We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Elevators and parking garage”
Review of The Palace Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Palace Resort
Ranked #80 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Elevators and parking garage”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The hotel itself was great. Had a good room and great ocean view although balcony was small. The carpet was clean but smelled like it had been damp and not dried well? Paper products were not provided but everything else was. Breakfast was GREAT. The staff was great. The only downside was the freaking elevators. We had to wait for ever. One time we even carried our 9 month old in thr stroller down the steps cause of the wait time, both the hotel and parking garage one. The parking garage was a mess. Hard to drive any large trucks or SUVs. I have a huge dodge truck and barely got it parked. Small tight and cramped spaces. Would I stay again?! Yes! ! But on a low floor and drive my much smaller car. ;)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shiflet76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceResortGM, General Manager at The Palace Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Palace Resort and taking the time to leave your review. We appreciate your kind words about your accommodations and the friendly staff. We work very hard to ensure that our guests have a great experience while staying with us. I do apologize about the elevators, unfortunately there is some waiting during the busier hours of the day during which time we often have an elevator operator to try to speed things up. We hope you will come back and see us again and once again THANK YOU!! Robert Dowd General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    271
    156
    140
    307
See reviews for
474
329
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The resort is nice and a great location. BUT...there were many problems. First, trash that smelled the entire hallway of the 3rd floor. It was awful. There was some kind of meat blood that spilled out into the hallway from the trash. One of the hot tubs was broken and they were too busy trying to make the fountain in the lobby work to fix it. The maids only changed out our towels. The did no other cleaning or left any supplies such as coffee, creamer or dish powder, we had to ask for it. And paying for the reservation over the phone was a nightmare. We had the wrong amount deducted from our account not once, but twice. There was a bug that looked like a cockroach the size of my thumb in the room. They said it was not a cockroach but some kind of bug that came out of the trees. Like I said the building was nice, but the people, other than the GM needs more training or a better class of employees that care about their job. The elevator to the parking deck was broken one day. It took 30 minutes to get an elevator when we were checking out. Security called us and ask us to take down our towels off the balcony. That was the room next door not ours. That was scarey. If we really needed security, would they get the right room? Like I said, the location was great. There was never enough handicapped parking. I will not stay there anymore. For the price, I am sure we can find a resort that the employees care about their job.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wyatt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceResortGM, General Manager at The Palace Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Palace Resort and taking the time to post your review. Our goal at the Palace is to make all of our guests feel welcome and comfortable during their stay with us. Unfortunately in this situation is seems we failed. Although we spoke while you were hear I want to apologize again for the issues that occurred and I want to assure you that we are working diligently to correct them. Should you want change your mind and want to return please call me directly so I can make the arrangement personally and see that you are treated with the upmost care and respect. Once again THANK YOU! Robert Dowd General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We recently stayed here in June for our honeymoon. Had an ocean view room.
Full kitchen was helpful when wanting to stay in and not go out to eat. Loved seeing the sun rise and set up from our balcony.
Best sleep ever! Left door open to balcony and listened to waves all night long.
The only complaint we had was the amount of time you had to wait for an elevator to go either up or down.

Room Tip: 603 Sun Room with a beautiful ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceResortGM, General Manager at The Palace Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Palace and taking the time to leave a review of your stay. I am very happy to hear that you chose us for this very special occasion. In the future we hope that the Palace Resort will be your vacation destination for many years to come. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon!! Robert Dowd General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I chose Palace Resort based on wanting a view of the ocean and at a value price. We stayed on the 16th floor the week of July 22nd . I seemed to have been fortunate, and never waited very long for the elevator. The room could have been cleaner. There were food splatters along the fridge beside the stove, and one of the blinds was missing a rod so it made opening and closing more difficult. The bed and the sofa bed could have been more comfortable for sleeping.

On the upside, they had an excellent full breakfast that is included in the price. Pools, spas, and access to the beach were great. Parking is also convenient. The staff was very pleasant. Everyone from the front desk, restaurant to maintenance. I put in a call because I had trouble with the tv, and the guy arrived in 5 minutes.

Would I stay here again? Absolutely!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank back2pack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had stayed in room 1104 which the beds were uncomfortable also there was an extension cord to reach the lamp and the shower was clogged for a day and the faucet in the tub jus fell off because it was so old do not rent from smith rentals there is different rooms by different owners jus dont rent from them whatever u do and the palace only had 3 elevators that went to the ground floor and u had to go to a different elevator jus to get to ur car

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brandi80z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Loved the view from our room! (1604) oceanfront with balcony and two large windows. Could also see the skywheel. The staff was great especially LeeRoy! The free breakfast for two was a nice suprize. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sissygoodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KNOXVILLE TN
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Nice place but does need some upgrades. The biggest downfall has to be the size of the place and only 3 very slow elevators. Room was ok not the best but not the worst. Access to the beach was right there and the staff was very nice. Would go again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebelmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,936 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#35 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,193 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Blue
Hotel Blue
#144 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
#114 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
803 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Reef at South Beach
The Reef at South Beach
#156 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
499 reviews
0.5 mi away
Captains Quarters Resort
Captains Quarters Resort
#93 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Resort

Property: The Palace Resort
Address: 1605 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#55 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Palace Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palace Resort is a beautifully designed oceanfront resort with outdoor pools, whirlpools, sauna, steam room, exercise room, guest laundry and wonderful ocean views. The spacious oceanfront pool deck allows guests to easily access the beach and enjoy the relaxing ocean. This wonderful resort is just perfect for the active family wanting to get away from it all and still have it all anyway. The kids will love the video arcade room and the adults will love the fitness center and the golf putting green. Come see why Palace Resort is a favorite among south Myrtle Beach visitors! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Myrtle Beach
Palace Hotel Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach The Palace
Palace Resort Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing