We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome honeymoon!”
Review of Hotel Blue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Blue
Ranked #141 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed September 10, 2012

My wife and I was on our honeymoon. Couldn't have had a better time. The staff was friendly, hotel was very nice and clean. Had lots to offer as far as fun, swimming and entertainment right at the hotel. Was the best vacation stay ever for either one of us!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebel-Cowboy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for sharing your vacation with everyone. We are so pleased that you stayed with us for such a special occasion.. We thank you for your comments and will share those with the staff. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,498)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Blue
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

923 - 929 of 1,498 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012

Rooms are clean. NO bugs at all!!! Plenty of things to keep kids of all ages busy. Love the hottubs, pool and lazy river. Only complaint.... dishes are very thin.....cracked one glass during dish washing and was charged $10.00 to replace. Minus that would have rated as fantastic!!!

Room Tip: Higher floors are nicer.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelfloss2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay.. We agree there is always lots to do... Hopefully you can come see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Blue 9-4-2012 until 9-7-2012. We were only going to stay 3 nights, but were having such a good time we decided at the last minute to stay one more night. Nate at your front desk was so helpful to us by making it possible for us to stay in our same room, as we just did not want to have to move everything just for one more night. He was very courteous, and friendly. The rooms were nice, the pool bar and music was great even though I don't drink a lot, we enjoyed watching everyone else make fools of themselves LOL!!!! All of the staff were very friendly. We have been there twice this year, and look forward to coming back next year. With staff like Nate, it makes your stay a very pleasant one. Thanks again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your vacation with everyone. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and agree Nate does a wonderful job, he really enjoys it. We are excited to pass your comments onto him. We look forward to seeing you again as soon as you can come visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We booked reservations at Hotel Blue in Myrtle Beach early in the summer (June) and requested a high floor to enjoy the views and take great pictures. When we arrived, we were put on the 2nd floor right by the pool. We are not party people so we were not very happy when we arrived on Sunday to be in a room on the 2nd floor where the noise of the "Therapy Party" was so loud that we could not even have a conversation in our room - much less go out onto the balcony to hear the ocean or gaze at the beach. I was told that we could not be moved because the hotel was booked up. After checking with the manager, I was told about 4:30 that things were in the process of being broken down as far as the music and that it would not last until pool closed at 11:00. This was not so. The music continued until about 10:30. Music so loud that you could hear it on the street or on the beach.

I understand that some people enjoy this kind of atmosphere, but it was not for us. The motel is not "family friendly". It is more of an adult hotel with the in pool bar. We were told that we could walk to the Captain's Quarters to visit their pool and other ammenities. But, who wants to carry your stuff two hotels down. We did go one evening to the hot tub. One of their hot tubs was occupied by a drunken guest harrasing his wife and the other hot tub, was simply moving around cold water.

The rooms were clean, however the bathrooms are very small. During a shower, you would be in hot water one minute and must cooler water the next.

I must say this it didn't give much for a quiet vacation time away. When we were not on the beach, we simply left the hotel because of the noise and atmosphere. Sad to say, this was our first stay at Hotel Blue and it will also be our last.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Just wanted to share that the guy at the front desk Nate Small was very helpful to me and my family. We had some car problems, and he did his best to help us. Even beyond the management he checked on us, and made us feel very welcome. He is professional and very pleasent. He is definitely capable of a poistion in management. He has about the best customer service skills I've ever experienced, and friendly qualities that keep people coming back. Nate if you are reading this, THANK YOU! Jama Roberts & John Vestal
Also Allen Todd was very nice and welcoming! Thank you Both!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jama R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Thank you so much for sharing your vacation with everyone. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and Thank you for your comments on Nate, he is an asset to our team. We are excited to pass those comments onto him. Come and see us again as soon as you can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

room was very clean and bath as well,dishes and utensils clean and all appliances worked well.Only complaint is internet picture did not seem to match room we received.Pool bar was very nice and bartenders very cordial.Was unaware however that on Sunday pool party "therapy"would be open to general public for a cover charge.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your vacation. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry that you were not informed of our seasonal Thearpy Pool Party we have on Sundays. We hope that you will come and see us again as soon as you can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Me and my friend stayed 9-1-12 to 9-4-12 and we had the best time ever. We checked in just fine, we were on the 15th floor oceanfront. I see people talking about "cockroaches" well they are not. Those are just big bugs that are everywhere at the beach. The pool bar and bartenders were wonderful and all of the staff we had talked to.. I will be back and that was my first time staying there and i will always stay there from now on!!! I loved it

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 52ginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thank you for taking a moment to write a review for us. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and are pleased to pass your comments onto the staff. We agree with you cant beat the views from the 15th floor. Cant wait to see you on your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Captains Quarters Resort
Captains Quarters Resort
#104 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,370 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Palace Resort
The Palace Resort
#83 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,224 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#37 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Palms
The Palms
#90 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
445 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
2.6 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#14 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blue

Address: 705 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4481 (Formerly Tropical Winds)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#81 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $89 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blue 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Hotel Myrtle Beach
Tropical Winds Myrtle Beach Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing