We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of Hotel Blue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Blue
Ranked #140 of 208 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Concord
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

The staff was very friendly and helpful - great customer service, the ocean front balcony offered a beautiful view, and the room was clean and nice. The only negative was that the bed was not as comfortable as I would have liked, but my husband and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback on our resort. We do strive to make this a prime vacation destination and all comments help us do just that. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and you are right there is nothing like that balcony view... We hope to see you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    341
    202
    177
    366
See reviews for
529
471
32
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Stayed at Hotel Blue in MB in Ocean View 2 double Suite. Had a great time as did our three teenagers. The negative reviews on this hotel are way overblown unless you really are expecting a luxury property. Staff was helpful. Pools were all warm and good variety when you throw in the access to Captains Quarters pools. Bowling for kids was a nice bonus. You can easily find maitainace issues if you look for them but the housekeeper did a great job on our unit each day. Loaction is great and "ocean view" was more than sufficient for sitting on either of two balconies and watching the surf and having your morning coffee. Full kitchen although kind of cramped was great for putting some basic foods in play for breakfast and snacks. If the rate is right stay at Hotel Blue.

Room Tip: Ocean Veiw two double suite - good sleeping room and value
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 35805Lovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Thank you for your taking a moment out of your day to write this review. We strive to do our bery best.. Call us when you are ready to sit on the balcony and have your morning coffee.. Hopefully we will hear from you soon..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Very pleasant staff. Clean rooms. Reasonable rates. I will definately be going back to this hotel. Pools very clean and done daily!! Stayed in an ocean front room with the kitchen which was very clean. That was a plus!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Thank you for taking a moment to write this review.. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and cant wait till you come back to see us.. Call as when you have your dates and will book your ocean front room for you...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

My husband surprised me with a trip at the Hotel Blue we checked in and as soon as we opened the door we seen it didnt lock, the bed was leaning because it was broke, stains all over the couch one being the color of blood, and the whole room was a nasty mess. My husband and myself walked in and then hurried up to leave the room to go talk with managment we told her what was wrong and also told her we wasn't staying there we wanted out money back, she informed me that it happens a lot and gave me a FULL not half but all our money back....... I don't right reviews I have just read them since then but people need to know to stay FAR FAR AWAY.......... just look at some of the pictures people provide

Room Tip: Dont get a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Haley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
We would like to apologies for any issues you experienced during your stay at our resort. All of your comments have been passed on to the appropriate managers and we hope that you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

This hotel caught my attention because of the location and the neat looking outside lights...boy was I disappointed! ! The room was unmaintained...old....very "cold" feeling..has about a half an inch open gap in our window that doesn't seal shut !!!! It stinks!! Patches on the walls and ceilings..once again very unmaintained... linens seemed to be clean to the naked eye...hopefully it is.. :\ ...hallways very filthy...elevators have rust on the doors...extremely loud maintenance room next to our room....door hanging wide open...did I say it stunk!?!? I will most definitely be reading the room reviews before I book online.... :( hope to sleep fast and not get bit by anything til morning!... decent rate tho. LoL I guess it could be worse...

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Tfarnsworthh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

The hotel blue was a very nice hotel the rooms were clean the only thing was oceanveiw room .

Room Tip: Get an oceanfront room !!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tyler C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Thank you for the postive comment. We are glad you had a great stay.. Call us when you are ready to come back and we can see about getting that Ocean Front room. Looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Room was very clean .bed was perfect the best one i ever slept in at any hotel at the beach.i have stayed at several .my room was very clean.we had a king suite on 5th fl.we had all the towels we needed and more .i never once had to ask for nothing .which was unlike all other hotels i have stayed at before.the desk help was wonderful .i agree it does need upgraded in all areas.we loved the swim up pool bar only thing it closes to early seems like at night would be more fun and more money to make.the parking was to small but close to the room. balcony was dirty cigarette butts at non smoking room .bath tub was not so clean but i always do my own cleaning anyway. Huntington,.West Virginia

Room Tip: higher floors up are newer remodeled if you don't have a problem with heights
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Thank you for taking a moment to write such a postive review. We strive to do our very best and our so glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you as soon as you can come back to the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Captains Quarters Resort
Captains Quarters Resort
#92 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,253 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Palace Resort
The Palace Resort
#82 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Palms
The Palms
#93 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#34 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,181 reviews
6.5 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#22 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Reef at South Beach
The Reef at South Beach
#155 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blue

Property: Hotel Blue
Address: 705 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4481 (Formerly Tropical Winds)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#82 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blue 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Hotel Myrtle Beach
Tropical Winds Myrtle Beach Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing