We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst experience I ever had with a hotel manager”
Review of The Palms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Palms
Ranked #88 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I checked out e hotel on-line and called fo a reservation. The manager sai he would match the onlinpricewhich included the taxes. We arrived at the hotel; checked out the room which was a very nice oceanfront room. When I received the price it was $29 more than Iexpected. When I
inquired about thedifference in price the room rate was dropped $19. At tat point I cancelled the room well ahead of the time. About an hour later I recieved a call from he manager saying I said he wa liar on the price. I said I ha already gotten another room and ung up. Lo and behold, I checked my credit card bill and Iwas charged for a room at two different prices. I called the hoel an wa told one carge was off but the manager put $100 chargeon my credit card a ancellation fee. I had to call my credit card; dispute te charge and wait for two billing cycles for thicarge to be removed. The hotel might be nice but the manager practices are appalling.

Room Tip: Avoid tis hotel unless you are gettngth room rate in person and check your credit card for charges n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baboo43912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmsGM, General Manager at The Palms, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you for your comments. As I am the General Manager of the Palms Resort and am not at all familiar with your issues can you please call me toll free at 800-300-1198 to discuss this manor. I am not sure if you rented from the front desk or an outside agency.

Lisa Babiak
General Manager
Palms Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (449)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 449 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

This was our second trip to the Palms resort and couldn't be happier. Before our first trip I read a few not so good reviews on trip adviser on the Palms so I was a little skeptical about renting from a pivated owner on line. Thank god I found this beautiful private owners unit at the Palms on line through Daves Myrtle Beach Vacation Rental. I later learned each unit at the Palms is individual and privately owned which might explain a few of the negative reviews I read. I rented Daves 14 fl oceanfront last year and was so bummed to find out that it was already booked for the week I needed this year. This beautiful oceanfront totally made our whole vacation stay each day so you can imagine how disappointed we were. Dave then proceeded to tell us about his second 3fl oceanfront at the Palms and I knew instantly it was going to be another great Myrtle Beach vacation. Both his rentals have far exceeded our expectations and have made our past vacation a pleasurable and memorable trip. You can tell as soon as you walk in the door that this guy takes great pride in his property. I am now spoiled by his oceanfronts rentals I wouldn't stay anywhere else. I would highly recommend Daves Myrtle Beach Vacation Rental to anyone looking for the perfect oceanfront rental for their Myrtle Beach trip..

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stnsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We couldn't get the same room as last time, but Dave got us a great room! We checked out on our anniversary and Dave was kind enough to take several photos for us! It wouldn't hurt for some of the other owners to invest in their condos and bring them up to standards.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LakieArrowood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We enjoyed the beach and actually saw snow from our 9th floor window on dec 26. great views and very comfortable rooms. Service was great and everyone was friendly and helpful. Everything as promised.

Room Tip: we were in room 903 and enjoyed the view and the full kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beckyandkerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at the Palms. The room had an amazing view, we loved the large picture windows in the bedroom and the living area. It was older, but clean. Nice balcony, friendly staff, great price. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Try for an end room, so you can benefit from the large picture windows on the side of the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Spent the Thanksgiving weekend here with my family, parents and brother and his wife. Have stayed here several times and had great experiences every time. Condos are individually owned so always stay in #1201 and/or 401... updated (kitchen, baths, etc), clean and comfortable. The property managers, Dee and Randy, are always so very nice.

Weather was even warm enough for golf and -- of course -- long walks on the beach

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TRam6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

the service was great.....the staff were helpful and friendly.....we had a blast. if we needed anything, they were there to assist us in any way they could. keep up the great work you guys and hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strawberrylee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Blue
Hotel Blue
#143 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,508 reviews
3 mi away
The Palace Resort
The Palace Resort
#82 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,234 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Myrtle Beach
Comfort Suites Myrtle Beach
#65 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Meridian Plaza
Meridian Plaza
#111 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
310 reviews
4.1 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#16 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,461 reviews
3.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites
Staybridge Suites
#62 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms

Address: 2500 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3241
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $95 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Palms 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your The Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel Myrtle Beach
Palms Myrtle Beach
Palms Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing