We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good value but short on service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Springmaid Oceanfront Resort Myrtle Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Springmaid Oceanfront Resort Myrtle Beach
Ranked #44 of 218 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
East Coast
Level Contributor
154 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Good value but short on service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

All rooms in all 3 buildings are oceanfront with a balcony. Recently renovated and clean. Winter rates are excellent. 2 restaurants on site, though 1 only serves breakfast and the other closes by 6pm.

Somewhat of a confusing complex - as first timers we found ourselves taking many extra steps due to poor layout.

Problems initially with phone reservationist. Required a call back to straighten out.

Problems with our entry door required 2 calls to get assistance.

Housekeeping did not come to freshen the room even though I called several times and was assured they would.

That said, it is a lovely private beach and if you can work around the above, it makes for a nice weekend.

Within walking distance to Myrtle Beach State Park.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Oceanfront Resort Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Past Guest,

After reading your review, I am very disappointed that our resort was not to your satisfaction. We strive to accommodate our guests to the best of our abilities and I am sorry that we fell short in your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and work to make our resort one everyone will want to stay. I understand that you are leery of returning to our facility based on your most recent experience, however with the improvements we are constantly making to better serve our guest I can assure you that if you decide to return you stay will be one with positive memories.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,085
    621
    268
    155
    160
See reviews for
1,053
545
40
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (761)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Great property, AAA+ service, very nice and pleasant stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Highly recommend for those looking for a quiet getaway. The property is at the beginning of the world famous strip, no traffic, secluded, great security. Buffett cafeteria was top notch with hot and good food, able to eat at the property and enjoy the beach views.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Oceanfront Resort Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. We appreciate your comments on our resort and staff, we value your business. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iron Station, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We held our New Years Eve wedding in Springmaid's ocean front ballroom. Everything was wonderful, atmosphere, staff, and food. ALL of our guests enjoyed their nicely remodeled rooms and awesome breakfast buffet, loaded with fresh fruit, meats, french toast, warm cinnamon rolls, and Omelet station. We absolutely LOVED the omelet man, Ray. He seems to work 7 days a week. He was so incredibly sweet and courteous and he makes a MEAN omelet!

We definitely will be back!!!

Room Tip: Stay in the palmetto building on the top floor for the best view ever!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Oceanfront Resort Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. Congratulations and were honored you choice us for your special day. Thanks for taking the time to write this review, we truly value your business, comments and feedback. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at Springmaid for a long weekend, and had a wonderful trip. The staff was more than accomodating, and very personable. The rooms were perfect, and we enjoyed the amount of time we were able to spend in them. We will definitely be coming back in the summer as our trip was in the winter and many of the attractions were closed. Cait wait!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HWepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Oceanfront Resort Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. Thanks for your comments on our staff, we really appreciate and value your business, comments and feedback. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My husband and I got married at Springmaid Beach Resort at the beginning of December and it was the more perfect than I could have ever imagined! The hotel room was beautiful! The reception room was so wonderful! Our guests are still talking about how yummy the food was! Everything was so great and the staff were phenomenal! If you have the chance, spend some time at Springmaid Beach Resort!!

Room Tip: We loved the suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooke E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Oceanfront Resort Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. Congratulations and we were honored to have your special day here with us. Thanks for taking the time to write this review, we truly value your business, feedback and comments. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby, NC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We have stayed here several times. Now that the rooms have been remodeled, it is better than ever. The room was very clean, The bed very comfy. We look forward to our next trip. We only had a couple minor complaints that were addressed quickly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BuddyDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Oceanfront Resort Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. Thanks for taking the time to write this review, we appreciate and value your business, comments and feedback. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I took my grandaughter to Springmaid for a fishing trip. We enjoyed the stay. The room was very clean and had pretty much everything we needed. The only thing I wish they offered is a full stove and dishes. I keep forgetting to take plates and silverware. I went to the front desk and he had 4 plastic spoons he let me have.
The pier is very nice and has plenty of places to sit. We did not catch a lot, but had a good time.
I have stayed here ever since they had small rooms on the side of the road. The place has grown and is much more convenient than in those days.
Will definitely go back soon.

Room Tip: The building we were in did not have an elevator. So if you don't mind climbing stairs, it is th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Oceanfront Resort Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. Thanks for taking the time to write this review, we appreciate and value your business, feedback and comments. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
4.7 mi away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
8.1 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#21 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,797 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#24 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,748 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
4.4 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#26 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springmaid Oceanfront Resort Myrtle Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springmaid Oceanfront Resort Myrtle Beach

Property: Springmaid Oceanfront Resort Myrtle Beach
Address: 3200 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4860 (Formerly DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Myrtle Beach Oceanfront)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#34 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#38 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Springmaid Oceanfront Resort Myrtle Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently remodeled, the entire 27-acre, oceanfront resort feels fresh and new. Springmaid's location on the quieter southern end of the famous Ocean Boulevard feels more secluded, yet this family-friendly resort is just minutes from all the excitement of Myrtle Beach's most popular attractions, theaters, shopping, dining and golf. Spacious, designer-renovated rooms include all ocean view balconies, beautifully appointed fabric and furnishings, plush 5 Diamond Series mattresses and bedding, granite countertops, full-sized refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, safe and more. The resort features 6 pools, 2 lazy rivers, Marlin's Buffet Restaurant, the beachfront BARnacles Bar & Grill, 1068 ft Fishing Pier, 18-hole miniature golf course, game arcade, fitness room, gift shop, tackle shop, ample complimentary parking, and complimentary wireless internet. The resort offers more than 35,000 square feet of meeting and event spaces and is host to Myrtle Beach's largest oceanfront Conference Center. All guests enjoy complimentary access to Springmaid Pier. Fishing is available at a discounted rate. All rooms are air conditioned and non-smoking. Springmaid offers a limited number of pet-friendly accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Otel, Hotwire, Expedia, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Springmaid Oceanfront Resort Myrtle Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springmaid Beach Resort And Conference Center
Springmaid Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Springmaid Hotel
Springmaid Resort
Springmaid Beach Myrtle
Beach Springmaid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing