We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Painting Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Springmaid Oceanfront Resort Myrtle Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Springmaid Oceanfront Resort Myrtle Beach to your Saves list
Springmaid Oceanfront Resort Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3200 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Myrtle Beach Oceanfront)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 218 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Weymouth, Massachusetts
1 review
“Painting Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was my first time at Springmaid resort watercolor workshops. The hotel bed was not as comfortable, the shower was the best, the food was fair, and the restaurant service was excellent (Jordan and Amanda). Thank you for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Oceanfront Resort Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
November 23, 2012
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. Nothing finer than a vacation that you can enjoying painting! We enjoy our Workshops very much and we feel it's something everyone should know about. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,079
    612
    258
    146
    154
See reviews for
1,026
539
39
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (755)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Attended the last of three workshops for the fall. The hotel, food, service and workshop was wonderful. Our server/helpers Jordan and Amanda were right on the spot when you needed them and before.
Great experience! Thanks to all and Frank Webb

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Oceanfront Resort Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
November 23, 2012
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. We truly enjoy our Workshops, and were glad that you had a wonderful time. We hope to have you attend another Workshops real soon. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gray Court, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We had a wonderful time! Weather was pleasant, staff was great and views were spectacular! There were beautiful outside areas and can't wait to return during warmer weather to enjoy them. There is a wonderful breakfast bar that we enjoyed each morning. There is a pier in front of the resort that extends out into the beautiful ocean. A short walk down the beach leads you to the State Park. This resort is the last resort before the state park. There is plenty of activities year round for all ages to enjoy. The kids can't wait to come back when it is warm enough to enjoy water parks/pools. They also want to play more mini golf, which is found EVERYWHERE! We will definitely be back in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Oceanfront Resort Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
July 25, 2012
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. Thanks for your comments on our breakfast, we really enjoy it and aim to get every guest in to experience the great food & outstanding variety. We thrive to provide the best family accommodations on the south end of beach. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The rates were very reasonable; the location is great, easy to get in and out; the remodeled rooms are very nice. Convenient to Market Commons. We are planning on returning the summer with all the family, getting three room.

Room Tip: All room have a great ocean view. Great updates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Oceanfront Resort Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
November 23, 2012
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. We're extremely glad to see your comments on our resort and being family and kid-friendly. We thrive to provide the best family accommodations on the south end of beach. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We were to stay @ the Live Oaks building but when we arrived, we were told it wasn't available. We stayed at the Palmetto building & yes, there is remodeling going on. For the cost, you can't go wrong but the hotel boasts of the renovations. Our furniture is chipped, the entrance door can't be new, the carpet isn't clean, the bedding appears that it was balled up in the corner of the room (very wrinkled), the refrigerator is filthy on the outside and the noise is something else! The "turbo heater" when it is on is loud and all airplanes landing at the airport fly directly over this hotel. (and that is very often!) Would I stay again? No.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank OhioSharky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Oceanfront Resort Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
November 23, 2012
Dear Past Guest,

After reading your review, I am very disappointed that our accommodations were not to your satisfaction. We strive to accommodate our guests to the best of our abilities and I am sorry that we fell short in your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and we work to make our resort one everyone will want to stay. I understand that you are leery of returning to our facility based on your most recent experience, however with the improvements we are constantly making to better serve our guest I can assure you that if you decide to return you stay will be one with positive memories.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

No thanks. I will not stay here again. The place is old and musty. The room layout was very strange (sinks by the beds) and the first thing I wanted to do when I got home was take a shower! The breakfast area is huge, packed with people and the food quality reflects the huge numbers of people that file through. Yuck.

The proximity of the fishing pier is the only bonus to this place.

I'm not trying to be snobby. I love a good deal and I am no stranger to discount hotels, but this place is not nice! You can find places that are much nicer for the same or similar price all over MB.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Oceanfront Resort Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
November 23, 2012
Dear Past Guest,

After reading your review, I am very disappointed that our accommodations were not to your satisfaction. We strive to accommodate our guests to the best of our abilities and I am sorry that we fell short in your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and work to make our resort one everyone will want to stay. I understand that you are leery of returning to our facility based on your most recent experience, however with the improvements we are constantly making to better serve our guest I can assure you that if you decide to return you stay will be one with positive memories.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This was me and my boyfriends first vacation together, I decided to take him on a surprise vacation for 4 days. We had a great time and all the staff was very friendly. We both work at a 4star resort and were very pleased with the property. We enjoyed being close to shops and restaurants. The restaurant Damions is a must do.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kids1501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Oceanfront Resort Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
November 23, 2012
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. We thrive to provide the best family accommodations on the south end of beach. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
4.7 mi away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
1.2 mi away
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
1.0 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#20 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,716 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
4.4 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#25 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springmaid Oceanfront Resort Myrtle Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springmaid Oceanfront Resort Myrtle Beach

Property: Springmaid Oceanfront Resort Myrtle Beach
Address: 3200 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Myrtle Beach Oceanfront)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#34 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#38 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Springmaid Oceanfront Resort Myrtle Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently remodeled, the entire 27-acre, oceanfront resort feels fresh and new. Springmaid's location on the quieter southern end of the famous Ocean Boulevard feels more secluded, yet this family-friendly resort is just minutes from all the excitement of Myrtle Beach's most popular attractions, theaters, shopping, dining and golf. Spacious, designer-renovated rooms include all ocean view balconies, beautifully appointed fabric and furnishings, plush 5 Diamond Series mattresses and bedding, granite countertops, full-sized refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, safe and more. The resort features 6 pools, 2 lazy rivers, Marlin's Buffet Restaurant, the beachfront BARnacles Bar & Grill, 1068 ft Fishing Pier, 18-hole miniature golf course, game arcade, fitness room, gift shop, tackle shop, ample complimentary parking, and complimentary wireless internet. The resort offers more than 35,000 square feet of meeting and event spaces and is host to Myrtle Beach's largest oceanfront Conference Center. All guests enjoy complimentary access to Springmaid Pier. Fishing is available at a discounted rate. All rooms are air conditioned and non-smoking. Springmaid offers a limited number of pet-friendly accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Otel, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Springmaid Oceanfront Resort Myrtle Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springmaid Beach Resort And Conference Center
Springmaid Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Springmaid Hotel
Springmaid Resort
Springmaid Beach Myrtle
Beach Springmaid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing