We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, reasonable rates and quiet-all with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #37 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Clean, reasonable rates and quiet—all with a view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

Phenomenal view of the ocean and pier. My wife and I went for our anniversary which was very close proximity to The House of Blues. There we took in a show and the following days spent puttering around the beach. Nice and quiet. We will definitely be returning customers.

Room Tip: Rooms on the end are large with an incredible view of the ocean. I liked it on the upper floor as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greentree23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsimon, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 12, 2011
Dear Past Guest,

We are ecstatic to hear that you had a relaxing anniversary with us! Puttering around on the beach during the day and taking in the occasional show at night is a great way to spend your vacation. Thank you for joining our family and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,175
    689
    316
    174
    178
See reviews for
1,132
633
48
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (796)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

I prefer to not have any "ocean view" if is a better hotel.
- rooms have a door that connect to the next room (so you can hear everything that's going on in the next room, yes even when people are just speaking at normal levels so beware!)
- elevators are nasty
- housekeepers are extremely rude, and seem that they hate their job
- the ocean view is not really an ocean view (look at the map of the hotel you'll see what I'm saying, most of their buildings are not facing the ocean directly)
- their pools and lazy rivers are tiny! (they might have 6 or wtv but they are all a joke)
- not so clean

Make yourself a favor get a better hotel a few blocks away from the beach or if you really want a ocean view get a different hotel that actually faces the ocean!

Room Tip: don't get a room that shares a door to the next room, or a room that is on one of those building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david2011col
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsimon, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Dear Past Guest,

After reading your review, I am very disappointed that our accommodations were not to your satisfaction. I am sorry that you feel that we don’t have rooms with an ocean view. The designs of our buildings are unique as is the entire property. We don’t sit right against the dunes as most of the hotels do in Myrtle Beach; we have grassy land between the dunes and our buildings providing more of a play area for our guests. Thank you for sharing your comments and I hope that in the future you will give us another chance to leave a positive lasting impression.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

away from major traffic, quick access to Murrels Inlet, quiet, clean, reasonable rates, pleasant staff, spaceous grounds

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherrill c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsimon, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Dear Past Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. The location of our resort does provide our guests with a peaceful atmosphere with lots of space to wonder around. We work hard on our customer service and it is always wonderful to hear that our efforts have paid off. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for a marriage conference and the room prices were part of a package deal. While the buildings are clearly old and worn, the rooms were really large (we stayed in the Palmetto building), the sheets and towels were clean, and we had an ocean view from our balcony. They have some pretty insane deals to stay there and the location is pretty good. A couple of miles away is the Market Commons, that has great shopping and places to eat.
Springmaid is right on the beach, which is awesome! I also found out, that this resort was originally built for the people who worked at the Springs plant in Fort Mill, SC - where we are from. So it was even a little more fun knowing that we were staying at a place where the people, who helped make our little town amazing, stayed.
We only ate our breaksfast there and the food was good. It was buffet style with an omelet station.
Overall, we had a good stay. For the price we paid (around $80 per night), you can't beat it. Location, good breakfast, and clean rooms - on the beach. People who are looking for more up to date amenities, shouldn't stay here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWilliams_426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsimon, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Dear Past Guest,

What wonderful comments, thank you! You are correct in stating that we are an older property, but we continuously work hard on maintaining and upgrading it. Our location is not in the middle of all the activities, but we are short drive to almost any venue and we are right on the beach. Thank you for joining our family and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudson, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed there 10/22. It is a large resort, but i picked a room in the smaller 3 story building. Granted it had no elevator and outside hallways, but the pool was very close and closest building to the ocean. From the bed on the 2nd floor, I could see and hear the ocean. The 2 larger buildings are newer but farther back. The room was showing some age, but for the price, well worth it. I would pick a room in that building again. Also chose resort for the pier. Love taking a walk on them and watching all the people fishing and their catch. The beach is very nice. This resort looked to be the last of the hotels - fartest south.
We ate at their cafeteria buffet for breakfast. For the price, not a bad deal. They did make custom omelets, which was good. But at times, the chef did seem overwhelmed.
Overall, I would come back here again.

Room Tip: 3 story building has rooms closer to the pool and ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hardworkingwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsimon, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Dear Past Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments. Our Cypress building that you stayed in is our oldest building and one of the first to be more than two stories. I am happy to hear that you chose to stay at our resort because of our pier. This time of the year our pier is extremely busy with all the fishermen catching spot, whitings and summer trout making for a good show. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

The elevator was filthy, the room was a 1960s motel room. We didn't even stay the night, we checked out immediately!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
Helpful?
3 Thank rebecca k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsimon, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Dear Past Guest,

After reading your review, I am very disappointed that our accommodations were not to your satisfaction. If there was something wrong with the room, the structure or the décor, we would have gladly given you another room to look at to see if you would like that one better. We are an older property, but we are constantly upgrading our rooms in all three of our buildings by painting them to changing out the bedding and furniture. There is not much we can do with the structure of the buildings, but we try to work with what we can. Thank you for sharing your comments and I hope that in the future you will give us another chance to leave a lasting impression.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

We stayed in the Palmetto Dunes building at Springmaid the weekend of Oct. 15th, 2011. Because this is an older resort property, there were some dated features, but overall everything was very clean and freshly painted. The room was very spacious and it was easy to access all areas of the resort. While this is certainly not a 5 star property, it was pleasant and comfortable. The pools were nice and I imagine they would be great in warmer weather. The pier was excellent and my husband enjoyed fishing there very much. It was nice to be able to walk out and join him now and then without having to fish. I wasn't a big fan of the main restaurant, Marlin's. It felt much more like something at a school or retirement home, than a resort restaurant. Barnacle's, the bar & grill at the pier was much better.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan3571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsimon, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Dear Past Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments. You were correct in stating that we are an older property, but we continually work on upgrading our property through out the year. I am sorry that you were not a fan of Marlin’s. The size of our property dictates us to have a restaurant that can handle large crowds of people at one time; however, having BARnacles at the pier gives our guests another option. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
11.3 mi away
Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
9.5 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#4 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Sheraton Myrtle Beach Convention Center Hotel
9.0 mi away
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
4.6 mi away
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront

Property: DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront
Address: 3200 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4860 (Formerly Springmaid Oceanfront Resort Myrtle Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#29 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#34 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#38 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront 4*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently remodeled, the entire 27-acre, oceanfront resort feels fresh and new. Our location on the quieter southern end of the famous Ocean Boulevard feels more secluded, yet this family-friendly resort is just minutes from all the excitement of Myrtle Beach's most popular attractions, theaters, shopping, dining and golf. Spacious, designer-renovated rooms include all ocean view balconies, beautifully appointed fabric and furnishings, plush 5 Diamond Series mattresses and bedding, granite countertops, mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker, safe and more. The resort features indoor/outdoor pools, Ocean Blue restaurant for all day dining, the beachfront Southern Tide Bar & Grill, 1068 ft Fishing Pier, 18-hole miniature golf course, fitness center, gift shop, tackle shop, and wireless internet. The resort offers more than 35,000 square feet of meeting and event spaces and is host to Myrtle Beach's largest oceanfront Conference Center. All guests enjoy complimentary access to Springmaid Pier. Fishing is available at a discounted rate. All rooms are air conditioned and non-smoking. We offer a limited number of pet-friendly accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springmaid Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Springmaid Beach Resort And Conference Center
Springmaid Hotel
Springmaid Resort
Springmaid Beach Myrtle
Beach Springmaid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing