We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as nice as last time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #37 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not as nice as last time”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This was our second trip to Springmaid. They have really made some great renovations in the rooms and on the pier. Our room was nice, the bed was very comfortable, the view sucked, but we didn't go out on the balcony much, it had cigarette ashes all over it and we had to dodge black soot when we walked out on it. That was a bummer. Since we are later risers we didn't get to the breakfast it is only open for 3 hours 7am-10am. Room service forgot us one day and the next, all they did was put clean towels and leave coffee packets. Since it was bike week, we didn't get much sleep the last couple nights there, Our room was located in the live Oaks building, right near a parking lot and over a garage. There should have been a curfew for noise, since some were running the bikes at 1:30 am, and not just pulling in and turning them off. Parking was also a problem in the lot near our room, since many bikers took up 3 spots, truck, trailer and bike and daytime many locals park to use the beach and fish. They do charge for guests to fish, but not to walk the pier. The bar was great, the store is wonderful. Grounds are nice and clean. All in all it is a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Try not to stay in the Live Oaks building facing south. the parking lot is right outside your door a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonzNNathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear DonzNNathan,

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback and comments with us. We appreciate you staying with us for the 2nd consecutive year. We have forwarded your comments on housekeeping and the loud noises to our entire management team for review. With our recently completed renovations we feel our resort is one everyone will enjoy. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,175
    686
    315
    173
    178
See reviews for
1,131
632
48
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (796)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Once again I made a visit to Springmaid Beach Resort. Our family has been vacationing at Springmaid for over 10 years. I love the family resort atmosphere and have always felt my children were safe while on vacation.
It has become our "home away from home" to the point that it was the only place my daughter wanted to be married. So on this most recent visit, we book the resort as her wedding venue! She will realize her dream and be married there in March 2014!
If I didn't think highly of this location, I would not be investing in Springmaid as her wedding venue!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmvacationplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Cmvacationplease,

We truly enjoyed reading your review, and we appreciate your patronage over the last 10 years. We're extremely glad to see your comments on our resort and being family-friendly. Your comments on Springmaid being your "Home Away From Home" made us smile throughout reading your entire review. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed in live oaks building. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We will definitely be back again. I would recommend this place to anyone going to Myrtle Beach in the near future. We also highly recommend the Marlins restaurant for breakfast. The omelet bar was excellent. The overall experience was wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear James B,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. We really enjoyed reading your comments on our Live Oaks Building and the breakfast buffet. Our breakfast buffet is the best way to start any day at Springmaid. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Such a great place to stay. If you get in the right spot there is a great view of the ocean and the pool. We felt safe. We were able to drive our car to the same floor as our room, so not a lot of hauling our things to the elevator. Very hospitable. Great beds and the pillows are awesome. I went home and did a search and bought the same pillows for my family. The Pier was wonderful with a goofy big bird that loved hanging out with people.
This will always be my choice.
Lynn

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side of the Palmetto, and ask to be on the 3rd floor or higher it has the best vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, North Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2013

we have stayed here a few times before. love the renovations that have been done! makes it comparable to other resorts. Every area of the resort is kept very clean! Very nice pier......large and clean. location of the resort is great! Easy access......Breakfast buffet at the Marlin's Restaurant is great value! Will stay here again!

Room Tip: Live Oaks building is our favorite! Marlin's Restaurant serves a great breakfast buffet at a re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear DianneM,

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback and comments on your most recent stay with us. We truly enjoyed your review and especially the comments on our renovations. With our recently completed renovations we feel our resort is a gem in Myrtle Beach. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Just returned from Springmaid. Stayed in Palmetto. Like that we were able to park on the same floor we stayed on and it was ATTACHED to the hotel, not across the street. Room was extremely clean. Did not like being so close to the airport. Heard flights starting at 6 am. It seemed like the plane was in our room that early in the morning.

The exercise room was large (although I never used it). There was an indoor and outdoor pool as well as a tots pool.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper and want to sleep in, bring ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TSR108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear TSR108,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. We enjoyed reading your review and your comments on our clean rooms. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My husband and I purchased a groupon for springmaid. The property is newly renovated and all rooms are ocean view. The rooms are very clean and have comfy beds with a variety of pillows. I was pleasantly surprised with the offerings of the property. They have miniature golf, an arcade ( appeared to be under the process of renovation), a private pier with great fishing, pools, restaurants, and of course a great beach. It is located at the end of the strip which is great if you want a quieter stay.

We did have a couple of mishaps that were resolved. The first was the internet was down our first morning. I contacted the lobby and they connected me with Wi-Fi support. He handled the matter quickly and we were up in about 15 minutes. The other issue was with housekeeping. They threw away items we left in our room twice. We like to take our luggage with us when we go out each day so they assumed we checked out when they only found a few toiletries and leftovers in our room. We worked with Holly in guest services and she was awesome. She took great care of us and I trust they will put measures in place to prevent such mishaps in the future.

The only other cons for our stay would be the guest demographics and the full breakfast doesn't offer a variety of meat options. There were an unusual amount of senior citizens there during our stay. We are a young couple so we would have appreciated a younger crowd. Regarding the breakfast buffet, I hope you like pork. Otherwise, you can still get satisfied with the other buffet options.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the beach are better to avoid hearing noise from the street. Good for families, sing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danielle s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Danielle_S,

We are excited to hear that you had a wonderful vacation with us, thanks for taking the time to share your feedback and comments with us. As we were reading your review, we really enjoyed reading your comments on our rooms and comfortable beds. We recently completed a renovation and consistently receive comments on our beds. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
9.5 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#4 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,649 reviews
11.3 mi away
Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Sheraton Myrtle Beach Convention Center Hotel
4.6 mi away
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
9.0 mi away
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront

Property: DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront
Address: 3200 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4860 (Formerly Springmaid Oceanfront Resort Myrtle Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#29 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#34 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#38 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront 4*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently remodeled, the entire 27-acre, oceanfront resort feels fresh and new. Our location on the quieter southern end of the famous Ocean Boulevard feels more secluded, yet this family-friendly resort is just minutes from all the excitement of Myrtle Beach's most popular attractions, theaters, shopping, dining and golf. Spacious, designer-renovated rooms include all ocean view balconies, beautifully appointed fabric and furnishings, plush 5 Diamond Series mattresses and bedding, granite countertops, mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker, safe and more. The resort features indoor/outdoor pools, Ocean Blue restaurant for all day dining, the beachfront Southern Tide Bar & Grill, 1068 ft Fishing Pier, 18-hole miniature golf course, fitness center, gift shop, tackle shop, and wireless internet. The resort offers more than 35,000 square feet of meeting and event spaces and is host to Myrtle Beach's largest oceanfront Conference Center. All guests enjoy complimentary access to Springmaid Pier. Fishing is available at a discounted rate. All rooms are air conditioned and non-smoking. We offer a limited number of pet-friendly accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springmaid Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Springmaid Beach Resort And Conference Center
Springmaid Hotel
Springmaid Resort
Springmaid Beach Myrtle
Beach Springmaid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing