We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Late Fall vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #36 of 208 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bellevue, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Late Fall vacation”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The rates were very reasonable; the location is great, easy to get in and out; the remodeled rooms are very nice. Convenient to Market Commons. We are planning on returning the summer with all the family, getting three room.

Room Tip: All room have a great ocean view. Great updates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
November 23, 2012
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. We're extremely glad to see your comments on our resort and being family and kid-friendly. We thrive to provide the best family accommodations on the south end of beach. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,196
    694
    325
    177
    180
See reviews for
1,147
646
48
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (804)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We were to stay @ the Live Oaks building but when we arrived, we were told it wasn't available. We stayed at the Palmetto building & yes, there is remodeling going on. For the cost, you can't go wrong but the hotel boasts of the renovations. Our furniture is chipped, the entrance door can't be new, the carpet isn't clean, the bedding appears that it was balled up in the corner of the room (very wrinkled), the refrigerator is filthy on the outside and the noise is something else! The "turbo heater" when it is on is loud and all airplanes landing at the airport fly directly over this hotel. (and that is very often!) Would I stay again? No.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank OhioSharky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
November 23, 2012
Dear Past Guest,

After reading your review, I am very disappointed that our accommodations were not to your satisfaction. We strive to accommodate our guests to the best of our abilities and I am sorry that we fell short in your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and we work to make our resort one everyone will want to stay. I understand that you are leery of returning to our facility based on your most recent experience, however with the improvements we are constantly making to better serve our guest I can assure you that if you decide to return you stay will be one with positive memories.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

No thanks. I will not stay here again. The place is old and musty. The room layout was very strange (sinks by the beds) and the first thing I wanted to do when I got home was take a shower! The breakfast area is huge, packed with people and the food quality reflects the huge numbers of people that file through. Yuck.

The proximity of the fishing pier is the only bonus to this place.

I'm not trying to be snobby. I love a good deal and I am no stranger to discount hotels, but this place is not nice! You can find places that are much nicer for the same or similar price all over MB.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
November 23, 2012
Dear Past Guest,

After reading your review, I am very disappointed that our accommodations were not to your satisfaction. We strive to accommodate our guests to the best of our abilities and I am sorry that we fell short in your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and work to make our resort one everyone will want to stay. I understand that you are leery of returning to our facility based on your most recent experience, however with the improvements we are constantly making to better serve our guest I can assure you that if you decide to return you stay will be one with positive memories.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This was me and my boyfriends first vacation together, I decided to take him on a surprise vacation for 4 days. We had a great time and all the staff was very friendly. We both work at a 4star resort and were very pleased with the property. We enjoyed being close to shops and restaurants. The restaurant Damions is a must do.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kids1501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
November 23, 2012
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. We thrive to provide the best family accommodations on the south end of beach. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Springmaid Beach resort is a wonderful place! I've been attending their Watermedia Workshops for years, and I've watched the hotel get better and better. This year the rooms in Live Oak Building have been renovated with beautiful granite countertops and fresh decor. The cafeteria serves good food and Ray's omelets are the best!

Room Tip: All rooms are Oceanview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 921Sandisue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
November 23, 2012
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. We really enjoy having artists and instructors from all over the country here for our Workshops. It's a shining star for us, and were extremely glad that your really enjoyed Springmaid Beach Resort. We hope to see you at another Workshop again real soon.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumter, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We came down to do some fall fishing but enjoyed the faciliries and the resturants so much we didn't even mind that the fish weren't really biting so good.
The views from rooms are great.
We plan to bring our grandchildren on our next visit. With the heated pool and other amenities , this is a perfect place to relax and enjoy the beach with family or friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
November 23, 2012
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. We're extremely glad to see your comments on our resort and being kid-friendly. We thrive to provide the best family accommodations on the south end of beach. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I had to go to Myrtle Beach for Hurricane Sandy and reserved a room online at the Springmaid Beach Resort. It's on the south end of Myrtle Beach, which might make you think it's an older resort. However, the rooms were remodeled so it looks better than many of the resorts further north. My check-in was very fast and the guy who checked me in was friendly and helpful. I appreciated the fact that they were able to check me in at 2 pm, even though their normal check-in time is 4 pm. The front desk rep even upgraded me to the Palmetto Towers building, which had an awesome view of the ocean. I was on the 5th floor, in an over-sized deluxe room. I had a full-sized fridge, microwave, and coffee pot. There was a large round dining table, which was great because I could spread my work out on the table and type away on the laptop, all while glancing out the window at my great ocean view. As for outside of the building, they are still doing some remodeling, as the carpet had been removed in the exterior corridor.

I'm glad I didn't wind up in the building where I made my original reservation. I think it was called the Cypress, and although I'm sure the rooms looked fine, it only had 3 stories. So, unless you were on the 3rd floor, you might not get that great of a view.

The resort amenities/features included multiple indoor/outdoor pools, a fitness room, restaurants, just everything I needed and wanted. But what I really loved was the fact that they had their own pier, complete with gift shop, restaurant, and tackle/bait shop. Since it was rainy and windy weather during Hurricane Sandy, I spent a lot of time in their Barnacles Restaurant on the pier. They had live music, even in the afternoon. My burger and fries were quite tasty, as were my dacquari and bahama mama drinks! :-) And it was fun hanging out on the pier.

They also have an arcade and putt putt golf, but the arcade wasn't open at night, when I wanted to go and play games. I definitely plan to stay at Springmaid again.

Room Tip: I would stay in the Palmetto towers if you can. The deluxe rooms in the middle of the building are h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frequenttravels69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
November 23, 2012
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. . We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
11.3 mi away
Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
9.5 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#5 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Sheraton Myrtle Beach Convention Center Hotel
9.0 mi away
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
4.6 mi away
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront

Property: DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront
Address: 3200 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4860 (Formerly Springmaid Oceanfront Resort Myrtle Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#29 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#34 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#38 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront 4*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently remodeled, the entire 27-acre, oceanfront resort feels fresh and new. Our location on the quieter southern end of the famous Ocean Boulevard feels more secluded, yet this family-friendly resort is just minutes from all the excitement of Myrtle Beach's most popular attractions, theaters, shopping, dining and golf. Spacious, designer-renovated rooms include all ocean view balconies, beautifully appointed fabric and furnishings, plush 5 Diamond Series mattresses and bedding, granite countertops, mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker, safe and more. The resort features indoor/outdoor pools, Ocean Blue restaurant for all day dining, the beachfront Southern Tide Bar & Grill, 1068 ft Fishing Pier, 18-hole miniature golf course, fitness center, gift shop, tackle shop, and wireless internet. The resort offers more than 35,000 square feet of meeting and event spaces and is host to Myrtle Beach's largest oceanfront Conference Center. All guests enjoy complimentary access to Springmaid Pier. Fishing is available at a discounted rate. All rooms are air conditioned and non-smoking. We offer a limited number of pet-friendly accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hilton Hotels Direct, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springmaid Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Springmaid Beach Resort And Conference Center
Springmaid Hotel
Springmaid Resort
Springmaid Beach Myrtle
Beach Springmaid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing