We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Please don't be mislead by the pictures..” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Blue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Blue
Ranked #146 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Please don't be mislead by the pictures..”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2009

First of all, have stayed at this hotel before...read on the internet that it had been renovated, so we thought we would give it another chance. We booked the largest room in the hotel. When you walked in to the room, it was the bedroom with the king bed in it. The floor was tile floor in the bedroom so everyone tracked the sand into the room I had to sleep in. Then you moved on to a full kitchen that looked like it was placed in where the closet used to be. Only one person could be in there at a time. The stove did not work and they gave you diswasher fluid, but there was no dishwasher. The bathroom was to the left of that. Then you walked to the living room. There was an old television in there. You could pull the wall bed down and pull out the sofa bed, however, make sure you have closed the blinds to the very small balcony or adjusted the air because there is no room left once this is done. We did not get washcloths for three days, I called but they were not sent up the first two days. Finally, on the third day we got some washcloths. However, the day before we were supposed to leave we did not even get maid service at all-go figure. The pool area was nicer than before but they have one pool and one spa for the whole hotel. I forgot to mention you may get an elevator to pick you up, but probably not. They were horrible. They did go around to make sure that you had your pool wristband on though. Believe me if you were from another hotel you would not want to use their facilities anyway. They added a cafe but it was very expensive. I got 2 hot dogs, order of fries, chicken tenders and three sodas for 22.00 Then to top it all off, when I went to check out they said you are already checked out you are good to go. No reciept, nothing. Luckily they did not even ask how the stay was. Guess that explains why we didn't even get maid service, they thought we were gone.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandandsunMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    333
    196
    173
    355
See reviews for
508
466
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2009

Just got back from our vacation and we had a great time considering this was the worst and nastiest hotel we have ever stayed in. As we walked in the door the first thing we noticed was the ungodly smell. The walls,carpet and couch were dirty and stained. The air condition units smelled old and musty.After we complained to management all they gave us was 10% off and 10 free cont. breakfast at another hotel. The maids tried their best to clean up but there was no hope for this room. The lazy river looked like a septic tank we were afraid to let the kids get in it. The fancy new pool bar is a joke the kids can't play because they might splash a drunk!!! They should have used the money for the pool bar on cleaning and maintence of the rooms. The internet site is very deceiving.The rooms are very run down compared to the pictures on the internet. Plan to wait wait wait on the elevator. It takes FOREVER!!!!! We will NEVER stay here again. If you want to have a pleasant stay at myrtle beach don't stay here!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hothead24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2009

Don't spend the time or your dime on this hotel. Management can't control their guest. Not accomodating at all for the guest. The security guard is just for looks. I was going to book again for August but will be staying at the Coral Beach instead. You have been forewarned.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SharkDiver1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2009

For starters, I got a great rate by going directly to the hotel website. When we arrived, check-in was quick and easy. The parking garage is extremely tight and not all the turns have mirrors, so be very careful. I had an oceanfront room, the view was nice and our balcony was directly over the pool. One chair near the pool was broken, but overall there was plenty of seating when people weren't claiming the chairs with towels. The pool was clean, I didn't use the jacuzzi or the lazy river. The poolside bar closes at 5pm on sun-wed and one frozen margarita was $8. There is live entertainment with a cover band on Wed and Sat from 1-5. This hotel has absolutely nothing at night, however the hotel right next door did karaoke every night so there was a little something to listen to. We also had a great view of the 2nd Ave pier fireworks on Wed night. IME, most hotels won't say anything to people who are in the pool after it closes if they are being quiet. Not the case here, security keeps everyone out of the pool area after 11pm.
Now to the room. I ended up with two double beds because of lack of availability of King sized beds. These rooms have supposedly been remodeled, but you can't really tell that. The sprayed ceiling was missing large patches with more hanging down, there was obvious mold on the ceiling and on one lampshade in the room. The beds were standard, nothing especially good or bad about them. I don't think I would have more than one couple with two kids in the room because it is a bit cramped. The bathroom lacked light over the shower/tub and the shower was constant work to keep from freezing or getting scalded. The shower curtains were a bit too long so they hung down in the bottom of the tub. Had to hold the handle down on the toilet for it to flush. The lock on the sliding glass door was difficult to use but it did work. The halls and the elevators lacked ventilation and the elevators were extremely slow, made a lot of noise. We took the stairs most of the time. There was a kitchenette in our room, but we ended up not doing any cooking. You are responsible for washing your own dishes and putting them away before you leave.
I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saraheba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raleigh
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2009

Just back from vacation and I have to say, this is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. I wish I could rate this a 1/2 star, doesn't deserve a one star.
I've been to Myrtle Beach several times over the years but this one beats them all, terrible. The picture on the web site isn't even close to what they really are. The Lazy river is so dirty I thought is was for fishing, cloudy, greenish water. The elevators are the worst, I think i spent 1/4 of my vacation waiting for them. At times, only 1 out of 4 were working. Plus, no circulation in them when it's so crowded.
Parking garage is too small for the SUV, too tight in turning. Be careful.
Having the hotel built in the late 70's, its really showing its age. They need to renovate the the whole place even though the staff says, some renovation has happened, Might be true, maybe 2 rooms.
Overall, its not worth the money and time. Go next door, Sea Crest, much better. I checked out of this hotel after 3 days, and went to Sea Crest. For a few dollars more a night, it was well worth it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raleigh_vacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2009

Room - nice and clean.
Service - quick.
Pool - nice, clean, spacious.
Elevators - SUCK!!! We waited 35 minutes for an elevator!!! There was NO way to carry all of our luggage down 7 floors!!! It was a waiting game the entire 4 days. They SHOULD HAVE HAD SOMETHING DONE TO THE ELEVATORS WHEN THEY REMODELED.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scbrighteyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbb0519
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2009

The pictures on the internet and the actual room at this hotel deceives you badly. the staff and to include the security guard treated me and my family like we were anything but human. I will never reccommend this place to anyone nor will i ever stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbb0519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Captains Quarters Resort
Captains Quarters Resort
#93 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,203 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Palace Resort
The Palace Resort
#82 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Palms
The Palms
#94 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#36 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
6.5 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#29 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
1.0 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blue

Property: Hotel Blue
Address: 705 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4481 (Formerly Tropical Winds)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#83 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blue 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Hotel Myrtle Beach
Tropical Winds Myrtle Beach Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing