We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“family vacation” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Blue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Blue
Ranked #146 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“family vacation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Staff in general very friendly and helpful, Patti cleaned out room everyday and she was lovely always willing to help. The location is great close to everything and the price was very reasonable. We would return to Hotel Blue again when we return to Myrtle Beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment out of your busy day to post a review for us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your vacation with us and we thank you for your kind words on our staff and Patti. She is such a great addition to our staff. We hope that you can come see us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    333
    196
    173
    355
See reviews for
508
466
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

This has been one of the worst stays I have ever experienced. The layout was confusing, the room was not at all like it was pictured on the website, stairwells were extremely dirty, dim and smelled terrible, air vents were rusted with huge holes, mold was in the bath tub and bathroom floor, the rooms were barren-no decorations, side tables, etc, the elevators did not work but there were no signs indicating such, maintenance doors were never closed, so in some halls all you heard was the industrial washing machines, and the hotel in general looked like it hasn't been cleaned in years. Not to mention it was beside an abandoned hotel

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leah_Miller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for writing a review for us; we appreciate all feedback and take it very seriously. We would like to apologize for any issues you had while staying with us and have passed your comments onto the appropriate managers. We work towards always improving and giving outstanding service to our guest. Regarding the abandoned hotel that two doors away that is not a part of our property and with the past years economy the funding for this company fell threw but is currently being looked at again. We hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Manchester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

If the pool could be removed from this review, a better tone would apply. My husband and I stayed with our 12 & 9 yr old, just returned yesterday. The positives first, the room was spacious and exceeded expectations, staff were super friendly, location was great, ocean was delightful, and captain's quarters was a fabulous (and necessary) alternative. The negatives, in my opinion, the pool was R rated, literally women and men of all shapes & sizes grinding on top of the pool bar, saw more drunk people fall on their face or get into verbal fights, inevitably inhaled tons of second hand smoke by the constant smokers every where, heard rap music and the thrift shop song more than what most could tolerate, and was treated like a 2 yr old by "security" who allowed all of this trashy behavior go on but confronted me for bringing a miller lite can from my room to the pool. Some things that we did that I would recommended: family kingdom, breakfast buffet at Tena's, 2nd street pier, skywheel and jet ski tour with myrtle beach watersports. If I returned to MB, I absolutely would not stay here again, simply because of the pool scene.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
We are very glad that you enjoyed our accommodations. We are sorry that you did not know ahead of time about our Therapy Pool Party. While it is geared towards adults, we do invite our guests to participate in Captain’s Quarters activities and use their many amenities and pools on Sundays as well as any other day of the week. We do apologize but we aren’t able to allow patrons to bring in outside drinks while the bar is open due to state law. We hope that you will try us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, South Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Hotel Blue was a great place to stay. The staff was outstanding in all ways possible, we were in a great location the hotel was close to the restaurants, clubs and other attractions. I loved the music, drinks, and the bowling and i most definitely cant forget about the Therapy party on Sunday. I will be staying at Hotel Blue again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beneshia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for posting a review for us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your vacation with us and that you had an outstanding time at our "Therapy Pool Party" . We look forward to the next time you come stay with us.. hopefully very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlewood, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We just returned from Hotel Blue, our first time staying there. It was wonderful everyone was so friendly, rooms were nice and its right on the Ocean. My daughter loved the pool and lazy river. Overall we had an amazing time. will definitely stay again..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaynan84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We are so excited that you enjoyed your vacation with us and that your daughter loved the pool and lazy river, We love those area's too. Sun and Fun. We would like to thank you for taking a moment out to post this review for us and we hope to see you again as soon as you can come visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it. There is nothing inherently wrong. Just needs some minor fixes and updates. The elevators are a bit slow and hot. I thought it might have less kids as it kind of advertised it as more adult oriented. It did not. seemed to have just as many. great staff very friendly. Great location.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whytewulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you so much for posting a review for us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you the next time you come to Myrtle Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencer, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have just got back from Hotel Blue for the 3rd time. We love staying there and all the people we have met there. The workers are very nice and ready to help out anyway they can. There are so many things to do and you are close to alot of other choices you can do. Try it out have fun the pool is wonderful! We are looking forward to our next time!

Room Tip: We love the ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank breynolds1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments on our resort and the staff. We strive to do our very best and love our returning guest that come year after year to see us. We love to be your home away from home. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to seeing you again hopefully soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Captains Quarters Resort
Captains Quarters Resort
#93 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,203 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Palace Resort
The Palace Resort
#82 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Palms
The Palms
#94 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#36 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
6.5 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#29 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
1.0 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blue

Property: Hotel Blue
Address: 705 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4481 (Formerly Tropical Winds)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#83 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blue 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Hotel Myrtle Beach
Tropical Winds Myrtle Beach Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing