We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty rooms, lots of noise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #37 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
NC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Dirty rooms, lots of noise”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2011

I really don't know why this hotel gets all the great reviews. The only good thing was the beach view-which honestly you can get anywhere in Myrtle beach.
I can look past the dilapidated state of the rooms and the disappointing pools (the lazuy river barely moved at all). But I can't look past two things.
First, the rooms are extremely dirty. Dust has accumulated under the beds in such large amounts, the color of the carpet was not visible anymore. I also found gum stuck in my fridge. Since I have dust allergies I didn't sleep at all, fighting asthma attacks and a sinus headache all night. Horrible!
Second, the airplanes come over so close that my children ducked with fear every single time. Don't believe other reviewers who say it is not loud. It is VERY loud. The first I ducked for cover as well thinking it came down on us.
I will gladly pay more money next time than stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Allergictraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsimon, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, May 29, 2011
Dear Past guest,

After reading your review, I am very disappointed that our accommodations were not to your satisfaction. We strive to accommodate our guests to the best of our abilities and I am sorry that we fell short in your expectations. There is not much we can do to control the noise from the airplanes. Being located in front of the airport does have it’s disadvantages. As for the condition of your room, I do apologize. We can’t control what goes on in the air above us, but we can control the cleanliness of our rooms. We want to thank you for staying with us and hope that in the future you will give us another chance to leave a lasing impression.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,175
    689
    316
    174
    178
See reviews for
1,132
633
48
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (796)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monticello, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2011

We stayed at this resort from May 11th to May 15th, this was our first time to Myrtle Beach and I have to say it was great, we drove about 9hrs to get there and let me tell you it was a good feeling when we pulled in to the resort and it was way more than we had expected for the price, this beautiful resort for such low cost... wow.... is all we could say, when we checked in everyone was very friendly and very helpful,we stayed in the Cypress building, our room was nice and clean and we had a great view of the ocean, the beds were very comfortable, the pools were great, the beach was very clean and well taken care of. I would love to stay with Springmaid Beach Resort again.

Room Tip: Our room was perfect the way it was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebeccacrabtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsimon, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, May 29, 2011
Dear Past Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments. I am happy to hear that on your first stay in Myrtle Beach we fulfilled your expectations. Thank you for making us a part of your vacation and joining our family. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orangeville
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a much deserved get away to Springmaid for 3 WONDERFUL nights. Believe me, I am a review addict before I book anything. I read the reviews before I booked Springmaid and found them to be mostly positive. The ones that are negative (each to their own) seem to be about pretty minor issues. The room was very large and comfortable........certainly not fancy, but tasteful and clean. Very quiet as well. Never in 3 days did we hear one sound out of any other room. We were surprised to see a full size fridge (with ice maker) in the room. Came in handy, though we didn't realize there was the ice machine until the day before we left. We ate the buffet breakfest one day which was $9.00 each. Typical buffet breakfast, but we enjoyed it. The omlette station was fantastic. The pier and the beach were incredible. I also liked the open feeling of the property compared to the cramped feeling of all the hotels that were jammed up close together on the main part of the strip. Close and handy to everything, yet more peaceful than the main area. Only one negative - no hot tub on the property which was disappointing as we enjoy a hot tub when we're relaxing. Please Springmaid, put in a hot tub!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luvhockeyOrangeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsimon, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, May 29, 2011
Dear Past Guest,

We are absolutely thrilled to hear your much deserved get away was wonderful! You are correct in saying how we have an ‘open feeling’ atmosphere here at the resort. We are close and handy to everything but away from all that is busy. Thank you for making us a part of your vacation and joining our family. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlewood, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

We've been coming down to Myrtle Beach for years and have stayed at several hotels. Springmaid is always the one we come back to again and again. The location is great, the pier is fantastic,(where you'll find the serious fisher-folks) and the beach is not crowded, even in July, since it's a private beach south of the pier all the way down to the state park. Our most recent visit was our first spring visit to fish. In the past we've been down for the fall fishing and in mid summer for family vacation.
At one visit or another we've enjoyed the dining, the arcade building, the putt putt course the beach and pools. We always stay in the Live Oaks building because of the close proximity to the pier-fishing. Check-in is always easy and the ability to actually park at the building instead of across a busy street or even a block away is a big plus to me. The rooms are typical hotel rooms but they are large, well furnished and they are CLEAN, always clean, year after year- that is my number one criteria in a place to stay. The staff is courteous and helpful anytime we have needed anything. The overall feel of Springmaid is a quiet, relaxed, safe, fun place for a family vacation or a fishing trip.

Whatever our reason for visiting the Grand Strand, Springmaid is always our first choice because they are predictable- reasonably priced, well furnished rooms, very clean, and good customer service.

Room Tip: Book direct through the front office
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cowtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsimon, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 3, 2011
Dear Past Guest,

What fantastic comments, thank you! It is always refreshing to hear that our return guests are always happy with our resort from the pier/beach to the cleanliness of the rooms. Thank you for continuing to be part of our family and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

First let me start off with the positive:
My room was clean. Loved the full size fridge. The view from the balcony was decent. Had a great view of the pier and some of the ocean, but to be honest I didn't stay in the room much so it wasn't a deal breaker for me. The beach access was perfect. Just steps away from the beach and after taking walks up the beach it was clear that Springmaid's beach was better than the others down the strip. The pier was pretty neat too. A fisherman caught a shark when I was up on the pier which was interesting to watch.

Now for the negative:
Although free internet is advertised, it wasn't working part of our trip. Parking was horrendous. There was a craft show going on when I was staying so that took all the parking that was close to my room. I had to cart my luggage and coolers across the courtyard (which isn't small and is pretty much just sand) to my room. It would have been nice to know that there was going to be a craft show that would be taking up the parking during my stay. I doubt I would have chosen the hotel if I had known ahead of time. My building was less than to be desired. The hallway had an unpleasant odor and the carpets were stained and well past needing to be replaced. As for the customer service, I haven't ever experienced anything so awful. When making the reservation, I called to enquirer about how signing up for the breakfast worked. I was told by someone in the reservation department that if there were two of us we would have to just put "2" down to cover us for breakfast for our stay. I did this which added an additional fee to my reservation and continued on to payment. When I arrived, we were not given any breakfast tickets even though I was charged for at least one days worth for two people. When I came to the front desk the next morning I was told by a rather rude woman that I had never been charged for breakfast, I had never even signed up for it. I was also told that I would not be able to have a receipt with my charges listed. I was also told that management would be calling me regarding this and to no surprise I never was called. When I followed up the next day, Anthony at the front desk was able to fix the problem by supplying us with the appropriate tickets. Other than Anthony at the front desk I have never experienced such terrible customer service with a hotel. I will most certainly never be returning or recommending this place to anybody I care about. I'm sure people try to take advantage of the breakfast special, but it's incredibly frustrating when someone is being honest and was given incorrect information from the hotel itself.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AudreyRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsimon, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 3, 2011
Dear Past Guest,

Thank you so much for listing your positives and negatives on your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you were not informed on the craft show that was going on during your trip. I’m not sure what building you were in, but we would have gladly moved you to a different building so you would not have been inconvenienced carting your luggage and coolers across the courtyard. I am truly sorry for the way you were treated about inquiring about the breakfast tickets you purchased and the incorrect information you were given. Had all this been brought to me attention, I would have addressed it immediately while you were still on the property. Again, we do apologize and hope that this incident doesn’t dissuade you from visiting us in the future.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2011

Springmaid Beach Resort was GREAT! I loved everything about it! It was on the edge of town, had great amenities such as mini golf, arcade, exercise room, private beach, private pier, 2 restaurants, plenty of pools/lazy river to cool off in! The Staff was very helpful with Directions and recommendations for the best dining. Rooms were nicely updated and had a full size fridge and microwave in each room. Every room has an ocean view and balcony with table and chairs which was wonderful! In general Myrtle Beach is a great area, easy to get around, lots of great shopping and dining and things to do. If I am ever in the area again, which I hope to be, i would definitely stay at Springmaid Beach resort again and I am going to tell all my friends about it!

Room Tip: Every room has an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camirella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsimon, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 3, 2011
Dear Past Guest,

Thank you so much for your GREAT comments! We take pride in what we have to offer each and every guest that stays with us from the multiple pools, restaurants, golf and arcade, private pier, but most of all, the ocean view! We thank you for staying with us and look forward to seeing you in the future.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone Mountain, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2011

This is a great resort. The staff really appreciates the guests and do everything they can to make your stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for East facing room so you can watch the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojogometz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsimon, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, May 13, 2011
Dear Past Guest,

Thank you so much for the terrific comment! We are constantly working on improving our property through room improvements to customer service, so it’s always wonderful to hear that our efforts have paid off. Looking forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
11.3 mi away
Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
9.5 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#4 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Sheraton Myrtle Beach Convention Center Hotel
9.0 mi away
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
4.6 mi away
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront

Property: DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront
Address: 3200 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4860 (Formerly Springmaid Oceanfront Resort Myrtle Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#29 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#34 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#38 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront 4*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently remodeled, the entire 27-acre, oceanfront resort feels fresh and new. Our location on the quieter southern end of the famous Ocean Boulevard feels more secluded, yet this family-friendly resort is just minutes from all the excitement of Myrtle Beach's most popular attractions, theaters, shopping, dining and golf. Spacious, designer-renovated rooms include all ocean view balconies, beautifully appointed fabric and furnishings, plush 5 Diamond Series mattresses and bedding, granite countertops, mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker, safe and more. The resort features indoor/outdoor pools, Ocean Blue restaurant for all day dining, the beachfront Southern Tide Bar & Grill, 1068 ft Fishing Pier, 18-hole miniature golf course, fitness center, gift shop, tackle shop, and wireless internet. The resort offers more than 35,000 square feet of meeting and event spaces and is host to Myrtle Beach's largest oceanfront Conference Center. All guests enjoy complimentary access to Springmaid Pier. Fishing is available at a discounted rate. All rooms are air conditioned and non-smoking. We offer a limited number of pet-friendly accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springmaid Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Springmaid Beach Resort And Conference Center
Springmaid Hotel
Springmaid Resort
Springmaid Beach Myrtle
Beach Springmaid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing