We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, not so good hotel”
Review of Hotel Blue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Blue
Ranked #144 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Asbury, New Jersey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great location, not so good hotel”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

First time staying here and probably wouldn't come back. My boyfriend and I stayed there for 3 nights, our suite was spacious (bed could be more comfortable), the bathroom wasn't tidy clean. The kitchen was tiny but totally functional, living room was spacious as well but carpet had a large amount of stains, our porch was oceanfront so we did have a great view. The elevators and halls smell smoke, the pool could be cleaner but the island bar is a plus. Hot tub was my favorite, lazy river was always full of kids so I just enjoyed a little. The private gate in the pool area that gives access to the beach was great but overall I think I would rather stay somewhere else when in Myrtle Beach.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnaWQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for posting a review for us.. We are glad that you enjoyed the pool bar and hope that you will stay with us again in the future..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    344
    203
    177
    376
See reviews for
540
472
33
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Londonderry, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was our second time staying at Hotel Blue. Both times were good.Housekeeping was spot-on with plenty of towels,t,p,,coffee and always clean .Check in and out was a breeze and front desk staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for staying with us, we just love our returning guest and are so glad that you enjoyed your stay.. We look forward to your next vacation with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, N.C.
1 review
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We always have a great time at Hotel Blue. We will stay here every time it is possible. This is the BEST place for us to stay. We love it here. The front staff are always very friendly and knowledgeable about everything. They always go above and beyond the call. Housekeeping staff are very efficient and are always friendly and make our stay more pleasant. The rooms are always spotless and in perfect order. We have never had any problems with our stays at Hotel Blue. We SHALL return.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pawpaw3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you so much for posting such a great review for us. We are exicited to pass this along to the staff... We love our returning guest and look forward to seeing you as soon as you can come visit us..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsonville, SC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The hotel was ok but before we reserved our room we asked how far it was from the skywheel and were told it was only 2 blocks. We were also told that it was on the boardwalk. After we arrived we found out that it is not located on the boardwalk and it was 1.6 miles from the skywheel. the hotel was clean but the swimup bar was closed and the sister hotel was the only one with an indoor pool which was 3 buildings down. I had to jjust about get down on my knees to take a shower because the shower nozzle is so low. I would not recommend staying at this hotel. I know we will never stay there again. Do not stay at hotel blue.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for taking a moment to post a review for us. We apologize for any issues you had while staying with us and hope that you will try us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2012

My Husband and I stayed here for our Honeymoon. We went to sleep looking and listening to the ocean. We woke up to the sound of waves crashing against the shore. My favorite was the outside hot tub that is available 24hrs a day. I Can't wait to come back next year for our anniversary.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SakeetaHayew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you so much for spending such a special occassion with us.. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and agree the sounds of the ocean are fantastic... We look forward to your return...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

this year we stayed at Hotel Blue again. This year we went down earlier than we normally do, we went down end of May first week and half of June. When we got there they gave a handicapped room, we are not handicapped therefore we tried to change rooms ,they said there was nothing available because we staying so long(12 Days). Then the safe didn't work had to have it fixe 3xs. Housekeeping was really bad....She couldn't shut the door all the way when she was finished. Had to get our own toilet paper off her cart. Why would you have a handicapped room onthe top floors of a hotel? i f there wsa an emergency you wouldn't be able to get out. Sorry Hotel Blue but lost a customer this year!

Room Tip: the ocean view balcony rooms are the best!You can look out over the beach and into the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachbums054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We thank you for your feedback and are glad that you chose to stay with us. Our handicap rooms are on the higher floors, because being an older hotel, we didnt originally have handicapped rooms. We we added additional floors to our hotel, we added handicap accessible rooms according to ADA. We gladly complied and we can assure you that our hotel is up to code and there are no issues with emergency procedures. We do apologize for the service you recieved from housekeeping and this is something we are looking into. We train our staff to be courteous and anticipate the needs of our guest. We hope that you will give us another chance to show you this..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This Hotel looks better online then it really is. I also would have not been happy if our kids would have been with us. I loved the pool bar, it was the best part of this place. It's def more geared to younger people than families. Our room was nice but killed 2 big bugs while there. They looked like roaches or palmetto bugs but not sure. Starbucks at the hotel is also great. The staff was super nice as well!! Might consider staying here again just because the music and the pool bar.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chapmanfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and posting a review.. We do sometimes find that palmetto bugs find there way in our open air-hallways or sliding doors... We apologize for any issues you had. We agree the pool bar and music by the beach are the best.... We hope that you will return to see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Captains Quarters Resort
Captains Quarters Resort
#93 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,289 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Palace Resort
The Palace Resort
#82 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,187 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#35 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Palms
The Palms
#90 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
427 reviews
1.0 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,936 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#15 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blue

Property: Hotel Blue
Address: 705 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4481 (Formerly Tropical Winds)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#82 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blue 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Hotel Myrtle Beach
Tropical Winds Myrtle Beach Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing