We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overnite getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #47 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 27, 2014

we love sitting in our room and watching the ocean, beach, and pier. We like how close Market Commons is. Close to Murels Inlet, Pawleys Island, and all the southern Myrtle Beach beach sites. Still waiting to get the courage to get on Ferris Wheel!

Room Tip: we like the veiw from Palmento dunes building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ron w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Ron W,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of Springmaid Beach Resort. It is always wonderful to hear when we do a great job so we can pass the accolades on to our team. We appreciate you writing!

We hope you get a chance to come back and see us again real soon. Thanks again for choosing Springmaid Beach Resort for your get-away and we can say the SkyWheel is an amazing ride with a great view of Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,
Donald Hovis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,778)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,412 - 1,418 of 2,778 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014

The last my wife and I visited the Resort & Conference Center was January, 2013. At that time we were attending the 2013 SC State Square Dance Convention, the 6th time we have stayed there for this particular convention.This was our 6th visit to the Springmaid Beach Resort.
We have just returned from the 2014 edition of the same organization, and the Resort was greatly improved.
Over the years we saw a decline in the quality of the Resort and it has been nice to see the positive changes. This is not the Waldorf Astoria and doesn't pretend to be, even if some guests expect it be be. they want Waldorf Astoria at Econolodge prices. It may be great to want that, but it just doesn't happen.
The staff, in all departments seems to have been better trained in customer relations and they now are quite friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. during our stay this weekend, one of the main power transformers blew. This happened at 4 PM, as we lost all room heating, televisions, elevators, and lighting. At 6:15 PM the transformer had been repaired and all services restored. At all times during this event, staff persons we came into contact with were efficient and clearly trying to present help as needed. One of our fellow attendees is confined to a motorized electric scooter and was in his room on an upper floor when power failed. The Resort staff immediately assisted in getting both he and his scooter down to ground level. His wife was greatly relieved to have the help.
Would we stay there again? The convention is there next January and we already have our reservations.
All of the guest rooms have been renovated with some amount of attention to detail. Some work still should be done, sealing around doors to stop wond flow, for example. But overall the effect has been quite good.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Live Oak building are closer to all amenities associated with meetings at the Resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SquareCaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Square Caller,

The team we have here at Springmaid Beach Resort is one of the happiest, friendliest teams I have ever had the pleasure of working alongside. We all understand the definition of the word "hospitality" and make sure we epitomize it daily. Thanks for taking the time to share your review and we are honored to host the Square Dance Group here and we look forward to many more years.

Thank you for taking the time to share your Springmaid Beach Resort experience. We are grateful for the 5 star review, and look forward to many more visits from you. See you next time!

Sincerely,

Donald Hovis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

My parents use to take us to Springmaid for a weeks vacation when we were children. Recently, I had the opportunity to stay there again with a few of my friends....WOW a lot has changed. The rooms are beautiful and very clean. The service was great! We ate breakfast every morning before we began our day. I have recommended this resort to everyone. One request: I wish Springmaid would have had a spa on the property, after all the shopping we did we could have used a massage! We will be back! We had a GREAT weekend!!!

Room Tip: South side rooms are nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Annette O,

Thank you for taking the time to share your 5 star review of Springmaid Beach Resort. It is always wonderful to hear when we do a great job so we can pass the accolades on to our team. We appreciate you writing! I enjoyed reading about the wonderful time you had with your girlfriends on a beach getaway.

We hope you get a chance to come back and see us again real soon. Thanks again for choosing Springmaid Beach Resort for your get-away!

Sincerely,

Donald Hovis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This hotel has been updated but it is still an old property. I travel internationally for work and stay in great three and four star hotels. I will admit I am a frugal traveler, I like to maximize my dollar and CAN NOT stand getting ripped off! I use many websites to book travel and enjoy staying at new properties for a great deal and am going to start reviewing them truthfully for more experienced travelers. I am somewhat amazed this property is so highly ranked and wonder if some contributors' reviews are real. Seems like many 5 star reviews are first time contributors. If you are an experienced traveler take into account noisy old plumbing and end of airport runway location. The "Five Diamond Series mattresses with plush bed toppers, pillows and linens" are dated Jan 2013 but are not pillowtop and not name brand, comfort was an issue(Photo). The curtains were not attached at the ends so making the room dark was impossible(Photo). My room was in the Palmetto which has a parking deck attached and has direct floor access so safety is an issue(Photo). If you do stay at this hotel select your room very carefully, some rooms are directly in front of the parking deck ramps, so it would be very noisy along with the airplanes at 7:00 AM. A mobile home and RV park is directly beside this hotel(Photo).

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
3  Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear K M,

After reading your review, I'm very disappointed that our accommodations were not to your satisfaction. We strive to accommodate our guests to the best of our abilities and I'm sorry that we fell short in your expectations. I appreciate your feedback and we work to make our resort one everyone will want to stay. I appreciate you bringing this situation to our attention, and we as a resort value your comments, feedback and your business with us. I'm very sorry that the nearby airport caused noise and took away from making your vacation relaxing and enjoyable. The campground area located on our property has been part of our Resort for many years, this area features annual leased campsites for families to come and enjoy Myrtle Beach. The area is clean, quiet and maintained on a regular basis. I'm very sorry this area of our resort wasn't to your satisfaction.

I understand that you are leery of returning to our facility based on your most recent experience, however with the improvements we are constantly making to better serve our guests I can assure you that if you decide to return your stay will be one with positive memories.

Sincerely,

Donald Hovis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed here last summer. The rooms were very clean and well kept. The balconies were really nice, with great views. The Pier was amazing every morning and night. Alot was going on and it was beautiful all lit up. It was very crowded and check-in was horrible. It took us waiting in line for over a hour to get checked in. For the most part though the staff was very friendly considering... The laundry room was a long way away from the part we were at which was hard, they only had 3 washers and dryers for a resort of 3 hotels...waiting for them was a very long wait. Over all it was a pretty nice stay, although I will probably never stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JSG76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear JSG76,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of Springmaid Beach Resort. It is always wonderful to hear when we do a great job so we can pass the accolades on to our team. We appreciate you writing!

We hope you get a chance to come back and see us again real soon. Thanks again for choosing Springmaid Beach Resort for your get-away!

Sincerely,
Donald Hovis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

reception was great. they had to check in our 250+ family members and other guests. rooms were dated but clean.food options at the property were not very good, but lots of local restaurants nearby. the banquet food was really much better than I thought it would be. all hotel staff we encountered were courteous and helpful

Room Tip: corner Hospitality suites are bigger. all room are great and close to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PhillyKev1264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear PhillyKev1264,

The team we have here at Springmaid Beach Resort is one of the happiest, friendliest teams I have ever had the pleasure of working alongside. We all understand the definition of the word "hospitality" and make sure we epitomize it daily. Thanks for taking the time to write this review, we are honored that you and your family reunion chose our resort.

Thank you for taking the time to share your Springmaid Beach Resort experience. We are grateful for this visit and look forward to many more visits from you. See you next time!

Sincerely,
Donald Hovis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

My family stayed at the Springmaid last year for our family vacation and loved it! There was something for everyone to do and we all loved the Luau. Recently my husband and I were able to get away for a weekend, just the two of us and really enjoyed relaxing at the Springmaid. The staff, the restaurant, the pier, everything was great! We can't wait to go back this summer with the family again!

Room Tip: We have stayed in the one bedroom ocean front and the two bedroom oceanview and both were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank April S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear April S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your 5 star review of Springmaid Beach Resort. It is always wonderful to hear when we do a great job so we can pass the accolades on to our team. I appreciate you writing and sharing your excellent comments with us, I'm glad you and your family were able to enjoy the Luau during the stay with us.

We hope you get a chance to come back and see us again real soon. Thanks again for choosing Springmaid Beach Resort for your get-away!

Sincerely,
Donald Hovis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
9.6 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#6 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,756 reviews
11.4 mi away
Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Sheraton Myrtle Beach Convention Center Hotel
4.8 mi away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
1.1 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront

Address: 3200 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4860 (Formerly Springmaid Oceanfront Resort Myrtle Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#29 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#34 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#38 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $113 - $478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront 4*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently remodeled, the entire 27-acre, oceanfront resort feels fresh and new. Our location on the quieter southern end of the famous Ocean Boulevard feels more secluded, yet this family-friendly resort is just minutes from all the excitement of Myrtle Beach's most popular attractions, theaters, shopping, dining and golf. Spacious, designer-renovated rooms include all ocean view balconies, beautifully appointed fabric and furnishings, plush 5 Diamond Series mattresses and bedding, granite countertops, mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker, safe and more. The resort features indoor/outdoor pools, Ocean Blue restaurant for all day dining, the beachfront Southern Tide Bar & Grill, 1068 ft Fishing Pier, 18-hole miniature golf course, fitness center, gift shop, tackle shop, and wireless internet. The resort offers more than 35,000 square feet of meeting and event spaces and is host to Myrtle Beach's largest oceanfront Conference Center. All guests enjoy complimentary access to Springmaid Pier. Fishing is available at a discounted rate. All rooms are air conditioned and non-smoking. We offer a limited number of pet-friendly accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springmaid Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Springmaid Beach Resort And Conference Center
Springmaid Hotel
Springmaid Resort
Springmaid Beach Myrtle
Beach Springmaid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing