We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beatin' path...Barely!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #36 of 208 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mooresville, Indiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Off the beatin' path...Barely!”
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Springmaid Beach is on the southern dead end of the strip. Very quiet and secluded-yet real close to everything. An older Resort built in the late 60's, but very well maintained. Nice beachfront views from all rooms-very family friendly with kiddie pools and a private miniature. golf course. We used to always stay here when our girls were younger.

Room Tip: Take the off-season specials for xtra value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duke2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsimon, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 20, 2011
Dear Past Guest,

Welcome back! It is always wonderful to hear our guests mention that they used to stay here in their younger years. We are an older property but work very hard on constantly upgrading our rooms inside and out and keeping everything maintained. Thank you for making us apart if your vacation and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,196
    694
    325
    177
    180
See reviews for
1,147
646
48
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (804)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Mill, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2011

My daughter attends Coastal Carolina and she and I needed some Mommy/Daughter time. When I called to make the reservation I told the front desk clerk that and her choice of room for us, 379, was just perfect! She also offered us discounts to lower the price of the room which I appreciated. There were a few minor issues with the room but none that took away from our lovely weekend. Having worked in a hotel in the past, I took into consideration that it is the end of the season (November) when the staff really has an opportunity to play catch-up from the busy season so I overlooked a slow bathtub drain and a stuck hair conditioner dispenser until we checked out. Like I said, minor issues.

The staff was very friendly, even our maid, who we chatted with in the hallway. The only thing I would've changed was the weather...it was chilly and very windy for November in South Carolina...but that just gives us an opportunity to come and stay again....which we will!

Room Tip: We were in the building closest to the pier. Our room was located in the middle of the building whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Great place - all inclusive - we never had to get in our cars and drive anywhere. The view from the fourth floor of the Palms building was fantastic. We enjoyed watching the sunrise. The pier, restaurants (even non-resort restaurants), beach, pool, mini-golf, arcade, were all in walking distance. Very easy to navigate. The room was very roomy with a full fridge and microwave! The buildings are a little old, but we didn't come for the looks of the building. The scenery was enough! The staff at check-in, check-out, and guest services were very accommodating and happy to help. We will return!!

Room Tip: Get above the third floor if you want a good ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleMel104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsimon, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 20, 2011
Dear Past Guest,

What beautiful comments, thank you! Watching the sunrise is one of the many ways guests are able to relax when staying at our property. Walking around our property and visiting the other venues gives all of our guests plenty to do during their vacation. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We traveled across country for 5 and 1/2 weeks and this was one of the worst places to stay. Grounds were beautiful, beach beautiful, but the hotel is old and needs remodeling. The rugs were dirty, the toilet leaked and the pipes made horrible noises, the bottom hinge on our door was broke, the laundry room was filthy. Also the first night was very noisey, management did move us to a new room, but not a place i'd recommend.

Room Tip: Away from elevator and the exercise room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louharts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsimon, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 20, 2011
Dear Past Guest,

After reading your review, I am disappointed that our accommodations were not to your satisfaction. We are an older property and continuously work on upgrading our rooms though out the year and during the slow season. I am not sure of the location of your first room, but I am happy to hear that we were able to accommodate you by moving you to a better location. Thank you for sharing your comments with us and I hope that in the future you will give us another chance to leave a positive lasting impression.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Phenomenal view of the ocean and pier. My wife and I went for our anniversary which was very close proximity to The House of Blues. There we took in a show and the following days spent puttering around the beach. Nice and quiet. We will definitely be returning customers.

Room Tip: Rooms on the end are large with an incredible view of the ocean. I liked it on the upper floor as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greentree23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsimon, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 12, 2011
Dear Past Guest,

We are ecstatic to hear that you had a relaxing anniversary with us! Puttering around on the beach during the day and taking in the occasional show at night is a great way to spend your vacation. Thank you for joining our family and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2011

I prefer to not have any "ocean view" if is a better hotel.
- rooms have a door that connect to the next room (so you can hear everything that's going on in the next room, yes even when people are just speaking at normal levels so beware!)
- elevators are nasty
- housekeepers are extremely rude, and seem that they hate their job
- the ocean view is not really an ocean view (look at the map of the hotel you'll see what I'm saying, most of their buildings are not facing the ocean directly)
- their pools and lazy rivers are tiny! (they might have 6 or wtv but they are all a joke)
- not so clean

Make yourself a favor get a better hotel a few blocks away from the beach or if you really want a ocean view get a different hotel that actually faces the ocean!

Room Tip: don't get a room that shares a door to the next room, or a room that is on one of those building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david2011col
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsimon, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Dear Past Guest,

After reading your review, I am very disappointed that our accommodations were not to your satisfaction. I am sorry that you feel that we don’t have rooms with an ocean view. The designs of our buildings are unique as is the entire property. We don’t sit right against the dunes as most of the hotels do in Myrtle Beach; we have grassy land between the dunes and our buildings providing more of a play area for our guests. Thank you for sharing your comments and I hope that in the future you will give us another chance to leave a positive lasting impression.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2011

away from major traffic, quick access to Murrels Inlet, quiet, clean, reasonable rates, pleasant staff, spaceous grounds

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherrill c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsimon, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Dear Past Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. The location of our resort does provide our guests with a peaceful atmosphere with lots of space to wonder around. We work hard on our customer service and it is always wonderful to hear that our efforts have paid off. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
11.3 mi away
Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
9.5 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#5 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Sheraton Myrtle Beach Convention Center Hotel
9.0 mi away
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
4.6 mi away
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront

Property: DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront
Address: 3200 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4860 (Formerly Springmaid Oceanfront Resort Myrtle Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#29 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#34 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#38 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront 4*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently remodeled, the entire 27-acre, oceanfront resort feels fresh and new. Our location on the quieter southern end of the famous Ocean Boulevard feels more secluded, yet this family-friendly resort is just minutes from all the excitement of Myrtle Beach's most popular attractions, theaters, shopping, dining and golf. Spacious, designer-renovated rooms include all ocean view balconies, beautifully appointed fabric and furnishings, plush 5 Diamond Series mattresses and bedding, granite countertops, mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker, safe and more. The resort features indoor/outdoor pools, Ocean Blue restaurant for all day dining, the beachfront Southern Tide Bar & Grill, 1068 ft Fishing Pier, 18-hole miniature golf course, fitness center, gift shop, tackle shop, and wireless internet. The resort offers more than 35,000 square feet of meeting and event spaces and is host to Myrtle Beach's largest oceanfront Conference Center. All guests enjoy complimentary access to Springmaid Pier. Fishing is available at a discounted rate. All rooms are air conditioned and non-smoking. We offer a limited number of pet-friendly accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springmaid Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Springmaid Beach Resort And Conference Center
Springmaid Hotel
Springmaid Resort
Springmaid Beach Myrtle
Beach Springmaid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing