We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Nice Surprise”
Review of The Palace Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Palace Resort
Ranked #82 of 208 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Last minute find on the internet. Very good value for the money. Great view and room layout. Had a very good hot breakfast with the room rate each morning. Have some construction going on, but it will be for the betterment of the property. Was allowed to choose room to make sure it was up to standard. Housekeeping was nice, but a couple of the front desk individuals need to work on customer service. However, it was not enough to take away from the stay. Would look into staying there again for the value and experience.

Room Tip: Side sun rooms are awesome! Great view from the 14th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DejaVu14Columbia_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    268
    156
    136
    307
See reviews for
467
326
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Huntersville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Just got back from staying at the Palace Resort. Not a good place for families. My mother and 12 year old nephew went to the hot tub on the 22nd floor and walked up on a couple having s#* in the hot tub. She went to the front deck to complain and the girl at the desk just rolled her eyes and the man at the desk just said that it wouldn't take the man in hot tub long to be done with his business. A few days later when we asked the desk clerk if she could unlock the inside door to the hot tub on ground level because it was very cold and windy outside we were told no and if we didn't want to walk around to the outside door we could go to the 22nd floor. They were once again told about the people having s#* in that hot tub and the response this time was; that this was an on going problem and that she didn't understand why people keep doing it. So it seems that managment knows about the problem but yet no one does anything about it. This is the 21st century people, have you ever heard about security cameras or how about a security guard ( that was somthing that I only had a 10 second glance of the hole 5 days that I was there). I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Garner, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We reserved a "Sun Suite" based on the pictures online and were a bit disappointed that the first room we attempted to check into did not have a queen bed and the room was quite dated and poorly furnished. We called the front desk and after a bit of conversation about the bed size, we were given the keys to 3 different rooms that were in the price range that we had reserved. The room we ended up in was lovely and newly upgraded (unlike the other 3 we visited) and was well maintained. We were pretty happy up to the pointthat we took a shower and found that the water pressure was almost non-existent. We couldn't even wash our hair in the shower because we didn't think we could get all the soap out. Nice free breakfast. I would be careful with taking the pictures on line as the "reality" of the type of room you may want to reserve. The rooms are not all equal and you should not be afriad to ask for another rooom. We were told that all the properties are decorated differently and individually owned. Something to definitely keep in mind.

The spas outside didn't seem to have been cleaned and had alot of bugs and sand in the bottom.

Room Tip: See notes about regarding how to look for a room that meets your expectations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sbabyuwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Mississippi
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Staying at this hotel has been a tradition for me and some of my military friends for many years. We have so many fun memories made here but over the years the property has gotten run down. This year they were doing renovations and it seems they are trying to modernize but it is a slow process. The elevators are slow...so slow that I can walk to the 5th floor before the elevator arrives to the first floor to pick me up.
All in all my love for this resort is probably because we have many great memories here.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulutude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This place is great, This is my third year at the palace and I love it more and more. I stayed in unit 1004 this time and my room was absolutely beautiful. My only complaint is the housekeeping staff, I stayed for 7 nights and only received service 2 of my days. had to go to the front desk to get toilet paper, towels, and wash clothes. The front desk was wonderful, efficient, helpful, and knowledgeable of there job. They always spoke and greeted everyone with a smile (It is hard to find good workers nowadays). The breakfast buffet was great they had a variety of food such as: cheese eggs, bacon, ham, waffles, sausage patties, fruits, and during some of the week days you could order off of the menu where they offered french toast that was to die for. My room had a great view being on the corner of the building with floor to ceiling bay windows where I could see all the way down the beach. They are also doing plenty of reservations to the resort and it is already looking great. The renovations was no problem for me. I stayed in my room most of the day and enjoyed the waves going back and forth on the beach. If guys are looking for peace and quiet the palace is the place to be. I will like to thank the breakfast staff and front desk for there great customer service and being very friendly. It is because if you guys that I come back every year, even though there are a bunch of new faces. I love you guys see you next year!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Select 1004 if it just you and your spouse you will not regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ebony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conyers, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This was the first time we stayed at the Palace. We rented one of the Sun Suite rooms but upon checkin we were not given the Sun Sweet room. I had to talk to the manager to get the room I rented. She was very helpful and got our room for us.
The Palace was very clean, and the room was well furnished with plenty of towels. Take your own dishwashing detergent, paper towels,and klenix as ithese were not furnished.
The free breakfast was wonderful. The cook made good tasting food, and plenty of it, we were able to order what we wanted, not just a dry buffet.
I would stay at the Palace again and recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: I would reccommend the Sun Sweet Rooms. It has a beautiful view of the city lights at night from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palacequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husband and I have stayed several times in room 1511. We are the Treadwell's from NC. Our stays's are brief but wonderful and we appreciate the comfort and cleanliness of the rooms. We are getting up in age but still love the ocean and the peace that we get while staying. Thank you so much and God bless you. In Jesus precious Name The Treadwell's

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Blue
Hotel Blue
#140 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#34 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,181 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Reef at South Beach
The Reef at South Beach
#155 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
#107 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.4 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,921 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Palms
The Palms
#91 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Resort

Property: The Palace Resort
Address: 1605 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#57 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Palace Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palace Resort is a beautifully designed oceanfront resort with outdoor pools, whirlpools, sauna, steam room, exercise room, guest laundry and wonderful ocean views. The spacious oceanfront pool deck allows guests to easily access the beach and enjoy the relaxing ocean. This wonderful resort is just perfect for the active family wanting to get away from it all and still have it all anyway. The kids will love the video arcade room and the adults will love the fitness center and the golf putting green. Come see why Palace Resort is a favorite among south Myrtle Beach visitors! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Myrtle Beach
Palace Hotel Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach The Palace
Palace Resort Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing