the face. When I did further inspections there was mold on the walls, paint chipping and rust in the tub and dirty towels. MOLD can cause health problems. I really think someone should call the inspection people on this hotel. Imaging driving 6 hours and to your surprise you booked a dump for a hotel. Please do not stay here because you may put your health at risk.

  • Liked — complete dump
  • Disliked — complete dump
  • Tips/Secrets — Make sure you call the hotel to see how old it is before booking it.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Gotenergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2006

We could not stay there as the room was filthy and mold was all over the walls and the ceiling, the cobwebs and dust was so thick that when I turned on the light between the beds it made me sneeze, I was going to call the front desk and the phone was so sticky ,I was afraid to use it, the cabinets were falling apart and the tile in the bathroom was missing in several places and mold growing all in the spots where there should have been tile , however the pictures on line made the place look decent ,even mentioned the upgrades done to the site????? we did take pictures. requested our deposit back which was refused and the owner refuses to retun our calls

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — nasty,moldy
  • Tips/Secrets — you can not always judge by descriptions, pictures ect
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank almat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
The Reef at South Beach
The Reef at South Beach
#152 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#137 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mystic Sea Resort
Mystic Sea Resort
#123 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
#90 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Sands North
Holiday Sands North
#77 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wave Rider Resort
Wave Rider Resort
#153 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Dunes Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Dunes Oceanfront

Property: Sea Dunes Oceanfront
Address: 605 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4480
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#101 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Dunes Oceanfront 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sea Dunes Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Dunes Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sea Dunes Oceanfront Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing