We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Vacation Ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tropical Seas Hotel
Ranked #114 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Vacation Ever!”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Tropical seas from 6/21-6/29. We loved our room so much that we extended our vacation to one more day and left 6/30. Thankfully our room was available. The hotel is old and a little run-down but they kept it clean, our room had amazing views of the ocean and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. We've been going to Myrtle Beach for 20 years and have tried many hotels and resorts and this one was by far the best vacation ever thanks to the Tropical Seas Hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eldorado373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. My employees work hard to please our guests. Thanks for the wonderful review and I welcome you back to the Tropical Seas anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    59
    42
    22
    37
See reviews for
74
70
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Radford, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

HORRIBLE hotel. rude staff. OUTDATED. MOLDED CARPETS. ANCIENT. DISGUSTING. DIRTY. found MARIJUANA in room. joe is rude. pools are NASTY on bottom.. SCARY. OLD. OLD. OLD. OLD. OLD. i was very worried when they handed me 3 ancient gold keys on a paperclip........ couldn't open the door without struggling. only one elevator. DO NOT STAY HERE... EVER. WORST HOTEL EVER AND WILL NEVER BE STAYING HERE AGAIN.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiara k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
I am personally looking into the problems that occurred during your stay. As far as the keys, yes we still have real keys to our guest rooms but no room numbers are ever posted on our keys. We have a code system.I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Irmo, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

First of all, when I arrived the 2 ladies at the Front Desk were very RUDE!!! I had called in for a reservation and the lady I spoke with had given me a discount rate. Well the two ladies at the desk wanted to argue with me that there was no way I actually received that rate. SO luckily, I had the confirmation email and when I showed it to them, they finally gave me the rate quoated. Second, only one parking pass is allowed so you have more than one vehicle you have to pay city parking of 6.00 a day beside the hotel. Finally, the ROOM SUCKED!!! The hotel is very OLD and the mattresses were ancient. I actually got BED BUGS behind both of my ears from sleeping there. I have stayed at alot of hotels at the Beach and I can honestly say this one was the WORST EVER!!! I will never go back there.

Room Tip: Do NOT Pick this Hotel!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Stay Somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
After reading the comments displayed I called in a professional service to thoroughly examine this room. No evidence was found of bed bugs. I apoligize for any confusion about your rate that you had at check-in but I'm glad my staff was able to find and honor your old rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

If you are looking for the Marriot or Hilton experience pass on this hotel. The staff, although pleasant was one person when we checked in at about 10:30pm. i knew it would be an experience when I was handed 2 regular keys instead of a swipe key.
The one elevator was functional, the interior was a bit ratty. There were still ashtrays mounted on the entrance of each floor.
The suite was very spacious, the furnishings are old. There was one smaller flat screen on the main living area wall and an older TV in the main bedroom. The apartment size stove had aluminum foil covering the drip pans. The outside of the refrigerator had been battered by years of luggage passing through the entryway.
The bathroom needs a remodel.
To it's credit, it is beachfront. It was about $170/night. As a spur of the moment, late night decision to stay over it performed its function. Don't expect luxury or modern accomodations.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Big_Eater_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
I appreciate you taking the time to posting your comments I'm aware we are an older property and our decor is outdated. Thank you again for making me aware of the areas I need to focus on in order to continue to improve our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candler, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Had a great time. Jacuzzi was great. Had a great time in the Jacuzzi and I will come back to this hotel. Thank you for a good vacation.

Room Tip: The higher up the better it was for me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kandie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Looking forward to having you back "Carolina Girl". Glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We have stayed here about 10 years ago and remembered it as a nice place, So during a weekend get-a-way we returned. There was a few upgrades that were needed, Like new shower heads and a little paint here and there, but the rooms were very clean an smelled nice. The TV's were the old style, but worked well and AC was cold. We enjoyed our stay and was walking distance to Damines Ribs, So that was for sure a plus.

Room Tip: All rooms are Ocean Front
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for your comment. Vacations should be relaxing and enjoyable and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I am aware of our outdated televisions and I'm trying to replace as many as I can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We decided at the spur of the moment to go to the beach. It was 10:30 pm when we arrived at the motel and had no reservations. With only a few rooms available we were expecting to find a room that was at the bottom of the barrel. We were surprised to find a wonderful room with a king bed and great view of the ocean. The room was nice and the service was super. It made for a great weekend getaway.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWWJBEACHBUM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
I'm glad you enjoyed your weekend getaway. Thank you for the positive comment . People are prone to say negative comments before the good. Again thank you for making Tropical Seas your hotel of choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Sea Horn Motel
Sea Horn Motel
#144 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Sands South
Holiday Sands South
#86 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
564 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sun N Sand Resort
Sun N Sand Resort
#105 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#141 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
694 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
#117 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
813 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Reef Myrtle Beach
The Reef Myrtle Beach
#161 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Seas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Seas Hotel

Property: Tropical Seas Hotel
Address: 2807 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4853
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#65 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropical Seas Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Seas Hotel is located on the southern end of Myrtle Beach featuring beautiful guest rooms, efficiencies, and suites with private balconies and fully equipped kitchens. This beautiful oceanfront facility also features two sparkling oceanfront pools, a large sun deck, Jacuzzi, and a seasonal Pizza Restaurant. Tropical Seas is located just 5 minutes from the Myrtle Beach International Airport and provides easy access to area attractions, numerous golf courses, shopping and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Expedia so you can book your Tropical Seas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tropical Seas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing