We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Worst Hotel Ever!!!!”
Review of The Palace Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Palace Resort
Ranked #82 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
A TripAdvisor Member
“Worst Hotel Ever!!!!”
Reviewed June 25, 2004

I have never stayed at a more disgusting hotel. The floors looked like they had not been cleaned or vaccumed in years. While we were at the hotel we stayed in three different rooms. The first room had a couch from the 1950's that had holes in it and was so outdated that you felt like you were stepping back in time. Then when we asked to switch rooms we had a room that had had a leak and the floor was soaked. After a day the odor was evident in that room. After two days the odor was so bad that you could smell the room from down the hallway. When we asked management (off property rental agent) to fix the problem they came over and sprayed; however, that did not eliminate the problem. Again we switched rooms, and the room was nicer, but still had an odor. I do not think that they ever really clean thier rooms. The restaurant was not well maintained and the staff was not friendly. This was by far the worst vacation I have ever been on. I would NOT recommend this resort to anyone. Also, if you rent with off property renters beware that they do not give refunds in any circumstances. The hotel itself also will not assist you if you are not renting with them. Do not rent with this resort, there are a ton of better places.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    271
    156
    140
    307
See reviews for
474
329
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 25, 2004

The Palace Resort was a filthy dump. I looked at two different rooms. I would not stay in either one of them. Management would not return my deposit, so I told them to keep it, and hire a maid to clean the nasty place. I had to take my family and search for another hotel.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 21, 2004

I've stayed at the Palace several times over the past few years, and every time it just gets progressively worse and worse. Here are some of my complaints: It takes FOREVER to get on one of their 3 elevators. The pool is TINY. The cleaning staff are rude (they walked in on us TWICE during our 2-day stay!!!), the halls are filthy, and the bartenders in the downstairs restaurant are horrible. However, here are my fairly positive comments: We stayed in room 1404, and it was fairly clean and had everything you could need to make you feel at home. We got the room for super cheap. I like the fact that it's more 'south' on the strip, and not in the middle of teenie-boppers around the pavilion. The pizza downstairs is GREAT. :)

Hope this helps!

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 18, 2004

I chose this hotel by the pictures on the internet and also in the myrtle beach stay and play book. The pictures are deceiving. The Palace is a dump. We checked in on 6/13/04. When we got to the room, I was almost in tears. Everything was nasty. The carpet was beyond nasty. The glass in the room was smeared. The room stunk. I went back down to the service desk and asked if they could show me another room. They had us in a smoking room and we asked for nonsmoking. The service people were rude and not very helpful. They would not show me another room just said they would give me my money back. They did give me credit for all I had pain even the deposit. But we had traveled 8 hours. We did leave the Palace and went down the street to the Bluewater Resort and this was to our liking. I want anyone who reads this to understand that this is from someone who has really been at the Palace and this is not a joke. I read several messages on this site before our trip to The Palace and just thought the bad remarks were made by someone who just got ticked off at them or maybe another hotel. But they were right it is a dump.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 18, 2004

We stayed at the Palace from June 12th through June 19th, 2004. We rented a two bedroom unit from the front desk. I recommend renting from the front desk in case you have problems with the room. For example, the first unit we were given was awful. It was unit 1508. The carpet was filthy,the walls were dirty, the furniture was breaking apart , the beds sunk in the middle, and the television was so old that it looked like one that was made when tv's were first invented. When we made our reservations we specifically asked for a unit with three televisions therefore we went back to the front desk to complain. The front desk personnel accommondated our request and gave us another unit. We were given unit 2307 which was in much better condition. The only complaint was that the master bedroom matress was too hard. I can honestly say that the pictures on the internet and the outside of the resort looked much better than it really is on the inside. The elevators are dirty and slow at times. The interior hallway carpets are dark, old, and drab. I believe they were supposed to be green however looked black since the hotel is not well kept. We did have daily maid service and the unit did have all utensils necessary to cook a meal if you wish. All personnel at the Palace were friendly. The pool areas are well kept. In matter of fact, I was pleasantly surprised to see the outside pools so nice after seeing the hotel's interior. Our family will probably not stay there again. However, if you don't care about the quality of your accommodations and just want a clean bed to sleep in than this resort may work for you.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 16, 2004

Rented my room from the Wave Rider across the street......it was nasty.......furniture was old and run down......never saw the maids. Don't waste your money on this one.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marion va
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2004

We stayed at the Palace the week of June 6, 2004. After reading the reviews I didn't know what to expect. When we arrived we found it was clean, everyone was friendly, and yes the carpet wasn't real clean but it was sand not dirt. We will stay there again.

Helpful?
6 Thank luckycatMarionVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#35 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,193 reviews
0.4 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,936 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Blue
Hotel Blue
#144 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
#113 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
803 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Reef at South Beach
The Reef at South Beach
#154 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
499 reviews
0.5 mi away
Captains Quarters Resort
Captains Quarters Resort
#93 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Resort

Property: The Palace Resort
Address: 1605 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#57 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Palace Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palace Resort is a beautifully designed oceanfront resort with outdoor pools, whirlpools, sauna, steam room, exercise room, guest laundry and wonderful ocean views. The spacious oceanfront pool deck allows guests to easily access the beach and enjoy the relaxing ocean. This wonderful resort is just perfect for the active family wanting to get away from it all and still have it all anyway. The kids will love the video arcade room and the adults will love the fitness center and the golf putting green. Come see why Palace Resort is a favorite among south Myrtle Beach visitors! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Myrtle Beach
Palace Hotel Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach The Palace
Palace Resort Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing