We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great place...great value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #42 of 216 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Camden, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place...great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Check in was really simple...friendly staff...service with a smile...Room was in great condition...very nice...Pier was clean and actually nice and quiet which is expected this time of year...quiet, restful night...nice shower and temperature of water...breakfast was great and included in the package...friendly staff at the pier gift/tackle shop...would definitely return and/or recommend to friends/family...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. Thanks for your feedback and comments, we appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your great experience. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,125
    649
    290
    164
    169
See reviews for
1,090
585
41
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (783)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Pauls, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Family oriented older resort. Always stay here when we go to Myrtle Beach. Has its own pier, restaurant, cafe, mini gold/arcade, gift shop and an art museum. All ocean view rooms. They are undergoing renovations but we didn't mind. Everyone is so nice and friendly. Close by to many of the attractions in Myrtle Beach but just far enough away from all the congestion. Highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msgldv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. Thanks for making Springmaid the place you stay when you visit Myrtle Beach. We value your feedback, comments and more importantly your business.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

I usually visit friends in the Myrtle Beach area every Thanksgiving and always stay at Springmaid hotel. It's right on the beach, the rooms are spacious and have full size refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers, etc. All the comforts of home plus the rooms I've stayed in have had balconies overlooking the ocean (not sure if all rooms do, though, check before making a reservation.) The rates are very reasonable in the winter, averaging about $70 per night including taxes. Can't beat it for value. My room rate included a daily breakfast buffet for two-- nothing fancy but a pretty good selection of items including made-to-order omelettes. The hotel has just recently completed a minor renovation of some of the rooms updating the decor a bit. Overall, I'm always very satisfied staying here.

Room Tip: One of the buildings does not have an elevator -- make sure when you confirm which building you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. Were glad to see you have a Thanksgiving Tradition of staying with us. We also value your comments on our rooms and breakfast. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

My wife and I checked in without a hitch but arriving at our accommodation, we found there was no elevators and five floors! I was 1 month out of a total knee replacement. We drove back to registeration and my wife told of our situation.The woman at registeration felt compassion and upgraded us at no charge to another lodge with elevators. However, the lodge was being redone, i.e. carpet torn up, rough concrete.
I believe we should have been informed prior to check-in.
While pleased with all staff and their efforts to make our stay more pleasant, we would have preferred to stay at a building that had already been refinished.

Room Tip: Make sure an elevator is available Make sure all refinishing work is complete
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 93Bert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Past Guest,

After reading your review, I am very disappointed that our accommodations were not to your satisfaction. We strive to accommodate our guests to the best of our abilities and I am sorry that we fell short in your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and work to make our resort one everyone will want to stay. I understand that you are leery of returning to our facility based on your most recent experience, however with the improvements we are constantly making to better serve our guest I can assure you that if you decide to return you stay will be one with positive memories.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersburg, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We were there recently during the Craftshow and just had the best time! Rooms were updated. Duvet covers were so nice!
If you have never been to the craftshow I highly recommend it. So many wonderful things to look at and buy for all ages.
There were some renovations going on at the time, but we were not inconvenienced at all.
I enjoyed watching the planes come in and out and the staff couldn't have been nicer!
We look forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank butchandina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. Thanks for your comments on our Craft Show, we really enjoy having that event here each year. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goose Creek, South Carolina
Level Contributor
175 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

This was our first time here but it won't be our last. We enjoyed the resort. The room was big, just as pictured. We stayed in the Palmetto Bldg, there was a refrig. and a microwave. Renovations are being done, but it did not effect us, our room had already been finished. Check in was fast, easy to find the room, parking deck goes to the 4th floor and we stayed on the 5th floor. The resort is in the flight path of the airport, but the noise did not bother us. Free WiFi in the room.We did not eat there, there are so many good places close to the resort to eat at. Shopping is close, with several choices. The beach was clean, and the pier was close to the room. The outside pool area was getting a make over.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. We thrive to provide the best accommodations on the south end of beach. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

We had a great stay from the moment we checked in - the front desk staff were very friendly and helpful - to the room being clean, the beds comfortable. The plus was the breakfast and the parking garage located on site: we could actually walk from our car to the room - no stairs or elevator required. As for the breakfast, be sure to try the omelet station - freshly made omelets. Great idea. The peer and beach were wonderful to walk on. The hotel grounds were clean and well maintained. The indoor pool great to swim in - clean and warm. Even the hotel location was great as it was at the end of Ocean Blvd so away from the noisy traffic of the main part of the beach but very close to Coastal Grand Mall, Market Common and access to the "fast" 17. We are planning to return to this hotel within a few months.

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view but if you would like a straight-on view then ask for the Palmetto buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. We thrive to provide the best accommodations on the south end of beach. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
4.7 mi away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
1.2 mi away
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,944 reviews
11.4 mi away
Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront

Property: DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront
Address: 3200 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4860 (Formerly Springmaid Oceanfront Resort Myrtle Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#29 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#34 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#38 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront 4*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently remodeled, the entire 27-acre, oceanfront resort feels fresh and new. Our location on the quieter southern end of the famous Ocean Boulevard feels more secluded, yet this family-friendly resort is just minutes from all the excitement of Myrtle Beach's most popular attractions, theaters, shopping, dining and golf. Spacious, designer-renovated rooms include all ocean view balconies, beautifully appointed fabric and furnishings, plush 5 Diamond Series mattresses and bedding, granite countertops, mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker, safe and more. The resort features indoor/outdoor pools, Ocean Blue restaurant for all day dining, the beachfront Southern Tide Bar & Grill, 1068 ft Fishing Pier, 18-hole miniature golf course, fitness center, gift shop, tackle shop, and wireless internet. The resort offers more than 35,000 square feet of meeting and event spaces and is host to Myrtle Beach's largest oceanfront Conference Center. All guests enjoy complimentary access to Springmaid Pier. Fishing is available at a discounted rate. All rooms are air conditioned and non-smoking. We offer a limited number of pet-friendly accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Odigeo, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springmaid Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Springmaid Beach Resort And Conference Center
Springmaid Hotel
Springmaid Resort
Springmaid Beach Myrtle
Beach Springmaid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing