We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price”
Review of Hotel Blue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Blue
Ranked #142 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Keeseville, New York
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good for the price”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

My grandmother loves the beach so for her birthday last year I took her to Myrtle Beach for a week. We stayed in Hotel Blue. The lady at the front desk was well mannered and very friendly. We stayed in an ocean front room on the top floor with balcony and full kitchen. The room was very clean and everything was fully functional. Sure the hotel itself was a little old and it showed some wear and tear on the walls in the hallways and garage but overall it was nice and clean. I go there to have a good time on the beach not to stand in the hallway. The lazy river and hot tub were very clean and comfortable. The pool was clean and the swim up bar was unique and... Awesome! Other times I've stayed in MB I stayed at an Econo Lodge and Days Inn so Hotel blue was definitely an upgrade. I mean just the fact that this place is clean and right on the beach made it worth the price, which was very reasonable. If your going to stay in Myrtle Beach, Hotel Blue is definitely a place to consider.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank ploofster83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you so much for posting a review for us. We are so glad that you could stay with us for your grandmothers birthday.. Such a special time.. We hope that you will come back to see us and all our exciting new changes..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    349
    209
    182
    382
See reviews for
552
478
34
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rockingham, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2014

My very first time leaving a review,because I feel it is my duty! Yes it was that bad,first time I have EVER wanted to leave Myrtle beach.The first impression should have made us turn around but had already paid through a promotion.being remodeled ,but it needs more than a facelift.the lobby was closed and had a big sign come to rm #214 but no direction not even an arrow pointing to the room and when you go up parking garage one floor u end up on the 3rd real scary in the dark.Not friendly at all.room needed cleaning.8am next morning maid comes and I tell her we need extra towels and wanted dirty ones 1st ask her to come back in an hour time to shower never saw anyone again.until checkout .you had to go next door is what was told to indoor pools really a couple of hotels away had to drive and I haven't even mentioned the hair and horrible beds..we were so sore from the horrible mattress .we stay at the beach several times a year.never again at this place winded up paying more through the deal we were suppose to get than what it would have been to walk in only nice thing to say about this place that ruin red the trip is they have very good false advertisement!And now seems false reviews!!never again!

Room Tip: Good ocean front view,but will never sleep on a bed like that again..wanted my money back at first s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derrer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
We would like to apologize that we did not meet your expectations on your recent stay with us and can assure you that we take guest satisfaction very seriously. We are under construction with lots of new and exciting features for Hotel Blue in 2014. We have received feedback on our mattresses and this concern has been addressed. We are currently replacing all of our mattresses for the added comfort for our guest. In regards to your comments about the signage, we have taken further steps by adding addional signs and directions to ensure our guest of our temporary office location in room 214. We welcome you back this year to experience all of our exciting changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Clifton Park, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We decided to take a vacation last minute and decided on this hotel. Not bad for the price. It's right on the beach and within walking distance of the boardwalk. The pool was ALWAYS super crowded, but we ended up hanging out on the beach anyway. They let you use the facilities at their sister property--bowling alley, splash park, arcade, etc--but we felt funny walking into another hotel to check it out. I don't recommend this place for families since it's really geared toward the party crowd. I would check out the sister property (Captain's Quarters) since they sound more family oriented.
The hotel staff was great. We went on vacation for our anniversary; when we got to our room, we were on the second floor and people on the pool deck could EASILY see right into our room. We wanted a bit more privacy, so I spoke to the staff at the front desk and they moved us to a room on the 9th floor without any difficulty. We were so relieved, especially when we saw how crowded the pool area got and heard how loud they played the music.
The parking garage is a little tight, but it's nice to have a place to park adjacent to the hotel.

Room Tip: If you're looking for more privacy and less noise, ask for a room on a higher floor. The rooms t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments on this website, we appreciate your kind words and are excited to pass them along to staff. We agree the pools are great! We hope that you come back this year to experience all the new changes we are adding to Hotel Blue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

For the price, there is not much to compare about. It's a nice hotel right on the beach, we were fortunate enough to get a great room overlooking the ocean and a deal with bowling at their sister hotel. Good hotel, very clean, no complaints.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
We wanted to thank you for taking the time to fill out a survey for us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to the next time you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hedgesville, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed one night at Hotel Blue as we were just passing through during the winter. Even though they were undergoing renovations to get ready for the summer, the staff was extremely accommodating. They upgraded us to an ocean view room that had a kitchenette. But the staff makes the place and the crew at Hotel Blue were exceptionally courteous and kind. We had a restful sleep and a wonderful breakfast overlooking the ocean. The planned renovations will make it even better. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Good to plan ahead online for a good price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anita c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you so much for taking a moment out of your busy day to post a review for us.. We appreciate your kind words and welcome you back as soon as you can to experience all the new things we are adding to Hotel Blue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Had a great New Year's stay at Hotel Blue. Check-in was in Room 214, great that the hotel is adding even more amenities, therefore the usual "check-in desk" was unavailable. There were signs pointing all guest in the right direction for smooth check-in.

Staff were all very nice and accommodating, from desk staff to housekeeping. Room was very clean and housekeeping kept our room stocked with clean towels. Awesome job to the housekeeping staff!

Great value for the money!!! Wireless internet worked very well. In other reviews guests had noted problems with hot water, no problems during my stay.

If you are heading to Myrtle Beach give Hotel Blue a try :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ToesInSand13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for taking a moment out of your day to write such a wonderful review for us. We are so excited that you rang in the New Year with us and would like to thank you for your outstanding comments on the staff, we are excited to pass those along. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I live in Surfside Beach, and he surprised me with an ocean front room at Hotel Blue for my 25th birthday. Everything was wonderful! I loved everything about the room...the comfy king sized bed, the balcony overlooking the ocean, the tile floors, the heat light in the bathroom ceiling, the beachy curtains, a ton of counter spce in the bathroom. The room also came with a fridge big enough for a birthday cake, a case of beer, and two boxes of Miyabi leftovers...AND a microwave and coffee pot. There was also plenty of storage for people staying longer than one night and our room was available as a suite, although we only rented one room. We had some friends over and there was a little table we could all sit at... again... every single thing was perfect for what we needed...very clean. Great experience! We will be back.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank KbellaBrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you for that outstanding we review. We are so excited that you stayed with us for such a special Birthday. Happy Birthday once again! We are glad that you enjoyed your room and agree cant beat the views. We look forward to seeing you again, hopfully very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Captains Quarters Resort
Captains Quarters Resort
#96 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,342 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Palace Resort
The Palace Resort
#85 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,211 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#36 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Palms
The Palms
#88 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
439 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
2.6 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#11 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blue

Property: Hotel Blue
Address: 705 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4481 (Formerly Tropical Winds)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#82 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blue 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Hotel Myrtle Beach
Tropical Winds Myrtle Beach Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing