We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“overall good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Blue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Blue
Ranked #142 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Augusta, Georgia
1 review
“overall good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Overall, the stay was good. The amenities listed were numerous but very few were actually available this early in the season, which was a bummer. Staff was very friendly. For the price it was ok but would probably stay at the parent hotel, Captain's Quarters, if I went back.

Room Tip: Hotel Blue is part of Captain's Quarters. If you want a nicer room and all the amenities on prop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for taking a moment out of your day to post a review for us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the kind words about the staff.. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    337
    197
    175
    360
See reviews for
517
470
31
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brewer, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

I booked this hotel after hearing a positive review from a family member who had stayed here before. Previously I had stayed in Myrtle Beach at a "sister" resort to Hotel Blue and had found it adequate so I decided to try Hotel Blue. My fiancé and I stayed for three nights and got a pretty good rate (April off season). The lobby area is small and the actual front desk was tucked into the back corner, which I was surprised by as they just apparently renovated that area. We stayed in room 920 on the end and we had a nice partial ocean view with a king size bed. Upon arrival we checked the room for bed bugs and did not find any. We did however find a stained mattress and stained pillows. We were tired from the nineteen hour drive so we just crashed anyways. The room was a little small, but there were only two of us. The bathroom was large enough. I had read in other reviews that some people had had a hard time getting hot water which mirrored my experience as well. I had to wait a very long time for hot water to get to the shower, and when it finally arrived the temperature did not stay constant and I was continuously adjusting the hot and cold water to keep myself comfortable. The hair dryer included in the bathroom did not work. The refrigerator was the proper size for a hotel room and worked great, but the microwave appeared to be circa 1980. That didn't matter to us as we didn't use it anyways. The pool, hot tub, and lazy river all appeared nice but we didn't use any of them while we were there. We did not eat on premises or use any of the amenities that they tell you you can have access to at the neighboring hotel. The location is OK, we were able to walk to the boardwalk and all of the attractions near it from our hotel. The area seemed safe and we walked in the area at night. The hotel has nice beach access as well. There are several ice machines throughout the hotel including one right by our room, but that wasn’t working. So I then traveled to the other 5 floors that had ice only to find those machines were broken as well. I finally called the front desk and they told me that there was a large ice machine on the fifth floor which I found filled with ice. I wish they would have saved me the several flights of stairs looking for the broken machines. However, due to my travels I found that some of the other floors in the hotel were not as nice as the 8th and 9th floors and had a really bad odors. If you are looking for an inexpensive stay this would meet your needs but if you are looking for something glamorous stay someplace else.

Room Tip: Avoid the 14th floor. Seems dirty had a bad odor when I got off the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor. We would like to apologize for any issues you had while staying wth us. We strive to do our very best and exceed our guest expectations. We are glad that you liked your view and easy walk to the new board walk. We hope that you will come stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, GA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

We just got home from our stay at hotel blue. I was pleasantly surprised. This was a budget trip for our family of 5. The room was all tile, no carpet. Loved it. Also, the kitchenette had a full sized smooth top stove. We were ocean front on the 6th floor. The first room we got the air was a bit spotty, the cable was very blurry, and the fridge didn't cool at all. However, the desk promptly sent maintenance. Shortly after, we were offered another room as well as some breakfast vouchers for oue inconvenience. Everything was in good working order at the new room. The property was nice and all the pools were clean and well maintained. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pixybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for taking a moment out of your busy day to post a review for us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and liked your room and ammenities. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

The rooms were clean and spacious and it had a full kitchen. Plenty of closet space and drawers. This is the off season so the swim up bar and other amenities were not available. The lazy river and hot tub are a nice feature. The pool outside was nice as well with plenty of chairs and table for sitting outside. Each room has a private balcony to enjoy the ocean-view if you have and ocean side room. Plenty of parking in the parking deck. Their sister hotel (captains quarters) is right down the street and we were able to use the bowling alley and arcade there for discounted prices. Staff and housekeepers were friendly. Overall it was a good place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for shareing your stay on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your kind words. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

love the indoor and outdoor hot tub when there are no kiddies in it and using it as a swimming pool. The mattresses are old and need to be replaced plus the bases the mattresses sit on are to big and we kept hitting our legs on the corners. We have spent 5 years at Blue and this year we we're really disappointed and are thinking about a change.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dhedre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to complete a tripadivisor for us. We would like to apologize for any issues you had while staying us and wanted to let you know what we are in teh process of getting new mattresses throughout the entire resort. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the pools and hot tubs and we hope that you will return to see all the new improvements we are doing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

This hotel was cheap... You get what you pay for

PROS:
Location
Ms Vicky the housekeeper
Cheap

CONS:
-A 5 year old who was traveling with us cut her feet on the bottom of the lazy river on the first day
-The lazy river was drained until the last day of our stay
-The indoor hot tub was freezing until our last day
-The television didn't work
-The pool is not heated and was unusable
-The rooms were not clean. The refrigerator door had sticky brown stuff on it. The chairs in our room were old and had burn marks
-There was not an ice cube to be had on ANY floor.
-On check out, you are asked to wash your own dishes by hand and replace in the cabinet. I hope the people before us did this, but who knows. Disgusting!
-The garage is narrow and treacherous. Barely room to pass a car coming the other way around the blind turns
-The "amenities" they brag about such as Cafe Blue, Starbucks, etc are only open Thursday through Saturday. Didn't know that.

THE WORST:
An 11 year old boy traveling with us left his wallet with $46 in cash in it. He discovered this 30 minutes down the road on our 12 hour drive home. I called the hotel to see if they could send it to us. They stated they could send the wallet, but not the money. It was a liability.... Hmmm. We would have to pick it up in person. I have been on 1vacation in 5 years, the chances of getting that cash are nil. I think it's horrible and shady. Wow.. They can mail anything to you, but cash?? I guess the beers are on our 11 year old boy tonight!!

If we return to Myrtle Beach, we will not stay here. There are too many beautiful hotels with real amenities. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janfromkentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Overall, the hotel is VERY OLD. It needs to be completely renovated. The room smelled and we bought air freshener and kept having to spray it. The couch was nasty. I wouldn't let the kids sit on it.
With that being said, it seemed to be clean. We never saw any bugs and didn't really have any issues. It had a pretty view of the ocean and was right on the ocean, so we didn't have far to walk. It is close to the Boardwalk and restaurants.
I would not stay there again and can't really recommend it, but if you find it for a really good deal, there's no reason not to stay there.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rureadyiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with everyone. We are sorry to hear that we did not exceed your expectations. We strive to ensure that all of our guest have a positive experience. We are glad to hear that you like the short walk to the boardwalk and area resturants. We hope in the future you will give ua anounther chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Captains Quarters Resort
Captains Quarters Resort
#94 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,227 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Palace Resort
The Palace Resort
#84 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Palms
The Palms
#93 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#35 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,154 reviews
6.5 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#26 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Reef at South Beach
The Reef at South Beach
#152 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blue

Property: Hotel Blue
Address: 705 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4481 (Formerly Tropical Winds)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#83 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blue 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Hotel Myrtle Beach
Tropical Winds Myrtle Beach Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing